We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed 2 March 2014

In Malaysia first impressions of a hotel aren't always a good indication of what the rooms will be like. Regalodge, however, backs up the initial excellent impression with quality rooms and top class service.

Everything about this hotel is an indication of the care an attention to detail that you would hope to find everywhere but usually don't.

While we were lucky enough to be upgraded to an executive room, we did see other lower priced rooms, that would have been just as comfortable;e to stay in and just as enjoyable.

As it was, the executive room was very spacious, attractive and had good facilities that included a fridge, large flat screen TV with some English language channels, excellent air-conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities with good quality tea and coffee and two bottles of water, bath and shower with good hot water and the inclusion of some daily freebies including 2 cans of soft drink, crisps (potato chips), noodles in a cup and a newspaper.

There was plenty of cupboard space for our clothes and a nice big cabinet to put any food items we purchased in Ipoh.

The room was very quiet both day and night but like other hotels we have stayed at in Asia I did find the bed was a bit too hard for my liking. There was a selection of pillows to choose from and even white robes for our use.

The room itself was spotless and was re-supplied and made up every day. We really could not fault either the service or the facilities in this hotel.

Outside there was ample parking space and the hotel is within walking distance of many good restaurants. There are two large shopping centres close by and on the south side of Ipoh a selection of interesting temples located very close to each other. There is plenty to see and do in this area. We would suggest you buy a good map of Ipoh if you are doing a self-drive tour.

We were fortunate enough to get the executive room for a reduced rate but even the normal cost of around $76 AUD a day is terrific value. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Malaysia but the Regalodge stands head and shoulders above all others we have tried.

Room Tip: Upper floors will give you a better view but we really can't say much more than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanowandthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear wanowandthen,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh!

I am overwhelmed and grateful for receiving such great and superb review. Delighted we managed to met and exceeded your expectation during your stay with us. We are always committed with warm and friendly hospitality services from our heart to ensure our guests have a wonderful and fulfilling stay with us.

It is most rewarding to learned that we have hit the right notes. Your superb review gave me a great pleasure to shared with my teams who play pivotal role making our 3 star property with 5 star services.

Just to inform you, we are in progress of launching our own information counters that provide our guests with information of all the places of interesting, eateries around Ipoh, which also includes images and maps. I'm sure you will definitely like it and hopefully the next time you come here they are ready, so you and your partner can further explore this beautiful place.

Lastly, a BIG THANK YOU for your precious time to reviewed us! Me and my Team certainly look forward to your next visit in Ipoh in the near future and wishing you and your family all the best and a wonderful year ahead.

Best regards,
Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

was little worried abt the place Ipoh as i started my train journey from KL, the KL hotel was disaster so i was counting a lot on this place to finally get some rest and it did its job perfectly to meet my expectations !

rightly priced centrally located in the Ipoh town this place the correct features to offer to make you comfortable,
a fridge
hard and soft pillow selections
compact but well lit clean bathroom
TV channels with English language.
silent effective AC with proper temperature control.
away from main street to completely noise free .

my package was excluding the breakfast and so the 5 starts, because when i approached the front desk to inquire about the std breakfast which i can buy , they had nothing available to serve ready at 9 am in the morning.. ! probably this is not the place for eating n dining... but there are many comfortable joints on a walking distance, so its a perfect place to solo and families when it comes to comfort and sleep quality.

Room Tip: preferably book the hotel excluding breakfast as then the deal works out to be more optimized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihirihim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear mihirihim,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh.

We are most appreciative that you selecting us after your much travel and time from other parts of Malaysia and Ipoh. Elated to received such a wonderful review from you.

We are pleased to learned that we made a positive impression during your stay with us. Being a business and leisure oriented hotel, our ultimate goal to ensure our guests are provided with excellent services, and strategic located.

With regards of the breakfast, I sincerely like to apologize our front office assistant didn't informed you that our breakfast are serve upon order and not in buffet style, as to maintain the quality and freshness of foods to serve to our guests in our restaurant. Our breakfast start from 7am – 10:30am, I am embarrassed too that our front office assistant gave you the wrong information.

I have duly advice the respective department head concern to seriously look into it and take necessary action to avoid the same incident occur again.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope Regalodge Hotel Ipoh will be your choice whenever you are in Ipoh and we certainly look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Attractive hotel foyer. Spacious rooms, gloomy corridors, in need of TLC. We arrived on St Valentine's Day, and after a tiring drive from Penang, we thought we would eat in the hotel. They had a special Valentine's dinner, priced at £50 a head without wine, a price we would balk at in the UK, so we declined. Breakfast was not very exciting, juice or coffee, the latter being very weak. In our deal of £40 a night, we were only entitled to the set breakfast, so we really can't complain. Hotel was very quiet and staff friendly and pleasant,

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor was very quiet. We faced the Car Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReadingLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear ReadingLiz,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you very much for staying with us. Your review is very much appreciated, we are glad that overall you're enjoyed your stay, especially with our comfortable clean rooms and friendly services.

Appreciate your feedback with regards of the gloomy corridors and we have taken note of it and kindly rest assured it will be on our plans to brighten up the corridors on our process renovation.

It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. Me and my team are looking forward the opportunity to have you and your companion for another stay again with us.

Best Regards,

Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

booked Superior room at about S$70.
Room- clean, spacious but out dated.
service- all staff are friendly and can speak basic English.
WIFI- poor, But 2 computers available in the lobby for use free.
Location- though not centrally located, it is 10 mins walk to town of various dim sum rstn, 3 famous 芽菜鸡, massage, etc.
If budget is your concern, can consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrNanyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear mrNanyang,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh.

Thank you very much for staying with us. Your review is very much appreciated, we are glad that you're enjoyed your stay with comfortable clean rooms and friendly services.

Appreciate your constructive feedback with regards of the wifi connection you have experienced.
Please accept my apologies, kindly rest assured appropriate will be taken to address the mentioned area.

It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. Please inform that, we are in process to fully renovate the remaining floors. We looking forward the opportunity to welcoming you and your companions again, thereby at that time we could deliver a renewing room that you expecting. Wishing you and your family a Happy Chinese New Year!

Best Regards,

Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Staff is very friendly .The room is fine. We enjoyed the Spa: sauna, steambath,whirlpool and massage. Also a very friendly manager overthere.
Unfortunately the reflexology area was under maintenance.Excellent breakfast included, see picture with very good coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmbeekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear bmbeekes,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for staying with us and we are indeed grateful for your wonderful review for our hotel and its services. It is a hospitality culture that we have instilled upon our Team to go the extra height for our guests if we have to, and A BIG THANK YOU for your compliments on me as a friendly manager.

Delighted to learn that you have a great experience in our restaurant and you enjoyed our delicious selection of breakfast and freshly brew coffee.

Me and my team looking forward that you will stay again with us and wishing you and your family a Prosperous Chinese New Year.

Best wishes,
Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Every year I come to Ipoh to run with the hash and I stay in this centrally located and good value hotel. This year the rooms have been renovated and are now much better, especially the shower. Breakfast is vastly improved in quality and choice although service can be a little slow. Staff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Bomoh,

Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh!

We are indeed grateful that you returned to stay with us and we had met up to your expectation once again. We do really appreciate your precious time to reviewed us again on TripAdvisor, kindly rest assured we will always do our very best to consistently justified that.

We are delighted to hear that our service standard was even better than your previous visit. Kindly inform that, we are in the progress renovating other floors as well.

I would like to apologize for the service at the restaurant and had advice the department head concern to seriously look into it and take necessary training to improve it to avoid future disappointment.

Lastly, A BIG THANK YOU and we look forward to your next visit which I hope will be in the near future and wishing you all the best and a prosperous Chinese New Year!

Best regards,
Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Regalodge is located right in Ipoh town centre. For food, the hotel is walking distance to the famous Foh San Dim Sum Restaurant (about 10-15 mins walk). But within 5 mins walking radius, there is loads of other local kopitiams that are pretty packed. Looking for local food there is a breeze.

The staff however were excellent! The check in was painless & was informed that the canned drinks (there were 2) & bag of chips in the mini bar & the cup noddle are complementary. Housekeeping was excellent, I asked for a HDMI cable (which they don't have) but the housekeeper came to the room towing a maintenance guy to help check if they have such a cable!

The exception of service was for the room service. We were really tired and hungry after travelling all the way from Johor. Called at about 5.30pm (non-peak) & was informed that the food will be delivered in 30 mins. After an hour, I called, another guy answered and said that there was no order! Put in another order & we eventually had our food at 7pm. Had pasta dishes. Both were pretty good but portioning is not very large.

Parking - they have some parking within the compound but not quite enough so you may have to park on the road side. You will need to put parking coupons if you are parked outside (I think Mon-Sat).

Room & bathroom - medium size. Towels and some toiletry provided (shampoo, soap, toothbrush & towels). Size of bed is single (not super single) and queen. The mattresses & pillows are not too soft, not too hard. The casement windows (about 3 feet from the floor) are openable so if you have kids, do keep them away from the windows. It's a relatively old hotel but not too badly maintained although the carpet feels a little sticky and damp.

There is a lift in the hotel even though it is only 4 storeys, which is great for people who has movement difficulties.

Overall, the hotel is value for money & I will come back here again when I come back to Ipoh.

Room Tip: I think 4th floor is a smoking floor. But the rooms do not smell of smoke though. They also have fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyadvisor, Manager at Regalodge Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear liann16,
Warmest greeting from Regalodge Hotel Ipoh!

We are indeed grateful for your time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to learn that we made a positive impression during your stay with us.

Being a business and leisure oriented hotel, our ultimate policy is to ensure our guests are extended excellent services and comfortable with us. It is important to be strategic located where there is a balance between business and leisure.

Understand that our parking are limited, however beside our on site parking, on street parking is also covered by us. Please inform that, our guests are no need to purchase parking coupon for their vehicle parking on street within the hotel area, we will look after them.

As a reputable hospitality establishment, we always try our very best to provide excellent services to our guests, unfortunately in your case we seemed to fell short. Please accept my humble apologies on the room service issue. Kindly rest assured, the matter has bought up to the respective department head, he do felt regret on it and will seriously look into this matter.

I'm really appreciate on your valuable feedback, and fortunately the above off experience did not deter you to stay with us again. We certainly look forward to welcoming you whenever leisure or business bring you back to Ipoh again.

Lastly we wish you and your family a HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR.

Best regards,
Stanley Yap
General Manager
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.3 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#36 of 63 in Ipoh
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seemsoon Hotel
Seemsoon Hotel
#25 of 63 in Ipoh
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Ipoh
Cititel Express Ipoh
#15 of 63 in Ipoh
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regalodge Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regalodge Hotel Ipoh

Address: Regalodge 131 Jalan Raja Ekram, Ipoh 30450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: £22 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regalodge Hotel Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regalodge, Ipoh conveniently situated in the heart of Ipoh City, popularly known as Ipoh finest dining paradise, major business and financial centre are within walking distance with easy accessibility to all public transport. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, we are just minutes away from the famed shopping centres of the city, for being even closer to fun and entertainment with transport services readily available from the hotel. The hotel features: a fitness center, free high speed internet, free parking, a restaurant, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regalodge Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipoh Regalodge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing