We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended for Pangkor Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Ranked #7 of 18 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Spent a night at this hotel after my wife and I made a last minute decision to have a weekend getaway from the city. As most of the branded hotels and resorts were fully booked, the only other option left for us was to search for a simple hotel. Thanks to all the helpful reviewers here in TA, it only took us a few minutes to decide our hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and after dropped our bags in the room, we informed Simon (the young owner) that we wanted to rent a motorbike to travel out for dinner. Simon went to his neighbor hotel to try to get us a bike but were told that all the bikes had been rented out. That left us either get a taxi or take a 20mins walk to Pasir Bogak (where most of the good seafood restaurants are). Simon knew that we had a long and tiring drive and a pair of growling stomachs. Hence, he insisted to give us a complimentary ride to the restaurant. Talk about service! We've stayed in quite a number of 4-5* hotels and not many of them can even come close to this level of expectation especially in Malaysia.

p/s : He also gave us a ride the next day to his friend's bike rental shop in the town area.

As for the room, I could only agree with what most of the reviewers have pointed out. For me, clean and simple are the two best words to describe it. We especially love the shower because of the high water pressure.

The only downside we've experienced during our stay here would be their 'main road facing room'. The noise pollution from the motorbikes at the main road can be very bad especially at night and morning. We were unlucky to be placed in one of these rooms.

If you're planning to stay in BestStay, do take note that this hotel is located at Pangkor Town (about 5mins walk from Pangkor Jetty) and 25mins walk to the beach. Also, if possible, try not to get their front room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

From the ferry to the hotel is just a short walk. The room and bathroom were clean. It looks all modern, and there are two good moviechannels on television. Very friendly and helpfull staff.
When you have a room at the frontside of the hotel, you will hear the noise of the motorcycles at the road. Unfortunately there is no laundry service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaatje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at the Best Stay Hotel with a group of friends and would have loved to stay longer. the staff, the rooms and the service was some the best I had experienced after traveling around the world for a year. The family treated us as their family and I would definitely go back the next time I'm in Malaysia!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rport19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Beautiful, clean, new, safe hotel. Delightful staff, close to beach and resturants. Staff will help you with anything you need.
I went with my friends, a large group of 20-somethings and each of us loved our experience. Located with the native culture all around but you'd never guess when you are in your guest room or in the lobby, those are 1st class. It does need more channels on the guest room tvs.

Room Tip: Amazing staff, clean, safe,w/d to beach.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Best Stay Hotel recently. It is a small hotel located within walking distance to the jetty, hence you won't need to pay extra for a cab. We hired a scooter from Island Hotel, just two doors away. The best way to go around the island is by scooter. Although the hotel is basic - it is very clean and has good air-cond in the room. The hotel also provide free wi-fi. Steven (the receptionist/manager) was extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there again. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Being worldtravellers and on our second round-the-world trip, we have been staying in many different types of accomodation for the last six months. We usually read reviews of hotels before we book, through different hotelwebsites and on Tripadvisor. And we chose this hotel because of the good reviews. We really enjoyed our stay at the Best Stay hotel in Pangkor Island. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the jetty, with shops and restaurants/stalls easily accessible. A walk to the beach on the other side of the island takes about 25 minutes, but there are many other transport options. The room, though basic and small, was well assigned and very clean. There is a common area where one can get hot or cold water for drinking, a wash basin to do small washes, and an area where one can dry clothes. The only thing we missed was a fridge in the room,but that wasn't a big issue as we could use the fridge in the reception area. Simon, the manager, runs the place very well and gave us usefull information about the island. He was really helpful, friendly and responsive to all our questions. The housekeeping staff were also very polite and friendly. We certainly recommend this hotel for budget travellers who need a nice, clean and centrally located place to explore Pangkor Island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomandTina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My family spent three days' holiday at Pangkor Island last Christmas and we stayed in this hotel. We were overwhelmed by the friendly and homely service. As this was our first trip to the Island, the advices and suggestions given by Simon, the young owner were very helpful which made our stay in the Island very relaxing and memorable holiday. Keep it up. Tey & family.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeyHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.8 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Suria Beach Resort
Suria Beach Resort
#11 of 18 in Pangkor
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#4 of 14 in Pangkor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island

Address: Lot 55 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range: £15 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beststay Hotel is a cosy and affordable hotel located in the heart of Pangkor Island. Well designed and furnished, the hotel has a simple and clean decor which exude an aura of cosy comfort. Here you can find almost everything you need for good relaxation and entertainment. The hotel is located about 120 metres away from the Pangkor Ferry Jetty, 5 minutes walk to the town center and 3 minutes away from the nearest beach by taxi. Taxi is easily available and travel to any location in Pangkor Island is a breeze from the hotel because of its location. Outings & Recreations can be arranged for you by request.Facilities & FeaturesModern room amenities include:- individually controllable air-conditioning- bathroom with cold/hot shower- LCD TV with Astro channelsHotel Facilities:- High-speed wireless Internet access.- cold/hot drinking water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing