We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very humble resorts offering clean and spacious rooms and for the price, it is definitely worth a return!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very humble resorts offering clean and spacious rooms and for the price, it is definitely worth a return!!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here all 16 grown ups and 17 children for 3days 2nights mid August this year for our first ever big family trip. The resort's management was ok, 8 rooms checked in in 30mins. Rooms were good especially ones in front of the pool, the rest were ok as we only used it for sleeping and changing. Air conditioning worked fine as we needed it after the long hot day outside. Hot water worked fine. My room didnt get toiletries but my children's bedroom infront of the pool got loads. Breakfast was included in the price and they were good except for one of the sweet selection in particular muffins were off as they were served 2 days in a row. There were selection of hot breakfast and I liked the eggs counter where you can choose how you like your eggs. Coffee and tea were always topped up at their canteen. Service was ok , could do with more smiles but hey, Malaysian aren't trained for this kind of hospitality unless you are blue eyed and blonde haired (I am a Malay btw) person. What I liked most about this resort was the laundry service!!!! Since travelling with 4 kids and been living in suitcases for weeks before that, I was quite grateful for the RM10 per laundry basket service daily provided by the resort. All in all, I will come back again. And oh, dont forget to rent a scooter or a bike while you are there, I had a great time apart from an incident where I nearly rode into a lamp post into a pile of rubbish!!! Not bad for a first timer though!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora_ZSocialBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Sandy Beach Resort, Pangkor. Thank you for your kind words and it is an encouragement for us. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. Further to your suggestion we have improved the sweet selections during breakfast. Our staffs have been well informed to be courteous, helpful and to assist all valued guests at all times. Certainly we will emphasis further on this issue. Hope to see you again soon. Wishing all best of luck.
Regards. William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    119
    36
    3
    9
See reviews for
107
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rangitikei
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

If you like to have three jackhammers going in the room next to you when you check in then this is the place for you!
Hardly a resort and with a management that don't even think to tell you that there will be THREE days of ongoing maintenance in the room right next door to you when you check in, I think it best to give this place a miss.
With a full Island being a weekend and the last ferry gone we had no real option but to stay. Management refused any sort of refund if we checked out and said we had to deal with Agoda. We contacted Agoda and I have an email from them saying the management denied that work was going on at the Hotel. I immediately sent a photo through of the note in our room informing us that there would be three days of renovation and Agoda replied immediately offering us a refund.
We accepted a refund from Agoda but still feel any accommodation provider that thinks it's ok to have this sort of noisy renovation work going on while they have guests right next door is unaceptable.
Management did offer us a room at a place over the road but on inspection the room was awful and we didn't pay for a souless hotel room away from the beach so declined.
You can certainly do better than this place and I would reccommend staying at Nipah Bay, much nicer beach and better feel to the area.
A final note, we are not fussy eaters at all having travelled the world but the breakfast here was just awful with no refilling of plates and flies over everything, not good enough.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here pick a chalet by the beach or a second level room. Downstairs rooms are inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacey02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Warm greetings and thank you for highlighting this issue. Let me narrate what transpired on the day. You and your kids were supposed to be in Deluxe Room 207 and check-in towards late evening. The next Deluxe Room 206 was under maintenance that particular day as it is very critical and we had to do it immediately for safety reasons. We did give a notice to all rooms saying work will be for three days. The cement hacking was done on Friday 3.00 pm till 6.45 pm and Saturday 10.30am till 1.00 noon after which there was no noise at all. It took hardly two days the work was completed. We suggested you and kids move to Deluxe Room 209 of the same type but you refused because your daughter was not happy. You also requested to stay in the nearby hotels and we agreed we will pay the bill accordingly; you went looking at three hotels nearby and came back again to stay with us. You even called Pangkor Laut from our reception counter and we assisted. Nothing seems to work for you. We upgraded your room to Super Deluxe B for one night and the next day to move to Deluxe Room 209. Your daughter had a misunderstanding with a Chinese family staying above your room on the first night; the Chinese family lodged a complaint on the arrogances of your daughter, we pacified them to ignore this incident and take keep cool. The next morning you and kids had breakfast at the same venue with the Chinese family and you came telling you felt threaten which you never felt even when touring in India. How embarrassing to Malaysians. The Chinese family was very decent and understanding about the confrontation with your daughter and also the maintenance work. We guaranteed to you nothing will happen and just enjoy the stay which you did. You stayed, utilized our room, facilities, environment and our complimentary breakfast (we could not provide breakfast as per individuals requirement). Flies are seasonal on this island we have taken all necessity precaution to eliminate these flies and we had many guests who had breakfast without flies.
On the morning of check-out you told us if we have refunded cash you would have stayed in Pangkor Laut knowing very well the cheapest when you inquired it was RM 1500.00 and you told too expensive.

We are sorry if you choose to have an unpleasant holiday and we did what we could to make your stay well remembered. Our humble apologizes.

Regards!
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This resort is pretty basic, The rooms are quite spacious, quite clean but wasn't expecting much as it's cheap. It's a small resort. My only negative point is that they need to clean the pool. I didn't let my children swim in it, the pool water was cloudy!! It's only 5 mins from the ferry terminal, but it's got a really quiet and clean beach, which is what I like. But if you're into lively beach life, then avoid Pangkor Island. There's really not much to do there apart from sunbathing. The sea is warm, but not so clear (it's in the straits of Malacca) so the water is murky. We were there for only a couple of nights as there's really not much to do on the island and also not many places to eat. However we did find a fab seafood restaurant, which only opens 2 or 3 times a week. Looks shabby and uninviting but the food is delicious and cheap. It's next to the Coral Bay resort. It looks like a shack, on a dirt road, but it is fantastic. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a super deluxe even if there are only 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blumoonbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort. Thank you for your kind review regarding the pool condition. Our pool cleaning is done daily in the morning and regret it wasn’t clean for your children to swim. We wished if only you had mentioned it here we could have done the cleaning immediately to your satisfaction. Sometimes after a heavy rain the water could differ for awhile, nevertheless we will still take your issue seriously and look into improving the condition every morning.
Thank you
Regards..
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It is a clean hotel but be careful to ask for right rooms. because some rooms are facing to backyard and the door opens in Lobby. I reserved 3 rooms and were clean but in diff places as they said that these are the only remained rooms.
The swimming pool is small but good specially for children.

Room Tip: Don't choose room facing to backyard or opening to Lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HasDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest Greetings and we appreciate your review. The room which is located near and above the lobby is our standard rooms. We have three variations of standard room and spread in the main building. The Management is taking efforts to make these rooms more favourable towards our quest requirement.
Hope to see you again in the near future...
Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location
Location is good and it faces the sea. Only RM10 from the jetty via van. Just a walk outside the hotel and there's plenty of restaurants and convenience shops.

Rooms
First of all, don't go for the rooms in second floor. We booked the Standard Rooms and were given the rooms on the second floor (I think it was at wings starting with G - cannot remember). There were only 2 units and you would think there's privacy of some sort.

We opened the room and for a brief moment there was the smell of wet carpet. The room was carpeted, as opposed to the thought of tiles. As we walked in, with a feel of the grimy carpet, the room was warm and the floors creaked. Yup, we believed that the flooring beneath the carpet is of creaky wood. So any accidental loud stamping would be heard.

After a while we got used to the carpet. It could have been that our feet were sweaty.

Asides the TV and fridge, which had constant electricity, everything else needed the key to activate. There was a dusty standing fan, which we used to cool down the room when the air conditioner wasn't cool enough.

The wardrobe had a safe and the safe door would not close properly. One of us got hit by the door because of this malfunction of some sort while getting things from our luggages.

Be careful not to leave sweet stuff around. Black ants will appear out of nowhere very fast.

There's only enough space to leave a mattress. Since we were on the second floor, the hotel was not able to provide a bed. They provided sheets and a blanket for the extra mattress.

Toilets
Toilets are clean and decent. Hot water available.

Amenities
The hotel provides 2 bottles of water every day. Beach towels are thin and worn out and bath towels are ok. Sheets are clean and good enough to sleep on.

Breakfast
Decent spread. There's a surprise of Indian delicacy. On Saturday we had thosai while on Sunday we had puri, I think. However, careful of mouldy breads, which some of my friends noted and dirty cups.

Swimming pool
The best place to hang around is the pool. About 1.3m which is suitable for kids too. Enough lounges with umbrellas to hang around. Pool closes at 10pm.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor, facing the pool. We took a peek and it seems that those rooms were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisheruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Misheru,

Warmest Greetings and thank you very much for your constructive reviews.
We are actually changing in phase the flooring of all the first floor rooms to concrete floor and replacing higher quality carpet. Once it’s completed I believe the rooms will be more conducive.
In a hot daytime basically the air-con will take a little while to cool the room and that’s when the stand-fan comes useful. Our housekeeping staffs have been clearly instructed to be more alert on the fan, safe deposit box etc, etc and to avoid such situation in future.
All other matters highlighted have been rectified immediately and without your we would not have noticed.
Once again thank you for your useful reviews and looking forward to having you again.
Cheers & Regards.
William Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a chalet near the sea. Everything was clean, the boss was friendly. The swimming pool is nice and clean. The beach nearby is however a bit dirty and not the most beautiful on the island. It is recomanded to hire a motocycle to go to other beaches.
We recommend this address in Pangkor! Probably one of the best on this island!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It was very very nice of you to give us positive reviews. We are glad that you had a good vacation. There will be more to offer in the future. I personally thank you for recommending us here in Tripadvisor and looking forward to seeing you back with us soon.
Regards.
Willliam Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. There were lots of good things, it was relaxing, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the café is open air with a beach view which was lovely, much better than being stuck in an air conditioned café as you really felt like you were on holiday. Gardens are nice and helped the overall feel of the property. Our room and the hotel in general was clean and well managed. We had a problem with our safe and it was fixed immediately no wait at all. The breakfast was good, certainly enough variety for a normal person. We stayed in a beachfront chalet and they are great to just sit on the balcony and relax and read or watch the beach activities. The beachfront chalets of course are exposed to noise from the beach, we stayed during the week and it was only occasionally noisy but nothing that stopped us relaxing. The weekends and school holidays would be noisier. We enjoyed it and would definitely come back. Eating tip, for dinner visit Yee Lin Chinese restaurant, 10 minutes leisurely walk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwi4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your honest reviews and delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards.
Williama Joseph Pillai (RM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
0.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.7 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Address: 30, Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new 3-star beachfront resort lies in Pasir Bogak, just minutes away from the jetty. Here, you'll discover an enchantment: a resort that is nestled amidst a golden beach, sparkling waters and captivating serenity that is simply beckoning. Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort at Pasir Bogak promises a deeply relaxing holiday under the lure of the irresistible sun, sea and sand. It is true gem and this is the place you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Sandy Beach Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing