We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother... Hilariously bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anjungan Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dont bother... Hilariously bad.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As a resident of Thailand, this place made me wish I had stayed at home.

First off, the island. Pretty, but nothing special. Nothing to do other than ride jetskis / inflatables.

The resort - Staff are okay, but really don't seem to care whether you are having a good time or not. It also advertises itself as a spa, but it isn't.

First day, was greeted by two large monkey dumps in the pool. I politely asked if they could remove them. Then asked again. Then again. In the meantime I had to disassemble one of the rungs on the pool stairs as it was dangerously loose. Handed it to them for them to fix (which would take all of 30seconds with a 12mm spanner). 5 days later - its still not fixed, but the monkey poo has gone.

Hilariously, they have an aggressive monkey infestation, which they decided to try and cure by shooting them, (yes, really, with a gun). Seems to have gotten rid of at least one of them.

They turn the wifi off at 10pm? What? Oh, and only available in the lobby. Do they think that the router will get tired?

They do not even supply drinking water in the rooms - telling me that I could use the kettle to boil the tap water? Really? They will sell you bottled water (at a huge mark up), Whilst I respectfully acknowledge their right to not serve alcohol, I am horrified that they do not stock any soft drinks though, opting instead to peddle syrupy 'juices' at a horrendous price. Why cant I have a syrupy coca cola?

Food is overpriced and really not very good. I think they re-purposed the monkey poo in making the breakfast coffee though, so at least they are into recycling.

Room is fine, but does not get cleaned properly. Way overpriced and no inclusive breakfast.
No view, and you have to walk around a dodgy hairpin bend to the nice beach. Nearest beach is a litter strewn dump.

At weekends / holidays, the place is rammed. God knows why. I don't think there is any competition on the island, but I still cant figure out why all the Malays would come here? It might be a secret Malay big game Monkey hunting resort?

Finally, and the reason that I am sat on holiday with time to write this epic tale of woe. I went for a walk before breakfast and returned at 11:15 am. Was told that they had finished serving breakfast (although signs says they finish at 11:30 am). Asked for lunch, but was told that this was not possible until 12, despite all the staff sitting around in the kitchen playing with their phones. Its 12:40 now, and still no food.

Oh god. Last thing. The incessant, insipid, infuriating, limp, vapid, anaemic and downright tedious 'music' that they pipe through the place. Its enough to turn anyone into a monkey murdering lunatic. Maybe that's the reason?

Room Tip: 101-103 can catch a wifi signal in the rooms - the rest cannot. If you do have the misfortune of en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Paddymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    130
    91
    37
    26
See reviews for
127
118
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Despite reading the bad reviews, i decided to give it a try. Well....i had a pleasant stay here. The staff was helpful and the breakfast is good. Room is nice and my kids love the pool so much. There's lot of food stall along the beach. The hotel provide mat for guest to borrow and laid down by the white sandy beach - nipah bay. Overall...good

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohazlina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the luxury room as in website it says theres seaview. Well theres none because the hotel is at the back of food stalls, tall trees and accross the road. The property is not beachfront. The room is clean, we love the hammock, we didnt mind that its at 5th level without lift. But i didnt feel secure at night as the back was very dark, and dont think there is security. A little more on top of what i paid for supposed "seaview" could have gotten me a room at pangkor island beach resort where theres facilities and security.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Staff act like they can't be bothered. Wouldn't give us beach towels. Restricted use of pool. Mouldy room and ac didn't work with in another. Best name for this place is Faulty Towers. Way overpriced to boot.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank xcJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Such a shame that the service at this "resort" (which is no longer a spa by the way, so it needs to change it's title) is almost non existent. We booked the super deluxe room as it was apparently the only one left through Agoda, although once we arrived it became apparent that there were other rooms free. Upon arrival we had to distract the four members of staff so that we could check in (always a bad start) - we were then given the keys to our room in the back block, fourth floor, 71 steps up - no offer of assistance with the bags or anything. It has to be said that the room was lovely, large comfortable bed, big balcony with hammock and bench and table. Everything was clean, but the remote for the TV was missing (not so much of a problem but seeing as we were paying top dollar for the super deluxe we asked for it in order to keep up with the news about MH370). We were sent to "housekeeping" to get one, climbed the 71 stairs again to find out it was the wrong one...... Returning it to reception the next day, we were asked to wait while they found the right one (no we didn't wait, we were on holiday!) A few hours later they came up with "another" remote which turned out to be the exact same one we had already tried! This was now becoming a Fawlty Towers experience and luckily we were able to see the comical side of it. During day 2 of our 3 day stay we were eventually given the correct remote. However on day 2 we arrived for breakfast to be greeted by a sign to say that for the next 4 days there would be no breakfast or lunch available due to a "group booking" - once I started questioning the staff (as there was a buffet breakfast all laid out) someone who I can only assume was the Manageress popped up and told us we could have the buffet breakfast for RM15 per person. OK no problem. The following day however there was nothing available at all - "group booking" was the only response we could get from the reception staff - the only alternative was the one stall open on the street serving yesterdays fish (no thank you).
We had been planning to spend the rest of our 4 days on the island at Anjungan but at this stage we decided to move on, which was a shame as we really liked our room and the pool was nice and clean, and it is situated really close to Coral Bay beach..... On our last evening Pangkor experienced it's first rain for almost three months, there was a torrential downpour and my husband got absolutely drenched coming back from the minimarket. He had forgotten to buy water and approached the reception staff (four of them sitting around the computer again) to buy a bottle, only to be told that the "kitchen" closed at 4pm! We have NEVER stayed anywhere in SE Asia that is unable to provide a bottle of water (we wanted to pay for it, and it was exceptional circumstances!).
Such a shame that the staff are uninterested and have no inclination to provide a service for their guests (unless of course you are part of a "group booking"!) as this could be a really nice place to stay. But unless you want to be looked upon as an inconvenience (which was the feeling we were given) save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeggyMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I agree with others, the staff seem not to care at all. We arrived at 3pm hungry and pleased to see a sign that lunch was served until 4pm. We were told the kitchen was closed for maintenance. The room had tea and coffee but the coffee was a sachet of coffee mixed with milk and sugar. I asked if they had any black instant coffee – “no”. I asked if they had some milk - no. There's no internet in the rooms (which are actually clean and ok). We tried the internet from the breakfast area the following morning and the connection was broken. The breakfast menu isn’t clear and we got stung for buying coffee and tea when it was actually included in the price. The staff serving couldn’t speak English to explain. Monkeys are everywhere and a real nuisance. The street restaurants are appalling. Service is shocking. The fish on the stalls are covered in fly's and made me feel like vomiting. Swerve this island and hotel is my advice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanEwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I agree with what has been written before. It's good value for your money but you have to be prepared for extremely bad staff. It's actually very sad, the hotel is clean and the rooms are awesome. But everytime you talk to a staff member you want to go home.

So, go here, don't talk to the staff too much, and enjoy Pangkor Island!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.9 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
4.3 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjungan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjungan Beach Resort

Property: Anjungan Beach Resort
Address: 6610 Nipah Bay | Pangkor Island, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia (Formerly Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjungan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjungan Beach Resort is a beach retreat strategically located between two of Pangkor’s best and popular beaches, Nipah Bay and Coral Beach. Nipah Bay is just across the road while Coral Beach is only a few minutes walk away. Giam Island, a popular snorkeling location is situated only a few hundred meters from the beach in front of the resort. Blending modern and tropical design, the resort is meant to provide guests a perfect island getaway that will draw you into an inviting and memorable experience. Come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anjungan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjungan Beach Hotel Pangkor
Anjungan Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing