We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at BestStay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Ranked #5 of 17 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay at BestStay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

I had a great two nights at BestStay. It's a really close walk from the ferry, which was convenient with my big backpack! And the couple who run the place was super nice. They suggested some nice places to eat, which I tried and was happy with. They also upgraded me to a bigger room with a window which was great! AC worked great, and the bed was big and clean as was the room. I exchanged lots of head nods and smiles with the housekeeper who was very sweet.

The TV, although it only has three channels, had two movie channels and I got to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy and other fun movies after a long day scooter-ing around the island.

Thanks for a nice time!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and Rachel as we booked into the Beststay Hotel.
He arranged us a special discount price which we did not expect.

We chose this location rather than the beach side of the island as we enjoy mixing with the locals and walking to explore the area.

We actually walked round the whole island. This was facilitated by Simon who took us in his car the first evening for an orientation tour pointing out the best restaurants and beaches to enhance our 5 day stay there.

The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, lots of nice hot water. There need to be a few wall hooks and shelves applied which Simon says he will be doing.

A charming couple, a lovely hotel, well situated on a beautiful little as yet unspoilt island though better to visit during the week as prices go up at weekdays and school holidays.

Room Tip: Maybe the 3rd floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We booked 5 rooms during our recent visit to Pangkor Island. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes stroll from the jetty. The hotel is situated at the town area, and the staffs/owner were extremely friendly and accommodating. There are some food stalls around walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel is quite new, with good air-conditioning. The rooms were very clean with all the basic facilities, attached bathroom with shower and tv, although the room was a bit small. The rates for the rooms are slightly higher, and it's understandable as Pangkor being a tourist area.

Overall, we were happy with our stay at Best Hotel. Recommend for backpackers, although slightly further away from the main beaches of Pangkor. Would stay at Best Stay Hotel if ever we are in Pangkor.

Visited in October 2012.

Room Tip: Hotel has no lift, rooms at the back have windows, but near to mosque, so the call for prayers can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yeap C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I'm expecting a very clean hotel and this hotel nailed it. I took the room at the back which is facing the mosque. I don't feel its noisy though. They have filtered hot and room temperature water outside the room. Bathroom is clean with hot water shower. Clean towel, shampoo and shower gel provided. LCD TV have movie channel round the clock. You need to climb stairs to your room.

From Jetty to hotel is a short walk. You might feel the traffic a bit intimidating due to lack of pedestrian walk but actually its ok once you get passed the bridge.

Food is everywhere. In town which is the right side of the hotel when you walk out, you have nice chicken/duck rice. The curry mee is same as the one in Kuala Lumpur. On the left hand side of the hotel, you also can find some hawker food. I heard the curry mee not bad.

Town will be decorated with lights at night but most of the shop closed. I saw a shop open but I didn't go in.

Room Tip: Room behind facing mosque. You might get morning call. But if you soundly asleep, I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiankok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were delighted with our few nights at Simon's BestStay hotel in Pangkor township, just a short walk from the ferry. It is a simple place, but all we needed. Everything was very clean and the shower was exceptional. We didn't have a window, but were out all day exploring the island, the best thing to do. I think other rooms may have had windows, but were noisier. Very few budget priced hotels have window views. Was it around $25-$30 - not sure. Bikes were available for hire and the hotel management was happy to try and accommodate every whim. They even drove us here and there if they were free. Unfortunately, the pillows were too high for me, a problem I found all over Malaysia. They are only trying to give us the best! There was a big self-service laundry and drying area. The mosque is close by, so there is the call to prayer, but we were getting used to this by now. A $10 taxi ride will take you to the beaches further round the island, but a closer beach is a good walk away. You can also take a long walk to the Dutch Fort or up to the Buddhist temple. We found Pangkor Curry House just near the ferry a great place for breakfast. Nothing like a good roti pisang! I'd be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a windows, but are closer to the mosque. Rooms at the front are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice family ambience. Room are clean nd staff are friendly. Close to town but need a cab to the nearest beach. Overall rating - very good! From William, Adeline, Elaine, Eunice, Vtik

Room Tip: Use your common sense
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeline_leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I spent 4 nights in the "apartments" of BESTSTAY with 50 travel-mates. We just finished traveling around the world for 11 months and BESTSTAY really has been one of the BEST. The hotel is clean, spacious, GREAT AirCon, wonderfully fast internet. And my favorite, the owners. Probably the most helpful and happy couple ever. They hooked us up with amazing places to eat, spend our time, rent motos etc. If you are coming to Pangkor Island, I highly recommend BESTSTAY!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.0 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.8 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#5 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island

Property: Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Address: Lot 55 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beststay Hotel is a cosy and affordable hotel located in the heart of Pangkor Island. Well designed and furnished, the hotel has a simple and clean decor which exude an aura of cosy comfort. Here you can find almost everything you need for good relaxation and entertainment. The hotel is located about 120 metres away from the Pangkor Ferry Jetty, 5 minutes walk to the town center and 3 minutes away from the nearest beach by taxi. Taxi is easily available and travel to any location in Pangkor Island is a breeze from the hotel because of its location. Outings & Recreations can be arranged for you by request.Facilities & FeaturesModern room amenities include:- individually controllable air-conditioning- bathroom with cold/hot shower- LCD TV with Astro channelsHotel Facilities:- High-speed wireless Internet access.- cold/hot drinking water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing