We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The star has dimmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel since 1996. But sadly the shinning star has dimmed. Location is the only plus factor. Air conditioner is leaking, mattress is like a rock and the bed shakes. Breakfast not much variety.

This is the only 3 star hotel in Lumut, the other is 9km away. Another 4 star resort is 30 km away which I have reviewed last week. I checked out of Orient Star yesterday and straight away check in the other hotel 9km away which is located on a man made island. Will review it soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Awang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have recently visited Lumut with my family. We took 5 rooms. They only allowed us to extend our check out 30 minutes later even though we are checking out on Sunday. Breakfast is really not good its better to go and have breakfast at nearby restaurant which is only walking distance. But there is no option to book the room without breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My kids love the stay especially the swimming pool. Good breakfast and quality seafood dinner.
Very near to jetty to Pangkor and within walking distance to town. Very quite and we had a good sleep very night. Very polite staff. The kids also enjoy the activity during school holidays.
Hotel is old style but the cleanliness is good.

Room Tip: Chooese the seaview deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aziah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere somewhere in Lumut as couldn't go to Pangkor Island till next day. Resort is older style but good value for money we paid $68 aus including breakfast.
Has free internet, pool is clean and breakfast is ok. You can order freshly cooked eggs and there is plenty of choice. There was also a high Tea the day we were there very good value and plenty of food to choose from. If you are after a modern perfect resort this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent location for ferry jetty to Pangkor Island. Close proximity to Lumut town. Clean beach in front of Hotel. Rooms are tired looking but clean. Major challenge is that the whole facility is quite run down and in dire need of a major refurbishment. In present condition only suitable as a business hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When this hotel was built, I estimate 30 years ago, it would have been an attractive place to stay. Problem is they forgot to maintain the hotel past this point. As an expat visiting for work there are no other real options - some may argue that the experience is worth the less than $100 tariff. Definitely no frills and service is not something in their mission statement. Key advice is do not eat at the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Kilts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location is ideal with clean beaches. Facility is ok but not fantastic. More like a businessmen hotel, not that ideal for tourist. Room is cleaned and tidy... definitely need refurbishment. Breakfast is fine with varieties. Don't mind to stay again for short trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.1 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
0.9 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#5 of 50 in Manjung District
54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Star Resort Lumut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Star Resort Lumut

Address: Lot 203 & 366 | Jalan Iskandar Shah, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: £24 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orient Star Resort Lumut 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Orient Star Resort Lumut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Resort Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing