We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best place we had ever stayed!”
Review of Nipah Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nipah Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in the A-framed cottage. It was really a beautiful room.

This guesthouse is fantastic. The entire place is well-maintained, peaceful, clean and elegant. The waist-deep dipping pool is big enough to swim from one end to the other end. The people are really nice and welcoming. A lovely couple (Anuar and Alicia) own and run the place by themselves. They are really passionate and sincere in providing a comfortable and peaceful stay for their guests. They gave us all the information that we need on emails before arrival. The breakfast is nice (self-service). Lots of Horn-bills around.

There's no good coffee on the island. Maybe it is available at some of the 4/5 star hotel's restaurants. So if you can't stay away from good coffee for a few days, you might want to bring some good coffee with you to make it yourself. If you are a tea drinker, then bring along your favorite teabags with you.

There's not much to see or do on Pangkor Island. Staying at a nice guesthouse is the best thing to do at Pangkor Island.

This is definitely one of the best place we had ever stayed.

Strongly recommended if you are travelling to Pangkor Island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wintermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

First island is small. Small relax gateway. Experience of feeding so many hornbill was fun. Coming to nipah guesthouse. It's great place to stay. Small comfortable cozy. Our hostess Alicia was too good. She made our stay memorable. Along with hornbills of course. Breakfast you have to make. But it was fun doing away from home. Chalet were nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Souvikroy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This lovely little guesthouse is so perfectly run and lovingly cared for it stands out amongst all the rundown, depressing and ramshackle offerings on Pangkor island. Everything is well done. The pool is surrounded by shaded cabanas and sunbeds, and the garden is gorgeous, unlike all the other guesthouses where there is nowhere to sit around. The breakfast is fantastic. It is a help yourself affair with fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, etc, coffee and tea is on offer all through the day and the delightful young owners make sure that you have everything you need. The small AFrame huts are compact but as there are plenty of places to hang around outside it is not much of a problem. If it is there is a choice of well kept air conditioned larger rooms. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank melumbagoiskillingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here 4 nights in one of the cottages.
Though not very roomy, the size is good enough. The room, actually the whole place is spotless clean. Pangkor island is explored in one day, so we spent the rest of our stay at the pool. The pool area, like every area in this place, is beautifully decorated and there are plenty of beachchaires to relax on.
The fact that there is no hot water in te shower didnt bother us at all, because of the yearround hot weather.

We really loved the DIY breakfast, a great, original concept. There is a big fridge for guests to keep your grocaries cool.
But wat we liked the most was the warm presence and the hospitality of the owners. Anwar and Alicia take care of their guests in any possible way. Other hotel/ b&b owners can learn from them. Keep up the good work!

One restaurant tip: the Horizon is just around the corner if you turn right on the main street, couple of minutes walking distance. Good western/ chinese food!

Cheers
Moosa & Kim

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The guesthouse is really a very particular spot in Malaysia. Alicia and Anuar are superb hosts and the cosy guesthouse and the entire area is fantastically well kept. Nipah Guesthouse is only a couple of minutes away from the beach and from the main restaurants. The owners are always around and give great help to any needs and concerns. It was a wonderful stay and if we come back to Malaysia, Nipah Guesthouse will definitely be one of the major stays. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas_heilig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had 2 very nice nights at the Nipah Guesthouse in one of the A frame cottages. We loved the low key, but well run atmosphere and thought it was good value. The setting around the sparkling clean pool is very relaxing, including 4 shade "cabanas" that we spent an afternoon under in mixed tropical rainstorms. The host Alicia was helpful and welcoming, and the do it yourself breakfast was just what you need. Pangkor Island and Teluh Nipah has a village feel (at least on weekdays) and was more like a car free Thai island such as Koh Tau. We rented bicycles and loved circling the island and experiencing the real fishing villages on the east side of the island. It's only scooters and a few cars/pink taxi vans. If you are wondering whether to work in Pangkor into your itinerary (as we were), go for few weekdays and enjoy the chill vibe.

Room Tip: The cottages are cozy but face the pool area so I think better than the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richtraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at Nipah Guesthouse and had a great relaxing time.

The cottages are very roomy although the pictures make them look quite small. The pool and sun bed area is beautifully crafted and well looked after by Anwar (excuse me if the spelling is incorrect). Breakfast is 'cook yourself' and is a very good idea, especially if you like runny eggs!

The island itself is pretty and underdeveloped. We hired a scooter one day to explore the island which was fun. Coral Bay is lovely which isn't a far walk at all from the guesthouse.

The only thing lacking (which surprised us) is nice cheap restaurants, hardly anything is open during the week and especially not at lunch time, Alicia and Anwar can recommend a few places though.

From what we saw of the island, Nipah Guesthouse looked like the best place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emilyandgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.2 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
0.1 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#3 of 14 in Pangkor
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipah Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipah Guesthouse

Address: Lot 4506 Teluk Nipah, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nipah Guesthouse is a small and humble family-run guesthouse located in Nipah Bay and is a 5-minute walk from Nipah Beach and a 10-minute walk from Coral Beach. It offers tastefully decorated accommodation nestled in peaceful low-density surroundings. Each cosy room at Nipah Guesthouse Pangkor is fitted with attached bathroom and shower, air-condition, LCD TV and free wifi. There is an outdoor dipping pool and 4 cabanas for our in-house guests to use at any time. Guests will feel 'Home Away From Home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nipah Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nipah Guesthouse Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing