We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Room is clean, spacious, and neat. Breakfast seat very limited, have to wait 5-10minutes before others hotel guest leaving than only can find vacant table. Kids swimming pool is small and not so hygenic. Overall hotel location and view is stunning.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    43
    28
    19
See reviews for
33
16
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel since 1996. But sadly the shinning star has dimmed. Location is the only plus factor. Air conditioner is leaking, mattress is like a rock and the bed shakes. Breakfast not much variety.

This is the only 3 star hotel in Lumut, the other is 9km away. Another 4 star resort is 30 km away which I have reviewed last week. I checked out of Orient Star yesterday and straight away check in the other hotel 9km away which is located on a man made island. Will review it soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumut hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have recently visited Lumut with my family. We took 5 rooms. They only allowed us to extend our check out 30 minutes later even though we are checking out on Sunday. Breakfast is really not good its better to go and have breakfast at nearby restaurant which is only walking distance. But there is no option to book the room without breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Gajah, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My kids love the stay especially the swimming pool. Good breakfast and quality seafood dinner.
Very near to jetty to Pangkor and within walking distance to town. Very quite and we had a good sleep very night. Very polite staff. The kids also enjoy the activity during school holidays.
Hotel is old style but the cleanliness is good.

Room Tip: Chooese the seaview deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aziah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
274 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere somewhere in Lumut as couldn't go to Pangkor Island till next day. Resort is older style but good value for money we paid $68 aus including breakfast.
Has free internet, pool is clean and breakfast is ok. You can order freshly cooked eggs and there is plenty of choice. There was also a high Tea the day we were there very good value and plenty of food to choose from. If you are after a modern perfect resort this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent location for ferry jetty to Pangkor Island. Close proximity to Lumut town. Clean beach in front of Hotel. Rooms are tired looking but clean. Major challenge is that the whole facility is quite run down and in dire need of a major refurbishment. In present condition only suitable as a business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When this hotel was built, I estimate 30 years ago, it would have been an attractive place to stay. Problem is they forgot to maintain the hotel past this point. As an expat visiting for work there are no other real options - some may argue that the experience is worth the less than $100 tariff. Definitely no frills and service is not something in their mission statement. Key advice is do not eat at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumut hotels
2.4 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
2.5 mi away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#4 of 19 in Lumut
2 reviews
3.1 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Star Resort Lumut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Star Resort Lumut

Property: The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Address: Lot 203 & 366 | Jalan Iskandar Shah, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orient Star Resort Lumut 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orient Star Resort Lumut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Resort Lumut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing