We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pangkor Laut Resort
Nearby Hotels
Galaxy Inn(Lumut)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$90
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lumut Villa Inn(Lumut)(Great Value!)
US$12
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,568)
Filter reviews
2,568 results
Traveller rating
1,804
497
163
61
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,804
497
163
61
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemerald bayhill villaspa villagesea villaour honeymoonuncle limschapman's barprivate islandsunset cruisespa treatmentsmonitor lizardsjungle walkon stiltsfruit batsresident packagejamu barmeal plan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,339 - 1,344 of 2,568 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

About 3.5 hours driving from KL to Pangkor, its a perfect short getaway for family/couple to relax.

We took the 3d2n Resident's Package which include transfer to the island, 2 breakfast, 2 lunches and 2 dinner, 2 nights stay at garden villa.

We were warmly welcome by the staff at the Marina Island Jetty. Freezing cold towels and cold juices was served to us just upon our arrival. The check-in was done very fast at the jetty and there are wide area lounge to rest while waiting for the boat transfer.

Upon arriving at the jetty of the resort, there are another group of staff welcoming us, and 2nd round of cold towels and cold welcome drinks was served while walking to the resort lobby. Dashini was very friendly and briefing us about our package details, the resort's map and the restaurant details. Then we were guided to the restaurant for lunch while waiting for our room to be ready.

Lunch at Royal Bay Beach club. It has nice view and food is very tasty. Our package allow us to have 2 courses. A main course and either a appetizer or desserts. The portions are big, very good for big eater. The place is rather hot, it would be great to have the cool mist around the restaurant.

Our room key was send to us once we finished our lunch. Again Dashini leaded us to our room. We had the garden villa, and surprisingly our room have perfect seaview too. The room is spacious, and the bed is nicely decorated with rose petals. (*Because my husband leave a message during booking, that this trip was to celebrate my birthday!) Overall the room is immaculate. But the baby cot is rather disappointing. It was without a proper mattress, only layer up by the blankets which is totally not comfortable at all.

Water temperature of the pool are always maintained at 24'c to 27'c. It is comfortable to swim at all time. Children pool are rather small.

Emerald Bay are very quiet and clean with white sandy beach. Sun loungers are readily made up with towels. And as soon as our arriving, cool iced water bottles are sent to us.

Dinners at Uncle's Lim kitchen is great. We get to choose 3 main course and 2 desserts from our package. The food is decent, taste is great. Good options for foreigners to try chinese food especially the fish dishes are served without bones. But be reminded to make reservation earlier as the restaurant are very popular and remember to put on some repellent before heading to the restaurant, there's a lot of mosquitoes.

Breakfast at Feast Village is just so-so. Variety is not many as expected from a 5-star resorts. Pastries has a wide spread, but there is no cold cut with condiments to serve with it. Salad options are rather little too. There is no bound salad excepts vegetables leaves only. Chef Ken from the chinese food stall cooks curry mee perfectly, its a must try!

Housekeeping service is rather slow, the room was not made up even at about 1pm. I have to call for the room service twice and then only someone was sent to clean up our room. Toiletries are kinda exotic, which is not so lovely. Cucumber scent of hair shampoo, Watermelon scent of hair conditioner, pomelo scent of body shower gel.

Suggestions to the resorts:
- improve the kid's play room facilities
- have ice-cream kiosk around the pools/ emerald bay
- improve housekeeping service
- improve toiletries quality
- advise to the guest of wary monkeys
- kid's cutlery to be provided
- improve buffet spread variety
- provide options of the pillow and fragrances
- provide baby cot with proper mattress

Great services of the resort:
- friendly staff and hospitality
- free flow of specialty coffee during meals
- decent portion of food
- easily accessible to other places by free shuttle service
- close to nature with century old jungle, there are fruit bats, horn bill, monkeys, monitor lizard are all around the resorts.
- special decorations of the bed and a complimentary birthday cake for the special occasions

Overall it's a great experience, if the price can go down a little bit more, i would highly recommend it and definitely return again!

Room Tip: Garden villa 301-304 are very peaceful with perfect seaview. Although its quite a distance from the restaurant and reception, however Its near to the shuttle services, which can easily bring you to the places. Garden villa will have 'visitor' from the jungle, we have monkey and horn bill at our sundeck! Hill villa need to walk a little up slope, might not suitable for elderly or children.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SweetMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A perfect place to runway for relax and spa. Services and customer services unbelievable. For family or couples work. Enjoyed staying except the jungle with insects which we are not used to. Food is amazing room is great with great view. I head to the right destination

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Enas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pangkor Laut was an ideal island getaway for our group of eight to get away from the hustle and bustle city and to just chill and relax and unwind. We stayed at the sea villas and hearing the sound of the waves and enjoying the view at our balcony was just tranquil surreal and perfect for us.

The staff at Pangkor Laut impressed us with their impeccable service. They were very polite, attentive to our needs and very friendly. The staff were responsive and quick to assist us on the bookings that we wanted to make at the restaurants and spa. The restaurant staff took the time to converse with us and gave us their recommendations of signature dishes when we asked them. We felt their warm hospitality and cheerful friendliness as they made an effort to know their guests and to make their guests feel very welcomed. The staff also readily gave us bottles of cold water when we asked for it to cool off from the hot sunny weather. Not forgetting that umbrellas were available in our rooms and all around the resort for guests to have some respite from the sun while walking along the resort.

Every morning when we strolled from our villa to the Feast Village, we noticed that the flowers in the big flower pots along the path were changed everyday with different bright colorful flowers and with a different pattern display. Even the towels at the pool area had flower petals forming a pattern. It is a little touch like this that impresses us even more and brings bright smiles to all.

The spa massage at Spa Village was an enjoyable relief as we sunk into deep relaxation and rejuvenation. We enjoyed the food especially at Uncle Lim's Kitchen and we had a very good spread of delicious Chinese and Peranakan food there. For our breakfast at Feast Village, we were delighted to see that we could choose the fruits and vegetables and a staff would immediately juice it to healthy fresh fruit juice. What we very much would have liked to have more of was to have coconuts on the menu at all places, as we asked around the restaurants including Royal Bay Beach Club at the pool area, but were only able to order coconuts at Chapman's Bar at Emerald Bay. The availability of coconuts on this island resort would have been a bonus to enjoy the experience even more.

All in all, thumbs up for Pangkor Laut and we highly recommend this place as in ideal island getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeraldineGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukasz P, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort!
Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful and indeed very detailed review!
We are happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to Pangkor Laut Resort.

Best Regards,
Lukasz Prendke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed in many beach resorts in Asia (Thailand (Pattaya, Bali, and other parts of Indonesia and Malaysia). This is one of the best ever!
2 things stand out for this resort; privacy and service quality.
This is a privately own island. Therefore the resort has an exclusive and yet you feel completely at home with other guest that are on the island.
The staff and their service is outstanding. As with all holidays, we want to get away and have a good time. The staff are attentive to guest's needs. Very obliging and they take a lot of effort to suggest various schedules to fit our needs and the timing of activities. One aspect I really enjoyed is their attitude. They are chill and relax and it comes across in their conversations with you and yet their service is not comprised. Theirs is a par excellence service. (Thumbs up to their management).

Room Tip: Pick the Forest Villas when staying in the June-Aug summer months. The Sea villas are hot despite standing in the ocean and there is a long walk (unsheltered) along the broad walk to get to the Sea villas.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loyloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort,
First of all; we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at one of our hill Villas and your valued time spent writing this prompt review. My self and the team are very delighted and inspired by your warm and encouraging words and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards,
Mohamed Elsayeh.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The resort is very well laid out with Sea villas, garden Villas and spa villas. Room are very nice and clean. Spa facilities is a must try when you visit the resort. Resort more suitable for couples than for families with children. Stay at least 3-4 night to fully enjoy the island and activities.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would like to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Hill villas needs some climbing to get to but have more privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort,
First of all; we would like to thank you for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing this prompt review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Pangkor Laut Resort,
Regards,
Mohamed Elsayeh,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews