We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and standard of accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location and standard of accommodation”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent location for ferry jetty to Pangkor Island. Close proximity to Lumut town. Clean beach in front of Hotel. Rooms are tired looking but clean. Major challenge is that the whole facility is quite run down and in dire need of a major refurbishment. In present condition only suitable as a business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    42
    28
    19
See reviews for
33
16
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When this hotel was built, I estimate 30 years ago, it would have been an attractive place to stay. Problem is they forgot to maintain the hotel past this point. As an expat visiting for work there are no other real options - some may argue that the experience is worth the less than $100 tariff. Definitely no frills and service is not something in their mission statement. Key advice is do not eat at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumut hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location is ideal with clean beaches. Facility is ok but not fantastic. More like a businessmen hotel, not that ideal for tourist. Room is cleaned and tidy... definitely need refurbishment. Breakfast is fine with varieties. Don't mind to stay again for short trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Everybody call it "Orient no star".
The best thing to understand is to go there but do you have the choice.
There is no international hotel in Lumut.
The quality is porr, the service is average and the food ...
In the vicinity there is only 2 restaurants but the ambiance is good.

Room Tip: They are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peronma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Another trip out from Kuala Lumpur this month. This time for assignment in Lumut. I have been to Lumut a few times and all of them were business. Most of my trip is to Pangkor Island and Lumut town is only a stop over for the ferry. This time the assignment is in Lumit town.

Traveling time from Kuala Lumpur to Lumut is about 3 hours depending on traffic aituation and the route you take. This time I take the PLUS highway and turn off via Sungkai using the trunk roads.

Traveling together are my colleagues that is going to assist me with the program. We leave KL at 5:40pm and arrived in Lumut at 9:30pm after one stop between Sungkai and Bidor.

Upon arrival at Lumut town we search for the resort which is located at the end of the town nearby the jetty. Nothing beat this resort for its location. Only seven minutes walk to the jetty to Pangkor Island. If you feel like walking around town you can simply walk from the hotel.

The lobby is huge but the parking space is limited. You can park either on the right or the left side of the hotel. If the parking is full just put your car at the public parking next door. Upon entering the lobby you can see the swimming pool and the coast of Lumut. Reception counter is just nice for handling small group of people. Be ready to queue when checking out on weekends, you have to wait for a while and the lobby has amole space for that.

The room keys are using key card. We were given deluxe double with extra bed since there are three of us. It is spacious enough to hold 6 people in the room. Our balcony oversee the side of the hotel but we can still view the coast line.

Breakfast was provided and the selection can be improved. There were some local offerings such as nasi lemak and meehun goreng but the international is limited to toast bread. The coffee house layout for their food should be planned properly. It is quite difficult to move around and the food is located far from each other.

Since we were conducting training program at the hotel, we had the chance to ise their meeting facilites. The room allocated to us is beside the swimming pool below the main ballroom. Sadly the aircondition really require maintenance if not replacement. Other equipment is equivalent to standard given by a three star hotel.

I was informed by the management that they are refurbishing the hotel in the coming months. Hopefully the refurbishment program will give new life to the resort.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Nothing was right with this hotel. We have to change room 2 times (3 rooms) before we get something that is OK. The TV in the first room was not working - called them and took 30 minutes to arrive. The guy came in, change the plug and told us that it was working without even checking for himself. We checked and called him back, after 10 minutes of trying, he asked us to change room instead. Receptionist could not even speak english and hung up on me! Finally managed to change room but the hot shower wasnt working. Took another guy 1 hr to try to fix but in the end asked us to move room again. All the 3 rooms were dirty. NEVER go there EVER.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiABan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

This is probably the hotel with the best sea view near the Lumut Ferry Terminal but probably with the worst food served. Anyway with some renovation to certain area in the building with it's classic looks this hotel could be a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaipul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumut hotels
2.4 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sfera Hotel
Sfera Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lumut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
2.5 mi away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#4 of 19 in Lumut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.1 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Star Resort Lumut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Star Resort Lumut

Property: The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Address: Lot 203 & 366 | Jalan Iskandar Shah, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orient Star Resort Lumut 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orient Star Resort Lumut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Resort Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing