We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite friendly manager but a terrible ghostly resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“quite friendly manager but a terrible ghostly resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We had booked this place via an online booking agency for a one night stay before going over to Pangkor Island, and knew that we weren't in for luxury, but it seemed fine in the website pictures. We walked along the waterfront and arrived to the back side of the hotel, and we honestly thought that there had been some mistake... from the run down dried-out fountains to the deserted garden and the bleak facade of the hotel... it seemed as if this hotel was no longer in business. Entering the lobby we discovered a receptionist and thought that we'd still give it a go. So we ignored the fishy smell, the ghostly vibe, the comically malfunctioning elevators. Unfortunately we weren't pleasantly surprised by the room... after a long walk down a long, run down hall way (with views of the not so inviting pool...) we found our room extremely stuffy and smelly, with ants all over the floor, which was by the way also covered by hairs. The vibe was so gloomy that we decided to go down to the ferry jetty and see if we could find somewhere else to stay the night. So after finding an available room at the Puteri Bayu (which happened to be almost just as dirty and unpleasant) we went back to the hotel to tell them we couldn't stay there. As we had booked and pre-payed via an agency the manager insisted that we couldn't get our money back (they get the money from the agent so i actually don't really see why not...) - but our minds were made up. At least the manager was friendly enough to give us a ride down to the jetty with all our luggage.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank janglybracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Thankfully my partner and I only endured one night here as we were on our way somewhere else and just needed a bed for the night. We booked this hotel online based on fellow tripadvisor reviewers' comments and judging by the picture on a well-known hotel booking website we thought it seemed fine.
On drawing up to the place in a taxi, albeit in the dark, it could clearly be seen how shabby this place was, and if it ever had a best, it was well past it. On entering reception we were met by a smell of stale dampness. I notice that another reviewer says the receptionist has an attitude problem and I would agree. We mistakenly forgot to bring a print-out of our booking confirmation and that seemed to be a major problem as we were told we had to 'prove' we had made the booking even though we had handed over our passports and she could confirm our id. For an hour we stood at reception debating this issue; we have been to many hotels booked through these websites and none of them have ever even asked to see the emailed confirmation as they themselves are clearly notified of this by the website concerned. It even got to the point where I had to phone my dad who lives in the UK, on my mobile, to ask him to try to log in to my email account and tell me the confirmation details - ridiculous. I had my laptop with me but the log in details the receptionist gave me did not work. However after stating we were cancelling the booking and going to find another hotel she eventually called the manager and he sorted the matter out in 2 minutes. She was not rude, just unwilling to help, and a bit 'couldn't care less'.
On the way to our room we noticed yet again the place is totally shabby, with peeling paint, what looks like black mould or damp seeping down the walls and a definite smell of damp. The pool area was not clean, and the water itself did not look clean either.
The room was a decent size and was clean enough in itself but the bathroom was a disgrace, with black grout round the bath, a dirty mildewed shower curtain, and hairs on the floor clearly indicating it had not been properly cleaned. The bedsheets and towels, although I think they were clean, had ancient stains of unknown origin and had definitely seen better days. We asked at reception if we could have any bottled water as it was a hot evening and by the time we had finally checked in the local shops all appeared closed - she told us they did not supply drinking water and we had to boil the water from the bathroom tap and alow it to cool if we wanted water! The breakfast was possibly the poorest we have had. We bought a map of the area on which the Blue Bay had an advert stating that a 'dream holiday' was to be had here and sporting a picture which must have been taken the day the place was finished being built because it most certainly does not look like that now!
This is a pity because, barring the receptionist, the staff seem friendly.
I would agree with another reviewer who rated Jook's pub highly - this was a cosy place with a nice atmosphere and friendly staff although avoid the toilets!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumut hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I have been to this hotel for numerous of time and mostly for working trips with my colleagues. However, we always managed to have some good and memorable moments while staying in this hotel. We always booked this hotel although it is located 10km from Sitiawan (our working place) due to its vacation feeling that we had when staying there. It was a seaside hotel and the view was just great and calm.

We always have great fun at the swimming pool as most of the time, no one was using it. We always laugh and shout without concerning others peace of mind. This place is a mix of residence and traveler stay. The rooms was in satisfactory condition and it has all the basic amenities. The carpet was a bit worn off and we did not care. It was 2 - 3 star hotel and please don't expect too much from it. The staff was quick to respond and that's really matter to me.

There was a groceries shop nearby and it has plenty things there. Just opposite the hotel, there was a stall selling fried noodle. Well, we always order Hokkien Mee, Cantonese Mee and beers then just had them beside the road. It was just wonderful and enjoyable moment as the atmosphere filled with seaside dinning. We always have a 5 minutes walk to Lumut town area to buy our needs and taking a rest. Just feel the strong sea wind and wave gushing to the shore. There has a lot of exotic sea food tit bits such as satay fish and spicy squid roll sold. And there were stalls and hawker sell goods beside the road and it has almost creating a night market there. In fact, there were plenty of other budget hotels nearby. A few pubs to enjoy nice cooling beers and nice looking people around there plus nice music. It was so enjoying and we could have 5 jugs of beers a night. People was very friendly.

We took a boat ride to Pangkor at the jetty during the weekend and just left our car at the hotel parking space. It has plenty of parking space available and safe too. At Pangkor, we had snorkeling, boat sight seeing and explored the Pangkor town for the whole day before returning to the Blue Bay hotel. We managed to buy a set of batik clothing for each other and indeed, we really looked like tourist than coming for working trips. We always have the American Breakfast set in the hotel as we love the 2 big bull-eye eggs provided. Not sure whether they still provide this or not. However, we did not like the coffee there. Better have coffee elsewhere such local authentic kopitiam. It was not difficult to find. Just nearby the hotel, there's an empty space for those who like to do fishing. Every morning, we can't stop seeing them camping at the site for fishing. They were very energetic and persistent.

Although this hotel is a seaside hotel, however in order to enjoy the best seafood, we traveled to Sitiawan, Kampung Cina area. It was called "Yeh Lam" means Coconut Tree Forest. It is indeed full of coconut tree and it has plenty of seafood restaurant. We always go to one of them and if not mistaken, the restaurant name was Restaurant Villa. We always order spicy meat crab, butter fried prawn, saucy dried chili clam, fried mantis prawn, steamed siakap fish, butter cream japanese snails and some other "wild meat" such as ginger dried chili frog and local turtle soup. My Indian friends had those "wild meat" for the first time, and they were glad and pleased to have it. Please, don't order non-seafood and non-"wild meat" dishes like chicken and pork. This was seafood restaurant, of course just enjoy the the best and most famous dishes. It was so so delicious and the price was reasonable too. We had the local liquor made from coconut sugar called 'Toddi". Well, the taste was a bit weird but it was quite strong. Of course, beer and stout were the must have.

There were plenty of local fruits sold at beside of the main road. We brought durian, mango and mangosteen into the hotel too even though the durian was prohibited. The strong durian smell was so intense and astonishing. It has occupied the entire room. Well, none of the laundry staff complained about it. They were local...who cares. They, too, like it.

This hotel brought me memories of fun, enjoy, carefree, exciting and of course, FRIENDSHIP that we had. I will pretty sure at least I will drop by if I happened to travel to that area again. Don't just concentrate the hotel's facilities and quality, sometimes just think of those surrounding happening places, food and people...it just make the place you stay become 5 STAR instantly....believe me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

The staff are friendly and helpful,especially their manager Alex.O! the receptionist has an attitude problem(Not smiling,rude voice- better watch her). Clean corridor and wonderful sea view.You can hear people shouting at the swimming pool.No free internet
I stayed in their apartment for 2 years.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tubbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
603 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

My 2nd stay in this hotel after 4 years. As with many lower end hotels in Malaysia, owners do not care to retrofit or repaint and this should not be any exception I suppose and for approx RM165 a nite for a double (US$50 should or could one complain ?
The blankets are grotty and some bedsheets were stained. The consolation is the staff were quick to change these on request. Bathroom is basic and remember to stuff the bowl with too much toilet paper in the bowl, ottherwise it will overflow. There are 2 pools, one green and the other blue coloured and we are told the green colour is infact discolouration comes from holiday makers whom do not have swimming gear.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and that is a plus.

Beware of noise level if there are year end concerts in the park behind the hotel and the K-Ok type concert can be disconcerting if you are early to bed person.

The plus of this hotel is ample car park and a short walk to the jetty (5 mins) and there are many local restaurants around esp one across the road which serves fairly decent chinese stir fried food.

Overall a basic no frill reasonably clean hotel and if you do not have high expectations such as 3 star or above, it is only a transit /overnight hotel before heading to Pangkor Island. Of course if you pay a RM100 more and have a car you can stay in the more established Swiss Garden with its sprawling landscape in Damai Laut but you will have to double back to Lumut to cross over to Pangkor Island.

  • Liked — convenient to the getaway jetty, nearby restaurants, a mini market next door, ample guarded car park
  • Disliked — this hotel is shared with serviced apartments and can be overcrowded during long weekends. Part of building looks tired. Food so so.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kota kinabalu sabah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

the view was nice especially during sunset
i was jus a walk in guest n visiting d bar-jook's bar near the blue bay it was nice n the staff also friendly.. cant wait to visit that place again lot of memory...!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taLia_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The front office staff, Alex was great. He was very helpful and gave us suggestions on the places to go etc. We visited the Naval Dockyard and my children thorougly enjoyed the visit.
Overall, the hotel service was excellent and front office staff were very friendly. We had some meals at the hotel and it was really delicious and not expensive at all. The nasi lemak at breakfast was really good. We also tried the noodles (Cantonese style) in the menu. The best we have had. We ordered some more as the children really loved it!
The hotel room is spacious and comfortable. Definitely excellent value considering that it has a great view of the sea!!
Sharon Chia, Malaysian traveller

  • Liked — Great food and surroundings
  • Disliked — No balcony in the room
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaysian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
2.5 mi away
Sfera Hotel
Sfera Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lumut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#4 of 19 in Lumut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
2.9 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#4 of 50 in Manjung District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Resort

Property: Blue Bay Resort
Address: Blue Bay Resort Jalan Titi Panjang | Pangkor and Perak, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bay Resort is a natural gateway to a great holiday that spells fun, flexibility and freedom. Nestled on the shore of a sheltered harbour in Lumut, Blue Bay Resort is just minutes away from Pulau Pangkor, the fishing haven of Pulau Sembilan, the gorgeous beach at Teluk Batik and golfing facilities at Teluk Rubiah. Relax in this tranquil haven. Enjoy the refreshing beauty of the coastal scenery as you stroll down the esplanade along the harbourfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing