We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for escapade”
Review of Nipah Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nipah Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Everything's fine and mostly perfect, except for the blanket that is quite small for a queen size bed, and it's a little "fury" (or poky).
But overall, I love it! I like it too when the owners came out and have a little chit chat with the guests during breakfast hours. =)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank january0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Alicia and her husband are excellent hosts. Got a courtesy call on the way there asking what time we expected to arrive so the air conditioning could be on. Place is spotlessly clean and tidy. Accommodation is basic - but all works well. Cook your own breakfast concept works well. Wifi also seemed to be effective. Friendly hornbill who likes bread and is a daily visitor a definite bonus. Lots of advice on where to go and things to do. Very popular so recommend to book well in advance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 10Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The best place we stayed in so far in Malaysia. Super clean, nice staff, absolutely the best price/quality ratio you can find. Alicia is a very welcoming hostess. Original breakfast formula of very good quality. Free coffee and tea all day long and warm and cold drinking water 24h/24! Bedding and sheets and towels of good quality. Good swimming pool with a lot of nice spaces to sit around. Absolutely well maintained place and Anuar, the owner is constantly improving the place. Alicia and Anuar prefer quality over quantity! They really deserve the best reviews!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmbfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Alicia and Anuar have worked really hard to create a really delightful little guesthouse. I almost don't want to write this review in case it means it gets too busy to stay there again! It's excellent value for money (and I mean excellent, especially if you are a Westerner converting £ or Euro), it's spotlessly clean and they are superb hosts, along with their sweet daughter and Foxy the cat!

FACILITIES: The pool area is lovely to relax in, and deserted when we stayed there (off-peak), although I imagine it would be very different in holiday season - I know which I prefer! There are some sun loungers under shade, as well as the poolside itself in the sun. Nipah beach is just at the end of the road from the guesthouse, and Coral beach is a 10 min walk away, but worth it.

FOOD: Breakfast is a DIY buffet from 8-10.30am each day, with all the food and cooking utensils provided - a simple but very effective concept. There is also a fridge for residents to store any items they want to, which is handy. You can also relax in the dining area during the day, as it is quiet and nicely shaded from the sun. Hornbills will come and take food from you there, and they are very endearing birds. Just don't feed the monkeys!

ROOMS: Unless you are very close friends/family, or on a really tight budget, I'd say pick the room option bigger than specified for your group. We were 3, but found the Chalet a bit too small, so moved to the Guesthouse, which has 2 bedrooms and a separate living room space, compared to just 1 bedroom and no other living rooms in the Chalet. The rooms have AC and fans, even though we agreed the AC was too cold to keep on and made do with just the ceiling fans. The en-suite showers are cold (tepid) water, but Pangkor is pretty hot, so it's not an issue.

I highly recommend Nipah Guesthouse. As long as you don't book when I want to go again! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L_J_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have come to Nipah Guesthouse and it feels good to be back. Nipah Guesthouse is a relaxing place that is just steps from the beach. It is very well kept and very clean. The whole setting is warm and showcases Malaysian hospitality. The do it yourself breakfast buffet is a refreshing idea and has everything one would expect. I can recommend this place highly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ServicedApartmentsKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Nipah Guesthouse met all our expectations of a relaxing family retreat. We were greeted by Alicia when we arrived and were pleasantly surprised when she told us she has turned on the air conditioning in the rooms for us to cool down as it was a hot day. She must have timed our arrival from the call she made earlier informing our rooms are ready and wished us a safe journey. The owners (Anuar and Alicia) are friendly down-to-earth couple who are always there to help. Loved their little details and antique deco. So quaint and cozy. Rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed there for 2 nights at the 2-bedroom guesthouse. It was perfect for our family of five. Although the shower is not heated, it doesn't bother us as the water was just nice after a day out in the sun, sand and sea. The scenic walk to Coral Beach is a must to experience tropical greens and village surroundings. Be prepare to meet with monkeys, hornbills and countless cats along the way.

Room Tip: Guestroom with 2-bedroom is spacious for a family with kids (max 6pax)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AreIsaRegFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I traveled with a group of 8 and we had a great time staying at Nipah Guesthouse. The owners made us feel very welcomed. Place has all the basics you need for the price you pay and more- the hospitality. Rooms are clean and comfortable, has a great wading pool area to chill and a comfortably sized common area for guests to eat, chill out and get to know each other including the resident cat Foxy.
It is within near reach of the main Nipah bay beach front so food and amenities are not a problem.

Overall a great place, and will definitely return again when opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EugeneYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.2 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
0.1 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#4 of 14 in Pangkor
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipah Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipah Guesthouse

Address: Lot 4506 Teluk Nipah, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipah Guesthouse is a small and humble family-run guesthouse located in Nipah Bay and is a 5-minute walk from Nipah Beach and a 10-minute walk from Coral Beach. It offers tastefully decorated accommodation nestled in peaceful low-density surroundings. Each cosy room at Nipah Guesthouse Pangkor is fitted with attached bathroom and shower, air-condition, LCD TV and free wifi. There is an outdoor dipping pool and 4 cabanas for our in-house guests to use at any time. Guests will feel 'Home Away From Home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nipah Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipah Guesthouse Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing