We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family run Vietnamese restaurant”
Review of Vnam

Vnam
Ranked #23 of 479 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous family run Vietnamese restaurant”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Never visit Ipoh without a meal here. Always get a very special welcome when we arrive. Happy and friendly staff who have worked there since I started going 5 years ago. Find the meals are healthier as there are a lot move salad type dishes. My favorite is the Chicken Chop Mong. Prices reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above Average Prices, Excellent Service, Average Food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was in search for some good Pho in Ipoh which brought me to this restaurant.

The service was excellent, everybody was smiling, very happy to help, and very knowledgeable about the menu.

I ordered their signature pho bowl but I could not finish the whole thing because it was quite large. I wish they had the option of a large and small portion so that people with small appetites would not waste anything.

My family of 3 adults with 1 salad appetizer, 4 drinks and 3 entrees came up to RM$90 which I though was rather costly for the whole dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced & low quality”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We had two soups and a spring roll for 30 ringgits, which was too much for soup that was similar to what can be found in the noodles area of a grocery store. There are too many more better and cheaper places on the same road.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I recently went to Vnam restaurant with my husband. We shared the rice paper spring rolls, beef noodles (house specialty) and apple juice with sour plum (absolutely refreshing). The food was pretty good, and the service was outstanding. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They would regularly drop by to check if food was okay. The staff are quite well versed with the menu and are able to recommend and give good suggestions on what to order. They food may not taste as authentic as one what would get in Vietnam, but this is a pleasant change from the usual food in Ipoh.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sangeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not bad for Vietnamese Food in Ipoh”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

3.5 stars - above average. I'm happy that we have Vnam here in Ipoh to give us a taste of Vietnamese food. The food here is decent, although of course not as good as what I've had in Vietnam or the good Vietnamese restaurants in Australia.

Still when we have a craving for Vietnamese fare in Ipoh, this is the place to go to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vnam also viewed

Ipoh, Kinta District
 
Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Vnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing