We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique homestay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boutique homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Tiger Rock totally lives up to its promises and the reviews. We arrived on Christmas Day and were very looked after from being met at the ferry terminal at Lumut and helped across to Pangkor on what was a very busy day! Avoid travelling on Sundays on bank holidays - the queue for the ferry was horrendous. We were relieved to arrive in one piece with our luggage. The rooms are indeed a bit of a walk up the hill but Mohan was happy to drive anyone who couldn't face the walk. I was glad of the walk given the huge amounts of food served - please less food next time! It was all delicious so hard to resist. Everytging was perfect - we had hornbills flying over the pool and had a close encounter with a wild boar on the way back to our room. Not sure I would recommend the local massage - it was a bit odd having it on the floor in the library which is a common area...The man who brought the masseuse up to the resort hung around a bit and I literally had to make it plain that his presence was not required.
It is a special place and the staff were all delightful - would highly recommend it. We were all given Christmas presents as well as we arrived on Dec 25th which I thought was a particularly sweet gesture. Many thanks Mohan and team - all the best for 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kxsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lovely hospitality, marvellous food, exellent rooms, all you can wish for a family holiday with a golden touch.
A bonus for us were our fellow guests who added good atmosphere.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you're looking for a little slice of heaven in jungle surroundings then Tiger Rock is your place. Described in its literature as an Island Retreat rather than a hotel, it really does put its money where its mouth is... it's tranquil, relaxing, beautiful and spoiling without being pretentious or intimidating. The infinity pool & restaurant overlook a haven for boars, snakes and hornbills and both old and young are drawn in by its surroundings. Each of the rooms are an artwork in themselves and the service is the best I have experienced in many years of worldwide travel and employment in the boutique hotel industry.
The steep hills (up to your king sized bed) are not for the fainthearted (or little people) however there is a poolside room to accommodate you if you don't fancy the climb!
The home cooked food is fabulous and the beach and island tour are definitely worth the effort it takes to tear yourself away from the pool. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

After traveling across Malaysia/Thailand, our last stop at Tiger Rock was 'the icing on the cake' and definitely a highlight of the trip. From day one we were welcomed with open arms by Mohan and his team, and couldn't have been made to feel more at home in this jungle paradise. Memories of our time spent here will remain with us, in particular, the culinary delights we experienced from Mohan and his team.

Looking back longingly over the photo's and we hope to return soon. Thanks again, Chris and Sophie

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you are looking for a short break to get away from it all and be well and truly looked after then TIger Rock is the place for you. It's like having all the comforts of home, with Mohan and his team on hand for anything you might need. The food is amazinf, and ample, we were glad for the 'stepped' environment to keep us fit while we were there. Our 1 year old and 3 year old were catered for excellently, with baby monitors allowing us parents a candlelit dinner in the evenings. We really hope to return!

Room Tip: The studio room is very high up but if your kids are energetic adn like exploring its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Myself and my sisters were visiting Malaysia from Scotland and spent three nights at Tiger Rock. From the minute our wonderful host Mohan collected us from the ferry terminal our fantastic adventure began! We had a wonderful welcome into this visually stunning and unique jungle retreat. The property is set on a jungle hilltop, with the main communal area and stunning infinity pool located towards the foot of the property. The residences are very clean and brought to life with stylish and bright decor/artwork. The jungle surrounds just take your breath away - you are surrounded by some amazing views and exciting wildlife.

One of the highlights has to be the fantastic hospitality we received from Mohan and his small team. They really could not do enough for us and catered to our every need. The home cooking was very very tasty indeed and they provided excellent vegetarian options for myself and one of my sisters. Mohan is also an exceptional cocktail maker! Better than you could ever buy in a bar!

The island too provides a unique insight into Malaysian life and Mohan happily took us on a brief tour of the island during our stay.

Overall, a fantastic and very unique experience. Can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Tiger Rock is located on the south side of Pangkor island. There are 8 rooms altogether and ours opened right out into the forest at the back. Man-made structures and nature blended right into each other and the rooms are tastefully done with high ceilings and good ventilation. We went to bed in absolute darkness amidst jungle sounds and woke up at dawn to the chorus of birds resonating throughout the place. The common area by the pool is cozy with a clean pool offering gorgeous views of the lush surrounding greenery. Meal times are happy events here - hearty portions of home-cook fare of the highest standards, peppered with Mohan and his team's cheerful company ending on a high note with their special dessert and spice tea - there won't be a second you will find yourself with a half empty stomach! The library is built on stilts and has a selection of books, CDs and all kinds of knick knacks. We wanted to go down to the beach and were sent there (and picked up later) with a picnic basket complete with towels, a spread and bottles of ice cold water.
Room rates are on the expensive side but one cannot ask for a better host who made us felt at home right away! Berjaya Air has recently re-opened the Subang-Pangkor route and we were more than happy to be able to avoid the traffic from Kuala Lumpur to Lumut. Come here to be inspired, to rejuvenate and to fall in love with nature!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.2 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
0.9 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#5 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Property: Tiger Rock
Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing