We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Penang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is my third visit to Impiana! As i can see changes has been done during the passed 1 year from my last visit. The room that i stayed is clean, well maintained and with the upgraded toilet and i not manage to try the breakfast, especially where there are so many excellent and cheap food options so close to the town!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xuxa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Xuxa20,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

It appears we ticked all of the boxes for you, and we couldn't be happier with your appraisal and acknowledgment of the changes that our hotel has made and still on-going!

Thank you for the generous feedback, it makes a delightful read. We hope it will not be too long before you can write about your dining experience at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Kind regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    91
    114
    62
    62
See reviews for
118
73
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Checked in during the weekend, the hotel was not busy so it has been a good and relaxing weekend for me and my kids.

Noticed that the hotel has done some work at the pool, much cleaner compared to my last visit. Children enjoyed it very much.

Room was clean. Nothing much to comment on that.

We had our meals at the coffee house. Suggest to have more variety of food and more attentive staff. Should improve on service speed, as we waited for quite some time for our food to arrive even though the restaurant is not full.

Overall, the stay was alright. Has always been the preferred choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Ashley L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is particularly pleasing to read such remarkable comments from a returning guest.

Your remark on the efficiency and promptness of our service staff is duly noted the matter has been immediately brought to the attention of our F & B Manager to ensure we improve our service.

We hope we can welcome you at the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked 3 rooms and stayed for 2 nights recently while attending a relative's wedding in Ipoh.

The standard of the rooms was puzzlingly inconsistent; the top floor was ok but the one on the 5th floor was left to be desired. The other room was fitted with 2 rolled beds instead of 2 twin proper beds. There was no fridge in one room, the furniture looked dated and the water wasn't hot enough in another room. The lights in the rooms were not bright enough.

Service was ok but again, the standard varied. I got morning call that I did not place, and the technician took forever to come to my room to check on the TV. Nevertheless my OKU on-wheel-chair brother was treated very well by the concierge fellas. The front desk fellas were supportive and attentive.

Food was very average. The breakfast buffet were the same during our stay, same boring menu with tasteless nasi lemak and bubur. Egg station wasnt well attended, the chef decided to cook telur dadar many at one go that went cold quickly. He wasn't at the station when we wanted to have scrambled eggs for our breakfast. All in all, the food and beverage part were disappointment.

Car parking was the worst part of staying in the hotel. The open car park outside the hotel was quite dark and not properly lighted. Even the guard discouraged us to park our cars at the place for fear of being broken into. The car parks in front of the hotel were very limited. The hotel management must seriously look at providing car parks that are safe to the hotel guests.

What used to be a top hotel in Ipoh, 3 decades ago, had degenerated to a 3-star star with 4-star wannabe attitude. Will I stay here again? No..until they improve the car park, the food and the rooms conditions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norsam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Norsam1966,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Guest feedback is always important to us. Being well receive, and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we believe that we are heading in the right direction and will continue to improve upon the products and services that are provided.

We regret that your encounter with our breakfast reception was disappointing. That is not the kind of service that we strive to provide and we can assure you that is not what we are recognized for. Rest assure, we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up with our staff to ensure that issues such as the ones you have mentioned do not happen in the future.

Refurbishment project is in plan progressively in improving our hotel rooms and facilities for the comfort of our guests. Addressing the parking issues that you have raised, our hotel offers complimentary valet parking services for our guest’s convenience and we have security officers on duty round the clock to ensure the safety of the hotel premises as well as guest’s properties.

We hope that you will consider staying at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh again, so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the experience that you deserve. For future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly by emailing e.fay@impiana.com.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is not too much attractive as I assume but food was nice different cousins they served was Great. We went there for attention meeting form our University. Meeting room was just clean not too much. The atmosphere was quite and peaceful so did not face any problem during session staff was co-operative and supportive. Great security in every room makes us relax and we were able to leave our laptops on the room during lunch and tea breaks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimran65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear mimran65,

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh. We greatly value each guest’s impression of our property.

Our goal is to provide our guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment, not only guest rooms as well as business associates that uses our meeting facilities, and it is great to see that we were able to fulfill that goal.

We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit to Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This was the 3rd time this year i had stayed at the Impiana in Ipoh. I had filled in a questionnaire before i left in April and was keen to see if there had been any changes. I'm pleased to say there were big changes to the breakfast provided but sadly the standard of the rooms and general cleanliness/décor etc upstairs still needs a fair bit of work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phaserblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Phaserblazer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We are delighted to know that you have noticed vast improvements to our Food & Beverage offerings. We are committed to delivering exceptional service and with your review we have an opportunity to show you we care and we want to make it right.

As for the condition of your room, it would help us tremendously to know the room number you stayed in so we can address any specific problems. We are continuously making improvements at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and since your stay, we have already started on a number of upgrades which will continue over the next few months.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
585 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Impiana while attending a friends' wedding.

Location: 10 minutes drive from the airport and the centre of Ipoh

Ambiance: Modern/western decoration, big seating area close to front desk. Small gym, large pool (including a kids pool and jaccuzzi). The hotel is popular with families. It has a bar with a wide selection of cocktails, a small cake shop and a restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served daily.

Customer Service: mostly indifferent, at best smiley but slow due to poor training. This was problematic because the hotel was completely full during most of our stay.

Rooms: We stayed in the Standard room, which is of a good size, which views to the pool area. The bathroom had a bath with over head shower. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were provided but toothbrush and shaver kit could be arranged on request free of charge. There was a iron and board in room, kettle (but no tea bags!) and flat screen TV (limited choice of channels). Some power sockets were missing or became detached which certainly is a health & safety issue, particularly for young children. Comfortable bed and pillows but sound proofing is poor so we were always awoken by screaming children/guests in the corridor....

Breakfast: a large selection of Asian cooked meals, 3 types of fruit, canned juices, stewed tea & coffee but freshly cooked eggs!

Overall: I would probably try a smaller hotel if I ever go back to Ipoh....

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the lifts and facing the pool area so that you are not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your balanced review, LucyCarvalho.

We appreciate your time in providing feedback to the TA community and most of all thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ipoh. We are delighted to know that the hotel’s ambiance and food and beverage offerings were a nice treat for you.

We understand that you had some challenges during your stay particularly with the maintenance and housekeeping of the room. We can assure that we are reviewing your experience with the team to avoid future issues.

Should you decide to return, we would love to welcome you back. If I can be of any assistance now or on the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth ,
Level Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First impressions of this hotel is that it very tired and needs refurbishing .The carpets were grubby ,the bathrooms had mildew around the sinks .The towels were stained .Musty smell.
Breakfast was not great but the evening meal in the Bistro was very tasty .Service was slow .
The staff were very friendly and the girl in the business centre charming and very helpful ,finding out the address from her mother of somewhere we wanted to go to .
We used this hotel as a base as we were visiting Batu Gajah and Teluk Intan .Not usual places on the tourist track but we were revisiting places from my childhood .

Room Tip: Worth upgrading ,but even then the room was not great but better than our friends room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzyfizzy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear dizzyfizzy45

We are pleased to inform that the refurbishment project is in plan progressively in improving our room product for the comfort of our guests.

Your comments on housekeeping services have been noted and retraining will be conducted to ensure Room Attendants are more attentive.

Thank you also for your kind comments about the staff being friendly and very helpful, these are most appreciated and we will ensure that your kind praise and thanks is passed on to the team and that their service is duly recognized. We strive to always deliver the highest level of services.

Once again, thank you for the review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you are back in town.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#43 of 63 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#49 of 63 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
MH Hotels Ipoh
MH Hotels Ipoh
#19 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing