We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience”
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Tiger Rock will give you a unique experience: jungle life, splendid food, excellent service, unique cottages and Mohand's hospitality will strike you in the heart. This is the place to relax, enjoy the pool, have the best meals ever, watch the monkeys and other wild life and just...FEEL AT HOME!!.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carladebakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

How do you review a place where you decide it's your home the moment you set foot on it?...
How do you find enough adjectives for a place that time stand still... still enough where you discover that your lungs are capable of breathing so much more and your desensitized city senses are conjured back to life?

This is Tiger Rock. A lucky word of mouth and internet search lead me and my new husband to Tiger Rock and it was the best decision of our lives. In desperate need for rest and relaxation, away from the maddening city, suffocating smog and crazy crowds and of course our honeymoon, Tiger Rock proved to provide rest, respite, therapy and smiles.

Mohan and Bavanni, the caretakers of Tiger Rock and their team feel like family after the first 10 minutes. Mohan greets you at the Pangkor jetty with a big smile and a warm heart, a 5 minute drive into what seems deep into the jungle, just as the jungle starts, it clears into a hideaway that instantly dispels all anxiety . Bavanni waits for us with ice cold winter melon juice and a blessing. On the way, you might bump into Pepper and Coco, Mohan and Bavanni's adorable dogs.

Tiger Rock offers an intimate experience, as were were taken to our PoolHouse - which is beautifully decorated and is cosy, we open the door and were on a beautiful balcony looking over the jungle. with Mohan's personal note to us. There are also bigger rooms and the main house to accommodate families with kids - there is no need to worry about the rooms - as they come complete with attached bathrooms and all the amenities you need. Mosquito repellent and sprays are provided.

The Food - never have we eaten so much in our lives. Bavanni is the really the Goddess of the Tiger Rock kitchen. Her mouthwatering food is something we literally wake up for.. We ate ourselves silly... and then ate some more. Breakfast is freshly made coffee - not the icky hotel kind, this is fresh ground, in a coffee plunger waking you up, eggs however you want them, fresh pancakes, toast ... and fresh pineapple and orange juice... and whatever else tickles your fancy that morning...

Lunch and Dinner is a delight. Light, fresh fare is served in Bavanni's authentic style..fresh barramundi, crunchy vegetables , fluffy rice.. oh how we ate ...and drank

The pool is beautiful and serene... Its quiet, as Mohan and team leave you to your devices unless you have plans with him to take you for an island tour or to the beach. We just lay by the pool dozing off to the sounds of the jungle.. a hornbill or two might drop by, or Coco and Pepper might make an appearance - much to my delight, missing my labs back home.

Above everything else at Tiger Rock, it's the people that I miss most. Mohan is the absolute best host and friend ever. He talks to you ( not at you as most 5 star resort staff are trained to do... bleh) , he anticipates your needs even before you even think it. He is proud of his wife's cooking as he talks about it with fondness and pride. He takes the time to explain everything you see and hear ... even your silliest question is answered with tact. His team members, the young Parthi who from humble beginnings now makes a mean mango flambe, sets up your picnic by the sea and will serve you from his heart. Shella whose infectious smile and friendly good mornings warms the heart, and as you come back from eating ( yet again!) , your room is made up by Shella..
who also is wonderful with kids and also doubles up as a babysitter.

Words cannot express how wonderful Tiger Rock is ... I recommend this to all who seek solace, rest, inner peace, mending hearts or even restoration. But be warned, this is not for the jet setting, fun seeking partygoers, that' s Kuala Lumpur.... But if you need restoration, don't mind a chameleon or strange wildlife, love dogs and good conversations with friends.. Tiger Rock is for you.

I almost feel like keeping Tiger Rock all to myself - staking a claim as it has on my heart ..

I vow to come back and this vow as my marriage vows I said a week ago, I intend to keep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Fabulous local food, completely personal service from Mohan and his team where NOTHING was too much trouble particularly for the children on an unspolied island where fishermen outnumber tourists. The property is a beautifully adapted, quirky family home with an infinity pool in the midst of lush jungle where you can swim watching monkeys and hornbills. There is even a tennis court with rackets and balls in the midst of banana trees all of which makes Tiger Rock a great family destination. I cannot recommend it highly enough for a relaxing, 'off-grid', authentic Malaysian get away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragileflowerindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The perfect relaxed retreat for families. We were more than taken aback by the beautiful scenery, the welcome by Mohan and the rest of the team and the lovely and whimsical studio in which we stayed. Loved the Chinese enamel collection and all the pretty fabrics! The place has a real jungle feel to it - waking up to the sound of birds chirping and monkeys playing outside our room was the perfect start to our day.
When we stayed at Tiger Rock we had been traveling for a long time through Malaysia with our 2 year old son, who was very much going through an intense terrible twos phase paired with a lot of traveling and endless new places... it was a challenge to say the least. There was some tantrum (and food) throwing at times - but the staff handled it very gracefully and did their best to make us feel relaxed.
And the food! Oh, the food! Great Indian lunches and dinners prepared with care and beautifully served. Very mild but very tasty Indian dishes, no doubt made to also suit people who have never tried the cuisine before. Only but we had was the breakfast, which was a fine but a bit bland buffet with (well prepared) eggs to order. Would suit the place to also have a roti option for breakfast :)
All in all we can only recommend Tiger Rock for families, couples and it would also be great if you're traveling as a larger group. It is on the expensive side, but worth it!
When we return to Malaysia again one day we will definitely make sure that our paths take us to Pangkor and Tiger Rock!
Oh, and one last thing - when we left with the ferry on our departure day, Mohan had promised us a lunch pack of sandwiches with honey (pretty much the only thing that would pass by our son's lips at the time) - we had forgotten and didn't worry about it, until Mohan came storming onto the boat at the second stop on Pangkor Island with the pack of sandwiches and water for us! We were very thankful for that! It was beyond service minded! Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janglybracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Bring a camera. You will never stop snapping.., This holiday is very personal, expose ALL your senses to everything you see, hear, touch feel, and learn, put your feet up and silently enjoy your favorite wine. oh yes bring your own wine.

Room Tip: If you have the oppurtunity to, try out other rooms, each accomodation has its own charm..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyanaAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This property was originally built as a family property and it retains that feel of intimacy. I felt greeted and treated as a valued family member. The food is extremely fresh, light, delicious and healthy. The jungle setting is rejuvenating and refreshing. The team operate consistently by their customer service principles - I found that they managed to ascertain and offer to meet my desires mostly before I had worked them out myself. Nothing was too much trouble. It's well worth the trip to get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Fully self contained and magnificent meals prepared by Bavanni.
Pangkor Island has small villages, beaches and a thriving fishing industry to visit.
Mohan and staff very welcoming and helpful.
However if you want flash 5 star luxury this is not the place. This is for quiet relaxation enjoying the noises of birds and monkeys and reading, writing, photography or painting.
We stayed two nights, our major complaint was that it was not long enough!
John and Susie.

Room Tip: Best room is the artists former work room but access is via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.4 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
2.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Property: Tiger Rock
Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing