We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful eating in Prosperous Seafood Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be careful eating in Prosperous Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for > 4 trips, past 2 years.
Prosperous Seafood Restaurant located on the same floor as the hotel reception.
Be careful in dining there!!!
I ordered simple Bihun fish soup for 2 persons on 24 Feb 2014 (the Bill # CS0000018906 @ 20:55:14 Table #53). The bill cost RM115.55 with tea.

This is really a cheating. I had reported to hotel reception Duty Manager on with copy receipt on 26 Feb 2014 @ 10:46 am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewLee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    90
    43
    22
See reviews for
69
52
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I chose this hotel after reading a Tripadvisor review that the rooms had been renovated. Well they have, but there is still more to do. The room was clean and well furnished, except for an upright desk chair that looked as though it should have been thrown away years ago (see my photo), and the refrigerator was dirty and mouldy - i later showed both of these items to the duty manager and he agreed with my complaint. I was on a working holiday and i needed to be able to access my e-mail, but the wifi was so weak and intermittent that i never managed to make a useful connection. Same for the tv - there was an Astro Catalogue in the room, but that only served to tempt us as we could only find about eleven channels and all but a few were unwatchable. The bathroom with its modern walk-in shower was lovely, but my wife and i would have liked to have been given a hand towel each. That was it for the room, because there was no written material to explain the hotel services and facilities, so we did not know if we were missing anything (i certainly did not find the underground car parking until we left!).
On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly and there was a welcome drink of chilled fruit juice when we arrived,
The big disappointment was breakfast. The juice we were offered was an orange squash - not the fruit juice we had been given on arrival - come on Heritage, this is Malaysia and fruit juice is cheap and plentiful. Worse to come. There was a station with two staff cooking eggs and omelettes, except that they were not! I asked for an omelette and was given one already cooked. I asked for a hot one and the woman said she would reheat it. I said i wanted a new one and she said 'No'. So i took my cold omelette, but i did not eat it. My wife also went for fried eggs but found that they were undercooked. She asked for eggs which were fully cooked and the woman again tried to reheat them. My wife asked her to cook new eggs for her and was told 'Eggs are expensive'. My wife did not dare to tell me this until later because she would know that I would be furious. in fact i would have given the woman the price of a new egg just to embarrass her. Heritage, this is no way for your staff to treat your residents and you have to sort this out.
So would i recommend this hotel, well yes if you just want a clean room and a modern bathroom at a reasonable price, but a hotel is so much more than that. The Heritage does not have an ideal location being a taxi ride from the centre of town and its building is not as modern as those of some of its competitors - so it needs to try harder. I have given a score of 2/5 but some simple improvements could get this to a 4/5 for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a no smoking room on the no smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boss1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

went on business trip on Jan 2014, i took deluxe room which is spacious. overall is very good. Aircon is cool enough. would recommend to book this hotel. Just need to touch up bit of thing:
1)TV resolution is below par,
2) There's an empty plate outside the hallway since the night i check in and was not clear even when i check out.
3) Lastly they gave me chinese newspaper (I'm a eng-edu chinese hence i do not know) it's best to ask guest which paper they prefer (Like other hotel) than assume.

Other than that, all great.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is luxury. good for family or couple to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I have always been staying in Heritage whenever I'm in Ipoh. Well, most of the time. The reason was this is the only hotel available under the vacation club I signed up.
This hotel used to be fine. Well, just fine. The room used to be old and worn out.
When I arrived at this hotel today, I saw a banner stating that all rooms were renovated. And when I entered my room, it was indeed looks different. The old CRT TV has been replaced with a LCD TV. Walls had new paint job. Toilet had new tiles on the floor. The old bath tub had been replaced with new shower. Water pressure was very good. They had even installed WiFi routers on every floor.
Check in was fast. I just need to sign a form. No deposit was required.
Overall I could see many improvement and I'm glad that the management had decided to make such investment. Well done.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We check-in after a long day at Lost World of Tambun which is located not far from the hotel. Check-in was okay, no deposit needed. Staff a little bit slow but friendly.

Our room is in 6th floor, very nice view of town. The room is spacious and was okay.

The breakfast was good.Variety of choice provided and the restaurant is huge so it doesn't get very crowded.

However, there was no swimming pool so nothing much to do in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleWaldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Check-in speed acceptable. Lobby overall amenities acceptable. Room corridor quite dark. Should apply some white color lights instead of all yellow in floor corridor. Room spacious, mattress and comfortable exactly single. Will be more comfortable if super single bed size. Bathroom really needs maintenance. WiFi slow and cannot connect more than one device based on access assigned. Air-cond, very good cold enough.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl-TMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding. Check in was very very slow and the staff could not even speak Malay let alone English. Made you wonder which country you were in!

The room is what you would expect, nothing to shout about. Complete toiletries were provided.

We would stay again in this hotel if we are in the area. But not to spend time in the room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank xixili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
#54 of 63 in Ipoh
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#29 of 63 in Ipoh
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#13 of 63 in Ipoh
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cititel Express Ipoh
Cititel Express Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Ipoh

Property: Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Address: Heritage Hotel Jalan Raja Dihilir, Ipoh 30350, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel Ipoh is a premier business class hotel ideally located in the heart of Ipoh City, all of our 265 well-accommodated rooms range from superior rooms, deluxe rooms, executive rooms, junior suites, executive suites and Heritage suite with full length glass windows for a panoramic view of the adjacent Ipoh Turf Club. Your choice hold for business, leisure, training & seminar in Ipoh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipoh Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing