We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Location in cosy hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is quaint and set by the beach. If you get the deluxe rooms they are set around the pools and lovely garden. It is really nice and quiet and just a short walk to the beach. The rooms are good and clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We eagerly await for you or friends and relatives in the new future.
Warm Regards,
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    124
    36
    4
    9
See reviews for
112
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A good place to stay for those who want to be away from hectic life-very near to beach and facing the sea. Clean swimming pool and appropriate breakfast to start your day Quiet environment and good for relaxation.The room is very clean,All the staffs are friendly, helpful Overall, the environment is good to relax.Will recommend to friends if they would like to go Pangkor Island for holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAYETRI_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the delightful comments. Your reviews are an encouragement for us to further improve our establishment. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
William Joseph Pillai
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hi Admin, We really had a best time in your resort. We were 5 checked in last Saturday. My friends was so impressed with your garden concept. It is really beautiful. We had stayed in Super Deluxe Room located in ground, viewing swimming pool was the best. The food was okay. Addition in varieties for breakfast will be good.The staffs are friendly and helpful.

Overall the trip was excellent beyond our expectation. Will come back again with long trip. Thank you for serving us!

Room Tip: Addition in chalets for families will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyatharsinyKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ms Priya,
We are delighted that your vacation with us was an enjoyable. Your honest review is a motivation for us at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort to further maintain and improve our services.
Wishing you happiness and we eagerly await for your next trip to our Resort.
Thank you & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went there with a a few family total of 21 persons, took up 6 rooms with each room accommodates from 2 to 6 persons

This is small resort with only 25 rooms without a ton of people, hotel with the basics: Hot shower, beds, TV & A/C and Free usable Wifi is provided! Easy to get taxis from Receptionist. There are few mini-market and seafood restaurant you can find it easily outside the hotel, and also very to the beach.

We have 2 rooms in ground floor directly facing to the pool, but if you like to have privacy & don't like the noise from the pool, this room will not suitable for you. Balance 4 rooms in the 1st floor, but those room in 1st floor are quite hot even with the air-cond.

There's a place beside the resort where you can have the water activities including banana boat or snorkeling. I will not recommend the snorkeling in Pangkor island, cause can't really see fish and corals, if you have been snorkeling before in Pulau Tioman, Ledang and Perhentian islands

We booked for Sandy Vocation deal for 3D2N, since it was a package, we had our meals there prepared by the resort. Breakfast was basic & simple, not so many varieties to choose, lunch and dinner was set meals. 1st day meals was quite spicy & salty, but after we have commented, it was improved in 2nd day.

Meet a not so friendliest receptionist during night duty when we requested the first aid box, she replied "Don't have". Need to highlighted that a few persons fr our group have got a cut from the swimming pools, due to some tiles already loosen.

I won't say this place is perfect but I can certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ground floor - straight onto pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THERESA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you had a pleasant stay at our resort. Thank you for your compliments as well as your suggestions. Our staff are constantly reminded of their role to ensure that the guest do feel at home. We rest assure that our staff will be further trained to serve you better on your next trip. .
Hope to see you soon.
Regards
William Joseph Pillai
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staffs are friendly, everything in the room is fine except the hair dryer.
Should provide more variety of food for breakfast.
The location is good as near to the beach and we were staying at the chalet which just beside to the beach.
The bad thing is there are some events at the beach and it is noisy in the night time but stop around 11pm or 12am.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle_mao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest greetings for your kind compliments which is a great encouragement for us to further improve our resort. We will do our best to have a variety of food for the complimentary breakfast.
We are extremely sorry about the noisy people at the beach front. Our security will check from time to time to advice to keep their volume down but some people's culture is such and hope you understand.
Once again thank you very and hope to see you soon.
Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went here for my father's birthday and booked three rooms- a queen room, twin bed room and one Deluxe room, all of which was on the second floor. Overall the rooms were fine with the Deluxe room having more space. The toilets are basic but fine.

The best part of this guesthouse is the pool. It's clean and perfect for toddlers or those learning to swim as there is a baby pool as well as a very shallow part of the water perfect for toddlers. However, this is not a pool for serious swimmers wanting a longer stretch.

The beach is not quiet as there is water tourism with speed boats and the smell of gasoline is sometimes strong. But it is indeed a sandy beach that is still enjoyable for kids. If you want a quieter spot, you can wander a few metres away to your own personal sanctuary.

There are many types of boat trips on offer- a half day visit to nearby islands, sitting on big floats and being dragged around the waters, canoes etc. Because we had kids below 8 years old, this was a great source of amusement for them.

Pangkor Sandy Beach's food is average with very average local food and average dinners etc. Wander across the road and you will find some decent Chinese food (seafood dishes are pretty good too).

A taxi to the small centre of the town (and ferry port) is approx RM10 and that is the standard fare for a taxi (van that can fit 10 people).

Overall, the highlight of the day was the pool and being right next to the beach (which has a volley ball net if that interests you).

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor face the pool but you may not like having people walking outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Elaine,
Greetings and thank you for choosing Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort as the venue to spend your vacation and also for posting your comments. We are happy with your kind compliments but will look into your comments on water sports activities. As you are aware it's a public beach and we would not impose rules on them, nevertheless we will sit with the operators on a solution to ensure the satisfaction of all guests.
Thank you & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

First of all, you must note that this is not a 5 star resort. This is some sort of a boutique hotel/resort. This establishment is small but it has all the facilities you need.

There are several beaches in Pangkor Island. This resort is at Pantai Bogak (Bogak Beach) which is across the island from the main jetty. The jetty is facing east, Pantai Bogak is facing west.

To get there from the jetty, just take one of those pink taxi vans. Should cost MYR10, do not pay more. It is not that far from the jetty but a good 2.5km. MYR10 not worth saving.

The resort is just at the end of the road, literally by the beach. 5 stars for location!
Apart from the standard pool facing rooms, you can have a private chalet. I think only 3 chalets are available, so book early.

I called the resort directly and they want me to TT the payment directly to them. I wish they would accept credit cards like other hotels.

Bogak beach can be quiet deserted during off peak season. I reckon it would be crowded during local school holidays. It is a good 2 km stretch of beach, just at your doorstep. You can hear the waves coming in if you booked one of the chalets. If you venture a bit south of the beach, pass the school, there is another 1km of beach. Somehow, I find having the whole stretch of beach by yourself rather disturbing. You could drown or be murdered and nobody would know.

There are several restaurants and convenient stores just within walking distance from the resort. You should be able to find food here.

You can also rent bicycles for MYR15 per day (less if you bargain and complain that the bikes are not in tiptop condition). Riding a bicycle can get you back to the Jetty side and you can also ride towards the South east section of the island where the little Dutch fort and Malay villages are. North of the Jetty is some Chinese fishing villages. Alternatively, from the hotel, you can ride towards another beach (Nipah) but there is a hilly section. If you are not a good cyclist, please forget trying to ride to that beach, rent a motorbike instead for MYR40-50 per day.

Basically, at this hotel, you have a good stretch of beach, access to shops and restaurants, and you can rent bikes nearby. There is a water sports company just next door. You can have a book a boat ride just by stepping on to the beach.

The rooms are fairly basic but well kept.
Wifi is provided free and it is actually useable unlike some other hotels!

Breakfast is really nothing to shout about. I would think it is barely edible. Just have something simple and there are plenty of food available elsewhere.

They have a pool and it is great to swim in the evening when the sun has warmed up the water.

I like most things about this resort. Service, location, upkeep etc.

My 2 minor complains are:
Breakfast is barely edible
Some motorbikers can be a nuisance. The resort is at the end of the road, some locals with motorbikes tend to hangout there and rev up their motors.

I won't say this place is perfect but I can certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The chalets are good if you want privacy and exclusivity but you may be disturbed by some bikers rev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr Mike,
Warmest greetings, the management take pleasure and gratitude by your kind words on our resort. Any suggestions to improvise is always welcome for the future betterment. Thank you for taking time to put all the good words and hope to you see you again in the near future.
We would certainly look into improving our breakfast menu and we have informed the local police about the motorbikes racing at night which could disturb the peace.
Thank You & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai, Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
0.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.7 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
64 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 30, Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new 3-star beachfront resort lies in Pasir Bogak, just minutes away from the jetty. Here, you'll discover an enchantment: a resort that is nestled amidst a golden beach, sparkling waters and captivating serenity that is simply beckoning. Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort at Pasir Bogak promises a deeply relaxing holiday under the lure of the irresistible sun, sea and sand. It is true gem and this is the place you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Sandy Beach Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing