We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An "out of the box" concept hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“An "out of the box" concept hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

positive :unique decos, friendly & helpful staffs, awesome breakfast @ old town, comfy bed, clean & new rooms, overall, enjoyed our stay in this hotel. would recommend to others.
not so good: rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear YS C,

The M Boutique Family is lonely, hollering for attention, "Hi! Thanks so much for choosing your humble Ipoh home and for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor!". We are just glad that you had enjoyed your petite experience in our home. At M Boutique, we are a celebration of diverse personalities and youth, and we do swim against the norms of the Hotel Industry in our country, but are consistently looking at ways to improve, no matter how small, based on all your invaluable feedback.

Once again, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    667
    173
    25
    12
See reviews for
339
539
78
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful, with great service by the staff and good options for breakfast. The rooms were clean and neat (albeit a little small) and the decor was amazing. I enjoyed lounging in the seated reading area and the gym had brand new equipment that was a breeze to use. Only wish the staff informed us that everything in the little fridge was drinkable at no charge. Sigh. Otherwise, enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sasha33kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear sasha33kl,

The M Boutique Family is lounging in our reception, sighing, "Hello! Thanks for choosing our humble Ipoh home and for leaving us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor!". We are glad that you had enjoyed your petite experience in our home and have noted your comments on the mini bar. Rest assured, we will continually strive for improvement, no matter how small, based on all your feedback here.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have always been a fan of boutique hotel.

Decided to give ourselves a treat with staying in Ipoh for a night, after spending 2 nights in Georgetown. While looking for another home stay in Ipoh, which I could not find anything as great as Spices Residence in Georgetown, kind of sad, we settled for M Boutique.

Read reviews from friends on FB that it has great decor and ID, with great services, so we decided to give it a shot.

Talking about the location.

It is not located right in the heart of Ipoh, it is along Jalan Leong Boon Swee. If you are relying on the Google Maps, it is taking you to Hala Datoh 2, which is a car workshop. You find no hotel there :)

Upon arrival, this boutique hotel has no bell person to carry your luggage, so be prepared to carry them yourself.

The parking in front of the hotel is chargeable by the local council. Except Sunday, which is free. So you can park behind the hotel, which is a private parking for M Boutique. At night it is very dark.

Check in is kind of confusing. The hotel is trying to be hype at the same time looking rather confusing. There is no indication of where you should check in, like at the counter or have a seat and we check you in.

The service personnel looks really interested to serve you until they have checked you in, then you do not feel that hospitality anymore.

The place has the Chicago neon lights everywhere with petrol tanks as the decor. Some parts are with luggages, and there are 2 restaurants in there - Union and Old Town. There is also a shop selling M Boutique items, which are generally on the really over priced side.

The room is nice decorated with lots of ID ideas put into it.

While the ID has done a great job but the housekeeping does not. The bathroom windows are dirty and dusty. There are many baskets everywhere which if you examined them, they are filled with garbages left by previous guests.

About the hotel breakfast which it serves its guests, they are lacking in terms of creativity and nutrients. Almost everything fried.

The tables we were given was dirty. So I did the service staff a favour by cleaning it myself.

Food came in really short time, and the food seems to be cool, which tells us they were pre-cooked some time ago.

There is a laundry and lounge like place for guests to hang out while waiting for the laundry to be done, which we did.

2 iMacs are there, with 1 bluetooth keyboard which I believe the guest may have brought home.

The iMacs are badly maintained, with kids or adults abused them badly. The Magic Mouse seems to be gone too, replaced by the alcheapo mouse.

There is no air-conditioner in this area unless you asked for the assistance. Even though I asked, I was told to look for some other housekeeping personnel. Well, I got the hint that the housekeeping personnel does not want to be bother.

With all these flaws in services, I may not return to M Boutique any time. Unless I am in Ipoh for work and client has booked us here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear SamuelTan,

The M Boutique Family is looking for answers, scratching our heads, yelping, "Hello! Thank you for choosing our humble Ipoh home and for leaving us a candid review on Tripadvisor!". We are contented to know that you had liked our product and noted your comments on the areas to improve upon our services. We make no excuses and have noted that during the recent peak season during the mid term school holidays, many areas of improvement for us, and are in the process of analyzing, restructuring and implementing new systems to help us cope with the high occupancy.

With regards to Google Maps, yes, we have written many times to Google, and historically, they moved our marker to Jalan Datoh (which is far away from the real location). As Google Maps does not allow community mapping, we had given them the GPS coordinates and after a flurry of emails, they put us back to where we physically where, albeit the wrong address. Surprisingly WAZE picks us up very well, as they allow community mapping.

We are also looking into our services from our Guest Services to Housekeeping services which you had pointed out. We do not have any Bellman in our home, but we do offer assistance to our guests to carry their luggage, where possible as we are only a small family. With regards to the iMacs, we had intentionally removed the Magic Mouse and historically, these iMacs were put in the lobby, but the abuse was much worse, as it was open to all. We had recently adjusted the login of the iMacs to Guest Login, as the internet station facility is a self service center for the benefit of our in house guests.

Whilst the family at M Boutique has always striven to be has honest and candid as possible, we also are reflecting on the past peak season passed, as we too need to improve, based on all your comments here on Tripadvisor, be it negative or positive.

Once again, we thank you for your indepth review, and we will look to improving our services for the benefit of all. We do hope too be able to welcome you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Checking in is a breeze. Friendly people at the check-in counter. Booked a room with no window in advance. Its advised to booked in advance as walk-ins were told there was no more available rooms.

The standard windowless room was quite small but practical. However, when we got in to the room. The room wasn't made at all. Used coffee cups were in the toilet's basin. The bed looks like its been made but we didn't took the chance, We called the front desk and told them to get the room done up! We were showed to the activity room while waiting for the room to be cleaned. When we got back to the room I double checked that everything seems to be fine except one of the pillow were stained with curry! Maybe the workers were having their lunch earlier and didn't have the chance to wash their hands before cleaning up the room.

We experienced power trips not too long after we checked in that day. NO power in the room & lift. There was power in the corridor and staircase luckily.

Besides the little set back, the hotel have a cafe at the ground floor. Next door is the Old Town White Coffee restaurant. Its not walking distance to the town center. All the famous eateries in Ipoh are reachable within 10 mins of driving time ( not including traffic congestion during weekends/public holidays/school break)...

The A/C in the room are quite noisy. If you are sensitive to A/C noise, do take note.

Room Tip: Heard that the A/C in Superior Room are no much quieter also ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear maxpang,

The M Boutique Family is sweating in the heat, shouting, "Hello! Thanks for choosing our humble Ipoh home, and for leaving us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor!". We are contented to know that you had found our product up to your expectations. During the recent peak season of the mid term school holidays, we had noted many areas of improvement and are busy at analyzing, restructuring and implementing our systems, to better serve our guests. This includes, but not limited to, the way we clean and release our rooms.

On the power outage, please accept our apologies, as the TNB Substation fused twice, however only affecting one phase (as we are using 3 phase electrical cables) that had affected the overall hotel. We have spoken to the TNB Engineer and have changed capacitors in the hotel and the TNB Substation to avoid a future issue.

Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Thank you very much to Myth in assisting us in our father's birthday party celebration, it was a huge success. We have received nothing but compliment about your food and outstanding service. It was an honor to work with such a great group of dedicated and hardworking individuals. Thanks again for everything.

Dr Alex & Dr Lee

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexlee_801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear alexlee_801,

The M Boutique Family is swimming, splashing, "Hello! Thanks so much for leaving the Extended Family a review on Tripadvisor!". We are glad to note that you had found the services of our restaurant partner to be up to your expectations, and will pass on your compliments to them.

Once again, we thank you for leaving our extended family a review and hope to welcome you to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We actually stayed for few night in a suit during Chinese New Year. The plus side is the locality , free wifi , gymn n ample parkilng spaces . The down side is that the different level of services the staff provide ; for eg when asked for second key card , one said she cannot give out anymore as there is limited card, whereas the other colleagues 10 min later happily open the drawer ( full of cards ) n issued extra one for us .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ChristopherTraveller,

The M Boutique Family is learning acrobatics, falling and yelping, "Hello! Thanks for leaving us a candid review on Tripadvisor and for choosing our humble Ipoh home!". We are glad that you were contented with your petite experience in our home. We have noted of your comments on inconsistent service response during your stay on February 2014, please accept our sincere apologies, as we were still finding our confidence and footing with our service culture, being a 3 month plus old family at that time. That being said, we make no excuses for the rendered inconsistencies, but we try to improve and recently, we have also noted more improvements that needs to be made, during the mid term school holidays. We do take all your comments seriously and will continue to learn and change, no matter how small, as we grow up.

Once again, we thank you for your honest review and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

enjoyable and relax stayed - eye opening deco: especially at the lobby and guestroom/lift entrance of every floor - beautiful and spacious bathroom - friendly and helpful hotel employee - will return again next visit to ipoh city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Patrick L,

The M Boutique Family is sunbathing on the roof top, whispering, "Hi! Thanks for choosing our humble home and for leaving us a comment on Tripadvisor!". We are glad that you had enjoyed your petite experience in our home and also noted that you had stayed during the mid term school holidays. The Family has pin pointed areas of improvements and are working on it, as we consistently look to improve, no matter how small, as we venture down our path of growing up.

Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again, to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
2.9 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
0.8 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 60 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 60 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Ipoh
ibis Styles Ipoh
#7 of 60 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh

Property: M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Address: 2 Hala Datuk 5, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be pleasantly surprised by the smallest things. At M Boutique, stylized compact is the new signature in Ipoh! Through an inspiring fusion of Malaysia's Colonial past and modern contemporary decor, come partake in our 93 urban chic rooms, where every detail has been meticulously hand crafted; from plush down pillows, waffle weave slippers to our blissful beds. Home has never been this comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing