We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Nipah Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nipah Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at Nipah Guesthouse and had a great relaxing time.

The cottages are very roomy although the pictures make them look quite small. The pool and sun bed area is beautifully crafted and well looked after by Anwar (excuse me if the spelling is incorrect). Breakfast is 'cook yourself' and is a very good idea, especially if you like runny eggs!

The island itself is pretty and underdeveloped. We hired a scooter one day to explore the island which was fun. Coral Bay is lovely which isn't a far walk at all from the guesthouse.

The only thing lacking (which surprised us) is nice cheap restaurants, hardly anything is open during the week and especially not at lunch time, Alicia and Anwar can recommend a few places though.

From what we saw of the island, Nipah Guesthouse looked like the best place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emilyandgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our third visit to Nipah Guesthouse and it gets better each time !

Anuar & Alicia run a great place, friendly but respectful of your privacy, helpful and considerate and now with a fantastic swimming pool - we're so glad were able to visit again but sad that we couldn't stay longer.

It's advertised as a home from home and 1TravellingSteve's review below describes the place perfectly.

Highly recommended & look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cornish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I have been traveling since 4 Oct 2013. We needed a break at a beach type place to relax and unwind. We picked Nipah Guesthouse based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews are spot on. Alicia and Anuar, the owners, are extremely friendly and welcoming. The entire facility is spotless. The pool looks very new and inviting. The "cook it yourself" breakfast is well stocked and very tasty. It also creates an atmosphere where guests get to talking and share travel stories. The guest house sits a short walk down a side street, so there's no traffic noise. In fact, there's no noise at all at night. All in all, just the relaxing break we were looking for. One thing not to miss, every night at 6:30 PM, about a 2 minute walk going towards the beach, a gentleman feeds the horn bills banana pieces. He lets random people hold up banana and the horn bills pluck them gently, making for great photos.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Travelingsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Never been at a place where I felt so welcome from the first minute!! Actually already started before the vacation, when receiving useful information via Mail and Facebook.
The owners were most welcoming and made the stay a dream. Everything was clean and in good condition. After staying 10 days and having a good look around the villlage I must say, that there is no better place around Nipah.
Would, and already did, recommend this place to anyone who likes to stay in a relaxed atmosphere with FANTASTIC owners!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwilym1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Everything's fine and mostly perfect, except for the blanket that is quite small for a queen size bed, and it's a little "fury" (or poky).
But overall, I love it! I like it too when the owners came out and have a little chit chat with the guests during breakfast hours. =)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank january0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Alicia and her husband are excellent hosts. Got a courtesy call on the way there asking what time we expected to arrive so the air conditioning could be on. Place is spotlessly clean and tidy. Accommodation is basic - but all works well. Cook your own breakfast concept works well. Wifi also seemed to be effective. Friendly hornbill who likes bread and is a daily visitor a definite bonus. Lots of advice on where to go and things to do. Very popular so recommend to book well in advance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 10Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The best place we stayed in so far in Malaysia. Super clean, nice staff, absolutely the best price/quality ratio you can find. Alicia is a very welcoming hostess. Original breakfast formula of very good quality. Free coffee and tea all day long and warm and cold drinking water 24h/24! Bedding and sheets and towels of good quality. Good swimming pool with a lot of nice spaces to sit around. Absolutely well maintained place and Anuar, the owner is constantly improving the place. Alicia and Anuar prefer quality over quantity! They really deserve the best reviews!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmbfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.7 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
1.2 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#4 of 14 in Pangkor
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipah Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipah Guesthouse

Address: Lot 4506 Teluk Nipah, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipah Guesthouse is a small and humble family-run guesthouse located in Nipah Bay and is a 5-minute walk from Nipah Beach and a 10-minute walk from Coral Beach. It offers tastefully decorated accommodation nestled in peaceful low-density surroundings. Each cosy room at Nipah Guesthouse Pangkor is fitted with attached bathroom and shower, air-condition, LCD TV and free wifi. There is an outdoor dipping pool and 4 cabanas for our in-house guests to use at any time. Guests will feel 'Home Away From Home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nipah Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipah Guesthouse Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing