We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Lyana Villa(Pangkor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Horizon Inn(Pangkor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
100
130
36
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
130
36
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper deluxe roomswimming poolthe ground floorspoon restaurantthe ownerseafoodfew stepsbanana boatcomfortable stayfamily tripbeautiful landscapelocal dishesisland hoppingthe room was nicejet skibasic facilitieschalet room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It is a clean hotel but be careful to ask for right rooms. because some rooms are facing to backyard and the door opens in Lobby. I reserved 3 rooms and were clean but in diff places as they said that these are the only remained rooms.
The swimming pool is small but good specially for children.

Room Tip: Don't choose room facing to backyard or opening to Lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HasDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Warmest Greetings and we appreciate your review. The room which is located near and above the lobby is our standard rooms. We have three variations of standard room and spread in the main building. The Management is taking efforts to make these rooms more favourable towards our quest requirement.
Hope to see you again in the near future...
Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location
Location is good and it faces the sea. Only RM10 from the jetty via van. Just a walk outside the hotel and there's plenty of restaurants and convenience shops.

Rooms
First of all, don't go for the rooms in second floor. We booked the Standard Rooms and were given the rooms on the second floor (I think it was at wings starting with G - cannot remember). There were only 2 units and you would think there's privacy of some sort.

We opened the room and for a brief moment there was the smell of wet carpet. The room was carpeted, as opposed to the thought of tiles. As we walked in, with a feel of the grimy carpet, the room was warm and the floors creaked. Yup, we believed that the flooring beneath the carpet is of creaky wood. So any accidental loud stamping would be heard.

After a while we got used to the carpet. It could have been that our feet were sweaty.

Asides the TV and fridge, which had constant electricity, everything else needed the key to activate. There was a dusty standing fan, which we used to cool down the room when the air conditioner wasn't cool enough.

The wardrobe had a safe and the safe door would not close properly. One of us got hit by the door because of this malfunction of some sort while getting things from our luggages.

Be careful not to leave sweet stuff around. Black ants will appear out of nowhere very fast.

There's only enough space to leave a mattress. Since we were on the second floor, the hotel was not able to provide a bed. They provided sheets and a blanket for the extra mattress.

Toilets
Toilets are clean and decent. Hot water available.

Amenities
The hotel provides 2 bottles of water every day. Beach towels are thin and worn out and bath towels are ok. Sheets are clean and good enough to sleep on.

Breakfast
Decent spread. There's a surprise of Indian delicacy. On Saturday we had thosai while on Sunday we had puri, I think. However, careful of mouldy breads, which some of my friends noted and dirty cups.

Swimming pool
The best place to hang around is the pool. About 1.3m which is suitable for kids too. Enough lounges with umbrellas to hang around. Pool closes at 10pm.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor, facing the pool. We took a peek and it seems that those rooms were the best.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MisheruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Misheru,

Warmest Greetings and thank you very much for your constructive reviews.
We are actually changing in phase the flooring of all the first floor rooms to concrete floor and replacing higher quality carpet. Once it’s completed I believe the rooms will be more conducive.
In a hot daytime basically the air-con will take a little while to cool the room and that’s when the stand-fan comes useful. Our housekeeping staffs have been clearly instructed to be more alert on the fan, safe deposit box etc, etc and to avoid such situation in future.
All other matters highlighted have been rectified immediately and without your we would not have noticed.
Once again thank you for your useful reviews and looking forward to having you again.
Cheers & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a chalet near the sea. Everything was clean, the boss was friendly. The swimming pool is nice and clean. The beach nearby is however a bit dirty and not the most beautiful on the island. It is recomanded to hire a motocycle to go to other beaches.
We recommend this address in Pangkor! Probably one of the best on this island!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Maudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
It was very very nice of you to give us positive reviews. We are glad that you had a good vacation. There will be more to offer in the future. I personally thank you for recommending us here in Tripadvisor and looking forward to seeing you back with us soon.
Regards.
Willliam Joseph Pillai (RM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. There were lots of good things, it was relaxing, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the café is open air with a beach view which was lovely, much better than being stuck in an air conditioned café as you really felt like you were on holiday. Gardens are nice and helped the overall feel of the property. Our room and the hotel in general was clean and well managed. We had a problem with our safe and it was fixed immediately no wait at all. The breakfast was good, certainly enough variety for a normal person. We stayed in a beachfront chalet and they are great to just sit on the balcony and relax and read or watch the beach activities. The beachfront chalets of course are exposed to noise from the beach, we stayed during the week and it was only occasionally noisy but nothing that stopped us relaxing. The weekends and school holidays would be noisier. We enjoyed it and would definitely come back. Eating tip, for dinner visit Yee Lin Chinese restaurant, 10 minutes leisurely walk.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwi4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your honest reviews and delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards.
Williama Joseph Pillai (RM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just spent five nights in a beachfront chalet at Pangkor Sandy Beach, the three chalets are in front of the beach as against the rooms that all circle the pool, they are in a private location and over look the beach. The hotel has a nice pool that is well maintained, breakfast was Indian Malay as this hotel is Indian managed and staffed. The breakfast was overall very good. Wi Fi is spasmodic and works sometimes,we only had hot water on a couple of occasions the instantaneous water heater had a mind of its own,but the cold water was not all that cold so is was not a real worry. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again if I come to Pangkor. The local resturants nearby had some excellent seafood at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: I personally liked the chalets as they were more private.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews regarding your stay with us. We are real delighted that you are overall happy with the resort. We take your comments on wi-fi and water heater seriously and hence have taken immediate action to rectify it.
Cheers & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews