We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The rooms in this hotel has improved a lot since I last stayed a year ago. Wifi signal was strong throughout the hotel. The room we stayed in was spacious and it had a nice view of the open sea. My daughter and I had an enjoyable time at the hotel's swimming pool and also catching the seashell 'siput remis' at the beachfront of the hotel. Since it is in the town, there are many eateries around the hotel. Breakfast selection could still be improved though. We did not face any dripping problem with the aircon unit and the selection of Disney cartoon channels kept my daughter entertained.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the left wing of the hotel. You will get a good view of the open sea, sunset an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisalam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Checked in for one night,... regretted the decision to book into this place immediately. The hotel has not changed much; building still ok,. but theres lots to be done for the rooms, services, check in, food outlet etc. Overall the whole hotel needs to be refurbished otherwise I would recommend to all to find a B&B else where!

Room Tip: If you have the budget,... go elsewhere cause with the money you are going to pay there is a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IpohMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Strategic location & but old building. The check in experience was just ok. Car park can be a problem if check in Late.

Stayed in one bedroom Junior Suite 2nd Floor. Request for baby cot but unfortunately not available (finish). The room is spacious. However, its all worn out (old). The carpet was dull & old. The room quite stuffy. The bathroom is quite big with a bath tub & a shower area.

Breakfast was nice. Tastewise was ok but there a lot of variety that we can choose. Waffle, fried rice, noodle, toast, bread, fruits & others.

Pros : Spacious. 2 TV. 2 Bathroom.

Cons : Stuffy room & worn out furniture.

Need major refurbishment of the rooms. Money vs room not tele. Staff quite friendly.

Room Tip: Choose room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very friendly at check-in, but that was as good as it got.
Poorly maintained room. Missing and non-working bulbs, cracked floor and wall tiles, non-locking veranda doors. TV picture very poor with no remote. Grubby fixtures and fittings throughout, especially in the bathroom. Aircon unit in the room dripped water constantly.
Breakfast was very poor with disinterested and bored looking staff.
Restaurant was slow, painfully slow.
Only plus point of my stay was the good view across the river.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is my second visit to the town of Lumut, the first being about twenty five years ago. Not much changes have taken place during these years.

The resort is situated within the town of Lumut itself, and it can be easily located. It has a private beach (which is right at the doorstep of the resort!), and the resort is popular with the local tourists who usually used it as a base to visit the nearby island of Pangkor. The jetty to Pangkor Island is within walking distance of about 10 minutes away. When I arrived at the resort at about 2.00 p.m., I was informed that all the rooms have been taken except for a room with 2 single beds and a suite, as I had not made any prior bookings and it being a peaked / holiday season.

The check-in was relatively smooth, except that the room was not yet ready as prior guests had only checked out. I was allowed to check in 30 minutes later after they have made the room ready. Although the room size is small, it has a relatively spacious balcony with a table and some chairs for guests to sit to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Each room is provided with very basis toiletries, such as shampoo, soap, sewing kit, and cotton buds. However, wear and tear have taken their toll on the fixtures and fittings of the room.

The room rate is inclusive of breakfast for 2. The breakfast offering has a reasonable selection of Asian/American spreads. The resort also has some bicycles for rent to guests who wish to explore the town on bicycles. Although the resort is equipped with free wi-fi, the wi-fi speed is bad.

One major concern that I have about this resort is the presence of annoying houseflies. I was at the resort to attend a wedding dinner function of my colleague. Imagine the nuisance that we had in shooing away the houseflies from the dishes!

The resort offers a respite from the busy and hectic city life. Nevertheless, despite its 'resort' tag, the resort is nothing more than an average 3-star sea-front hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool / sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNomadB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel is situated along the same stretch as the Lumut jetty. You can walk to the jetty in 5 or 10 minutes. So, it is convenient if you want to explore the small Lumut town. There are Malay restaurants and Western food restaurant and bar nearby. Near the jetty area, there are Chinese restaurants.

We came to check in at four p.m. and the room was still not ready. After waited for some 15 or 20 minutes, we went to our room but the towels and bath mat were not there. We were told that the towels were still in the laundry. However, the staff were friendly and always had a smile on their faces.

The hotel has nice swimming pool and a stretch of private beach.

The hotel deal that we got came with buffet breakfast. The breakfast selection was limited and it was a combination of oriental and western breakfast. Go for the fragrant 'nasi lemak' and fried rice. Their rice dish was good.

The room was old and you could see paint on the wall peeling. The sitting toilet was very low and it is quite inconvenient. The old television in the room went kaput on the second night and no TV remote control to be located in the room. Even the hairdryer looked very very old. In general, the room was clean.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms facing pool and sea. Superior rooms do not have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Location close to Lumut Town. Room has good view towards the sea. Breakfast plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.1 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
0.9 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#5 of 50 in Manjung District
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#4 of 19 in Lumut
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Star Resort Lumut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Star Resort Lumut

Address: Lot 203 & 366 | Jalan Iskandar Shah, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: £24 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orient Star Resort Lumut 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Orient Star Resort Lumut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Resort Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing