We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a "Good" choice. !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stay at the hotel & was given a room on 2nd floor (1 floor down from lobby level) sea facing room.
The room seem far away if to go thru the hotel corridor, the way going thru "Damai Club Lounge" is better but its dark at night, all depend on the moon & light reflection from hotel rooms.

The 1st noticed after entered the room is, not so big, just ok for 2 adults..
checking the washroom, the lock is unlockable.. there are black stains in the bath tub which is not removable..
the bathroom door is worn out at the bottom..
The bathtub is not easy accessable as it is too high to enter the bathtub for a shower, especially not for children.

Monkey do sit in front of the room balcony during evening & try to enter the room, every single movement near the glass door will catch their attention.

swimming pool.
Children pool is too small & packed as many parents accompany their children in the children pool..
as for the adult pool, the water at the stairs near to the Terrace Restaurant is dirty & almost at stand still with leaves & oily look there.

the parking lots provided at the drive way is very bad idea, as there are tree roots which is so high that will scratch the car front bumper, mine was broken.
as there is drawing lines ob the floor but not adequate lights / warning to look out of the hugh & high roots..

Owh, the housekeeping didnt make up room while we weren't in room but knock on my door @ 5pm after i came back.

Next visit.? Might try to get a room on higher level.
Or else this doesnt worth a stay here...

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a nicer hotel, that looks like it has seen a lot of use in it's history. They have a typical tropical check in, with a cafe style counter in one corner and the check in desk on the other side. Get the ocean view room, you will have the best view, and it seems like the best rooms. The staff is very attentive, and the Thai Restaurant, and the Lounge are both good places to unwind. I didn't go to the bar, but my colleague did and raved about what a good time he had. They had a good time and Mr Lee who manages the golf course visits and is a great host. The golf course is challenging, but the caddies are very knowledgeable and it is a good time, just remember to wear a collared shirt when you go.

The only drawbacks were that the hot water was not very hot in my room, and the walls were a bit thin, so that I could clearly hear my neighbors, and there wasn't a lock on the adjoining room door which could have led to some embarrassing situations.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank baker4569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Reply from the General Manager

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. We do appreciate hearing from you, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My 1st visit to this resort were tiring as we need to go through bumpy and winding road. After a long drive from KL, I had bump into a receptionist which welcome me with a sour face (which not welcoming at all).

Getting the room, which was at the other block. Small lift and poor maintained.

Restaurant - full of flies. (I had been told that it's a season). However, there are flies outdoor and indoor which irritated the diners.

Beach is a distance from the rooms. Not much beach activities available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K3iGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Reply from the General Manager

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination and your comments. Our resort is located amidst tropical forest and comprise of jungle residents who may wonder our premises. Despite conscientious measures to filter their presence, various environment conditions have impeded our efforts to eliminate them completely. However, measures are still being taken to reduce their presence. Thank you again for your commets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you drive to the hotel, it takes you about 15-20min drive from the mainroad to reach the hotel. We checked in for 2d1n. Room was not too bad, comfy and clean but poorly maintained.It has abit of a run down feel (would be good if they renovate soon) After you check-in, it is quite a distance from the lobby to the room so if you have elderly folks travelling with you, it would be best if you can ask the hotel if you they have a wheelchair (not sure if they have those). Bfast was a decent spread of food. Nothing great but has all the basics you need. i think there was a companies family day so there was alot of ppl at the resort. Beach also had alot of ppl. Didnt really want to swim though. All in all, alot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

From the General Manager

Thank you for chooosing us as your preferred holiday destination. We do appreciate hearing from you, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stay at this hotel for 2 nights from 20-22 Dec. Located in front of a beach that facing Pangkor Island. Good location for a vacation a bit far from the main road. our breakfast and lunch were at the Garden Terrace restaurant. Morning breakfast at around 7:45am to 8:15am will be very full (may be during that time is the holiday season). No seat available you got to wait. Nothing special on the breakfast I will rate the food 3 out of 10. Tried the Gayam Seafood Barbeque and Bar restaurant at the seaside for BBQ dinner. BBQ sea food choice not much. But it is very fresh.. must be from near by town of Pantai Remis. Lots of mosquito!!! Choose the seat that near the entrance to avoid it..Waiters mostly not from Malaysia. We also have our dinner at the Blossom & Thai Taste Restaurant. Ordered vegetarian fried rice & it arrive after 30mins. Service and food were not up to expectation. Went to Pangkor Island which organised by the hotel. Depart at 2:30pm at the resort jetty which is about 5-10min away. The journey to Pangkor Island is about 10-15min using double motor speed boat. Landed at one of the dry seafood production factory. Can buy lots of dried sea food snack. Things is more expensive compare to mainland. Should buy at Lumut or Manjung town. Taxi took us to of the Chinese Temple for a visit. Then pass thru Pangkor town to visit the old dutch fort. Last stop at Telok Nipah beach where there are a lot of shops and food stores. We tried the Malay assam laksa. It is very delicious RM3.50. - Worth to try. There are a few beaches after the telok nipah beach. Which is consider as a nice beach to go for. Then we round the island and pass by the air field and back to the jetty where we started. The road from the air field to the jetty is windy-not recommended to try by yourself. Any major injury will need to send to Manjung town hospital for treatment. Ended the trip at around 6:30pm. There is also lots of activities at the resort like beach volleyball, beach soccer, cycling etc...but with a cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EndrickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

From the General Manager.

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. Really appreciate hearing from you, as your comments, may it be negative or positive, is vital for us to continue improving our sevices and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location is just fine with the hotel sprawling over a huge area. Pity about everything else. The flies are a real nuisance, apparently from a chicken farm some ways away, but the hotel does next to nothing to keep them away. They are especially irritating (not to mention hazardous) during meal times as they are literally in the restaurant and hovering over your food. Rooms are outdated and poorly maintained. It's a 4 star hotel in name, but effectively, think of it like a 3 star property and pay accordingly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

From the General Manager,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you also for your comments. Our resort is located amidst tropical forest and comprise of jungle residents who may wander to our premises. Despite conscientious measures to filter their presence, various environmental conditions have impeded our efforts to eliminate them completely. However, measures are still being taken to reduce their presence. We do appreciate hearing from you as your comments are vitals for us to continue improving our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I knew this hotel is far from anywhere before I made my reservation, well, if the I can enjoy the hotel, who cares. We checked in few days before Christmas into a deluxe room for the rate of MYR 322 per night. I thought that was a reasonable price for a 5-star hotel.

Soon I realized I was wrong, it wasn't value for money at all. The whole place may be superb 10 or 15 years ago but it now appeared to be very run down, problem like bathtub with stubborn stains, rusted towel rods, cracked wooden door, leaking stain plaster ceiling and many more.

When we checked in, we found out the safe wasn't working and we called for maintenance. We waited 1 1/2 hour with couple of follow up and impatient calls before the maintenance guy came and tried to fix it. We were then told there is only one (1) maintenance person working on that day, poor guy, I am sure the condition of that hotel will keep him busy all day long.

Small issue such as no hand towel in the room, no tooth brush, tooth paste & comb and etc.

This is also the first hotel I ever encountered that the housekeeping staff forgot to replace us towels after they did the house keeping.

The pool water is a bit milky, the lights in pool weren't turned on at night, I suppose they were broken. Swimming pool is closed at 7pm sharp, even pool towel counter closed at the same time.

Breakfast hasn't got much variety and food is also bad. Making it worse, the restaurant was clearly under staff. I heard some guest even threw bread to the waiter because they waited too long to get the table clear.

Anyway, this is just another bad review of this hotel. I will never return, unless they closed down for a total make over and perhaps some management change too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tengyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

From the General Manager

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination.

On behalf of the management, i would like to express my regrets on the experience you have had with us. We wish to allay your concern by assuring you that our service standards remains an utmost priority to our group of hotels in all area which includes cleanliness, maintenance, hospitality and quality of physical facilities as well as delivery of services.

Thank you for your comments and we do appreciate hearing from our customers, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.5 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
6.3 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
48 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
4.8 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
5.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut

Address: Off Jalan Teluk Senangin Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: £35 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort And Spa Damai Laut
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort & Spa Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Resort Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing