We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for tranquility, eco sustainability, high-end service and food”
Review of Tiger Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangkor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiger Rock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for tranquility, eco sustainability, high-end service and food”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is my 4th visit to Tiger Rock and it won't be my last! Every time I go there, the fantastic experience I enjoy does not diminish and I never cease to be amazed by everything this resort represents.

I went for four wonderful days with my girlfriend and father. What you are spending your money on is a unique blend of superlative service and the most incredible food, all set safely within a tranquil jungle setting that is cut off from the usual day-to-day bustle of typical modern living. Mohan Kasi, who manages the resort, provides you with the most personal service you will ever experience. Amongst his team are his wife Bavanni, who prepares and serves the freshest and tastiest food you can enjoy, sourced locally and sustainably, as well as various other members of staff who will enhance your stay.

During your visit to Tiger Rock you are transported back in time to an age of natural slow order and serenity where the most demanding of decisions seem to be limited to things like "Shall I have another dip in the pool? Shall I unwind and listen to the jungle sounds all around me? Shall I have a drink? Or shall I enjoy all three at the same time?!" Accommodation is rustic and traditional yet scrupulously clean. You can spend time relaxing at the resort or exploring the jungle paths within it. Nature is all about you. Expect to experience animals, birds, various creatures, reptiles and other wildlife but also expect to be totally safe. Tiger Rock is not for people who unnecessarily fuss about these things and who would be better off in a sanitised manicured resort setting!

You are not paying for a state-of-the-art modern boutique hotel; you are paying for probably the best service in the world with food way beyond what any five star hotel with a Michelin chef can offer, all within a unique jungle backdrop, where you are living right amongst primary rainforest nature.

If you wish to explore the island during your stay there are many activities which Mohan can lay on for you such as round-the-island trips, temple visits, experiencing time around the boat-building and local fishing industries, shopping and bargaining in the wonderfully timeless and traditional local shops, snorkelling and other water sports or arranging for you to be dropped off by boat to spend the day on your own isolated beach with a packed picnic and no-one else but nature for company and then being picked up at a time to suit you.

As the son of expat parents, who was born in Malaysia, I've been coming to Pangkor island since 1955 when it had a track road between the two fishing villages and a one mile sandy road from the east side to the west side and only one taxi! While some things have inevitably changed and the island has certainly modernised to some extent, much of it, along with many of the remaining simple buildings and the way of life, are the same as they were back then. If you hanker after these things, which are rarely found and experienced today, then Tiger Rock will not disappoint. I am certainly looking forward to my next trip there.

Room Tip: If you want to be totally isolated from the main Pool House choose one of the Hill House rooms, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindsetSynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at the lovely Tiger Rock from 2nd November to 7th November with my partner and his father. Both my partner and his father had stayed at Tiger Rock before and I had heard wonderful things about the place. I have to say it lived up to all the expections and more.
Service, food, accommodation were amazing. I have totally fallen in love with Tiger Rock. A truely unforgetable experience. We will be back soon, i promise :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Tiger Rock is one of those rare and wonderful places where you feel at home right away. It’s not just the warm welcome you get when you arrive, nor is it merely the lovely and unique guest houses, the good food or the picturesque jungle setting – it’s the added feeling of being appreciated and included in the life of the place and the island. Other luxury resorts may have flashier rooms, more staff, fancier food, more facilities and extras – but none of them can hold a candle to the atmosphere and charm of Tiger Rock.

We spent three wonderful days there in late October 2012, and the only complaint I can think of was that the time passed way too fast. We were extra lucky to have the place all to ourselves at first (Personal pool: check. Personal chef: check. Personal tour guide: check) and later to share it with the owners themselves – lovely, lovely people who took us boating, kept us entertained and answered all our silly questions about Malaysian culture, wildlife, politics, food etc.

Along with the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, they made sure our stay was everything we’d dreamed of and more.

In short, we cannot recommend Tiger Rock enough if you want to stay somewhere out of the ordinary. It’s not cheap, particularly compared to Malaysian prices in general, but to us it was worth every ringgit. Had we stayed at the luxury resort at Pangkor Laut, we’d have had three similarly expensive days lazing away at the seashore – nice but soon forgotten. Tiger Rock, on the other hand, was such an extraordinary experience that we’ll live on the memories for years to come. And we’ll be back. Soon.

Signe, Denmark

Room Tip: All the rooms - or houses really - are excellent, and each one is unique and charming. They are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I really dont know where to start as everything has been said bout this place. i will be repeating myself but i guess if you are thinking of booking tiger rock you need to hear it again and again.
everything is perfect bout this place. its not a 5 star resort but its got services even a 5 star resort cannot offer. mohan and his son dinesh are warm and wonderful people who drive you around and take you places and nothing is too difficult for them. the rooms are secluded, private and the only thing that surrounds you is nature. the trees and the sound of the wind will relax your mind and take away all your stress. if there is one thing that has left an impact on me would be the food... the food is beyond awesome. bavani has a passion for cooking and you can feel the love in the food.. her desserts were super yummy too...
BUT like every resort it always have some negatives and cons:-
the major cons about tiger rock is that:-
1. you put on some weight and your waist line will increase
2. your husband's expectation on food will raise and he will want you to cook like bavani

oh yes.. you must try mohan's cocktails.. he made me a nice frozen magarita and it was awesome
this place is something you can call home... we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

What can we say? We had booked Tiger Rock as a treat to ourselves at the end of our 3-week holiday in West Malaysia and Borneo. Based on the excellent reviews, our expectations were high... The summary of our experience at Tiger Rock: Mohan and his team, and the cooking of Bavanni, even exceeded our expectations!

We loved everything about Tiger Rock: the beautiful houses, the setting in the jungle, the wonderful pool, the excellent food and drinks, and the 200% personal service to our entire family. The children even played a bit of tennis despite the heat, and we had gin-tonic with a jungle view from the library... If we come back to Malaysia, we would absolutely come back to Tiger Rock.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

From the moment we met the manager Mohan at the jetty we felt most welcome. He is always smiling and he and his staff took good care of us. I travelled with my mother and daughter on our "girls trip". This is more like a homestay than a hotel experience. The food is 5 star and very various and huge portions (for us ). The service is also 5 star, nothing is to much trouble for them. If you want to go to shops or the beach they give you complimentary taxi service, even laundry is complimentary. The pool is awesome in the middle of the jungle, like you swim into the trees. We saw hornbills flying over every afternoon (even the greater hornbill). There was also a viper snake near the restaurant but they tell you where to look out but don't worry to much about animals. The rooms are very cosy and comfortable (nice for romantice get aways). Mr Mohan even went along with us on the ferry and took care of our luggage and put us on the bus to KL (he bought the tickets for us on request a week before) and got us some cold drinks and sandwiches for lunch in the bus. Mohan, if you read this: thanks again!!! (I know it is your job but still....)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammieoud-beijerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Tiger Rock was a great place for a quiet retreat and the service is top notch. And the accommodation is raw and real, the experience is much like being invited to a friend's holiday home. Everything is provided for here, Mohan and Bavanni ensured we were well fed! and the food was amazing. They made sure we were comfortable, and took us around Pangkor. The pool is great, looking out to the greens while swimming was relaxing. We also spent a lot of time at the library, looking out at treetops, reading, and playing board games. When we left, we forgot one of our bags and Mohan swiftly brought it to us while we waited at the jetty, we have to say the service is genuine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainaNws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.4 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
2.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Property: Tiger Rock
Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing