We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first and last time to stay at Marina Cove”
Review of Marina Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Cove Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The first and last time to stay at Marina Cove”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I've booked for two 3 bedrooms apartment in Marina Cove in Jul'13 - wanted side by side apt, but when I check-in on 14-Dec at 2.45pm, was told only one apt is ready and was put on the 5th Floor. Reception told me to wait and they will call me once the 2nd apt is ready. At 4.30pm, went to reception and was told as resort was fully booked with no apology, they were not able to provide me apt on the same floor. I waited until 4.45pm and was told I am lucky to get an apt on the 1st Flr ??? Rooms are not clean properly, no air-con in living and dining room, ceiling is leaking in toilets, air-con leaking, shabby curtains and smelly towels. Buffet breakfast is tasteless and swimming pool is dirty. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    9
    17
    16
See reviews for
22
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Location - almost right next to Outward Bound School so great for an overnight to drop off and/or pick up kids at Outward Bound.

Front office staff is not exactly friendly (1 of them is almost rude) but the check in and check out is quite painless (about 5 mins).

Breakfast is horrendous and insufficient seating especially during school holidays.

The apartments are spacious and has a complimentary coffee and tea making facilities. There is a kitchenette (without any equipment save for a kettle) but they don't allow cooking.

The swimming pool is small but there is a small waterpark next to the hotel for a small fee of I think RM8. For the adults, they said the park was not well kept and certain pools has quite a bit of sand in it. BUT for the children (age 4, 5, 6 & 9), they thoroughly enjoyed it! lol

TIP - there is some new shops (mamak & 7-11) and some food stalls about 5 mins drive by the main road that serves decent food.

For room - if you take the 3 bedroom apartment, you get a much better view BUT no internet. For the 2 bedroom apartment, you get relatively decent internet. If you are in the public area, the internet it decent too.

Conclusion - for the price you pay, it is value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Booked this resort on a last minute decision & it costs me RM 1200.00 for 2 nights. Doorknob on the unit's door was spoilt. Floor was very dirty, coated by a layer of dust. Bed sheets and pillow cases has got lizards droppings. Rubbish and dirts under the beds. Coffee & tea provided tastes bland. Called up housekeeping for more cups (2 cups provided for a 6 pax unit) & was asked to try front office. Asked for extra sugar & was informed that each packet requested will be charged RM 0.50 for each. The WORST part was there are cockroaches. Have caught one each night and noticed their hideout behind the TV cabinet. Will never ever come back, in fact my rating should be nightmare compare to terrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ykkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumut hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked this resort knowing full well that it was a 1* at best. We thought we could handle a 15 hour stopover as the next morning we were taking the early boat to Pangkor Island Resort having spent the 3 days prior in Taman Negara and the 3 days prior to that at Mandarin Oriental KL. Long story short, we went from city luxury to a jungle tent, expecting the stay at Marina cove to be at least better then a tent - we were wrong. The room 533 was large, but smelled suspiciously of bodily fluid mixed with chlorine. The fact that a shower head was connected to a bathroom butt-washer next to the toilet led us to the realisation that the jungle was in fact cleaner than this place. Bird crap was splattered all over the windows. The lobby was completely soaked with water and LOUD given the pool is just there, which is normally fine except for the crowds of people a d wet children running everywhere. The Hosts are very pleasant, even after we politely informed them that we simply could not stay.

We checked out of the hotel only 15 minutes after checking in and promptly fled to the Best Western Marina Island - the BW is the best choice for a stopover and shower on your way to Pangkor Laut after camping in the jungle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzzmatazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The room is bad maintenance. ..old furniture. ..the toilet is not really clean.
..we booked a apartment with 2 rooms..and it was not as we expected for the price we paid. I wish the management will take all the comments seriously.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed there for 1 night . This property is badly maintained. Broken Shower head, uncontrollable air con unit, the electrical outlet need to be check as my daughter got an electric shock while trying to charge her phone. No anti slip mattress or towel outside the toilet...very slippery and dangerous.We didn't not have B'fast there since we like to try the local food outside.
My last stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoolSaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

It has quite great location, very near to telok batik, easy access to town and near to really nice ikan bakar restaurant. However, the accommodation is over price since we pay like 4 star rate, but what we get is some what budget hotel. Very old furniture, we bought family room but we get 1 queen size bed n 1 super slimmy single bed..the room itself is not clean at all, under the bed we can find chezel, under bed sheet is more horrible with hair, smudge and stain every where. We get really mad as we wanted to pull the blanket at 1 am and we find those dirt and luckily the housekeeping is still available and very keen to help us. Breakfast is provided but the choice is very limited and tasteless.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank purplecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
0.8 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sfera Hotel
Sfera Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lumut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
3.7 mi away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#4 of 19 in Lumut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#4 of 50 in Manjung District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Cove Resort

Property: Marina Cove Resort
Address: Sherwood Marina Cove Resort 2083 Jalan Teluk Batik, Lumut 32200, Malaysia (Formerly Marina Cove Sherwood Resort Lumut)
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marina Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Cove Sherwood Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing