We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like staying in the artist home, beautiful and on the jungle edge.”
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was like staying in the artist home, beautiful and on the jungle edge.”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Fully self contained and magnificent meals prepared by Bavanni.
Pangkor Island has small villages, beaches and a thriving fishing industry to visit.
Mohan and staff very welcoming and helpful.
However if you want flash 5 star luxury this is not the place. This is for quiet relaxation enjoying the noises of birds and monkeys and reading, writing, photography or painting.
We stayed two nights, our major complaint was that it was not long enough!
John and Susie.

Room Tip: Best room is the artists former work room but access is via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed at Tiger Rock in June 2011 during our trip around Malaysia. Tiger Rock is more unique than anything else we have ever seen - private luxury in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the very spacious studio, and at night time we felt asleep while listening to all the sounds from the jungle. The staff is exceptionally friendly and service minded, and the freshly home cooked food served at the pool side was some of the best we have ever had. Also, Mohan offers a very interesting insiders trip around the island. We can only give Tiger Rock our strongest recommendations. And thank you again Mohan, Bavani and the rest of you for a lovely stay - greetings from Denmark.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Fantastic surrounding and the hospitaly is incredible. The food is super

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We (2 adults, 2 children (5 and 3 years) and a baby (4 months)) had an exceptional time at Tiger Rock. Tiger Rock is a gem of a few beautifully decorated villa's hidden in the jungle of lovely Pangkor Island that started out as a weekend retreat of a British/Malaysian couple and their children. Mohan, Bavanni, Parti and the rest of the team have reinvented service and do their utmost to make you feel at home (and succeed in all aspects!). The food was amazing; by far he best we experienced on our trip of 4 weeks through Malaysia. The pool area (pool house and infinity pool with a spectacular jungle view) is great; the island tour by Mohan is very special. Mohan or Parti will bring you wherever you want to go (beaches, villages, boat trip, etc.). Our daughter had her birthday during our stay and the staff went out of their way to make it special: the pool house was decorated with zillion balloons and guirlandes, there was a beautiful birthday cake and even presents and Bavanni taught her to make pancakes. She had the best of times. Definitely recommended if you want to get away from it all and do something truly special, not the usual blend of 5 star (massive) hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The experience in Tiger Rock is just amazing. The staff says that it is not a resort or a luxury hotel but it is a home. And that is what it feels like... but with a 24 hour butler service ;-). The food... what can we tell about the food other than that it is the most fantastic journey of the Malay kitchen that we ever had. We never had a single dish that was the same over all the lunches and diners that were served. We had a wonderful trip over the island and even attended a ceremony in the temples. The rooms are big and secluded. We stayed in the studio and you have the feeling you are all on your own in the jungle. Really the only downside would be the mosquitos but that's part of the jungle anyway ;-). Nothing that some repellent and a fan cant fix.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We spent a long weekend in Tiger Rock with a couple other families, in total we had 6 adults and 5 kids between 1-4 yrs old. Having the place to ourselves, it was the perfect location for a group trip. Mohan and his team provided everything we needed with a smile. They prepared special food and mealtimes for the children on request, and had the fridge well stocked with late afternoon snacks necessary after hours spent in the glorious pool. The service was so good, I think at one meal they delivered my young son 5 new spoons after each previous had fallen on the floor, and all delivered with a smile. There was ample communal space so that the adults could relax together after all little ones were asleep. The rooms were comfortable, and each had a cot set up for the young ones. We even got to see some wildlife up close and personal. I cannot say enough positive things about Tiger Rock...go there! You'll love it!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We were really suprised with this little "resort". After two weeks of travelling through Malaysia we were at first a little reluctant, because staying there is not cheap. But after enjoying Tiger rock for two day we decided to exent our stay, it is worth every penny. Mr Mohan and staff really know what hospitallity is!!! Everything during our stay was fantastic: the food, nature, pool, rooms, service.

Staying at Tiger Rock is a very special experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.4 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
2.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Property: Tiger Rock
Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing