We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"You Won't Regret It.."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pangkor Guesthouse SPK
Ranked #2 of 17 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"You Won't Regret It.."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

3D2N in Pangkor Island won't be the same if you choose to stay in Pangkor Guesthouse.. Located only approximately 8 blocks from the Sg.Pinang Kecil jetty, which only takes 2 minutes walking duration. You can feel the serenity, the scent of the wood from the guesthouse, and it is very comfortable.. Even the balcony is nice.. It's like you have a siblings or relatives in Pangkor when you met the owner, Joyce.. She is friendly, cheerful, and a sweet lady too.. You will feel like you are one of the local people when you stay there.. Trust me, it's based on my experience and is my genuine opinion of this guesthouse.. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: room no.3 and no.4 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I was in Pangkor from 22 May - 25 May. I was glad that I booked this guest house for my accommodation. The guest house has a 'homely' feel to it, definitely the best choice for a lazy holiday on the island compared to the overpriced resorts. Though not within walking distance to the beaches, the guest house is walk-able from the jetty and is surrounded by locals and many food places. The room is reasonable and clean, and the host (Joyce) is very friendly and helpful.

Overall, I will recommend this place for travellers who like to experience local culture as oppose to having an exclusive and private beach holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

i stayed here for three night in December while travelling in Malaysia, a Dutch couple in a hostel in Melaka told me about this place. The guesthouse is clean and nice and the owner really tries to make the extra effort to make the guests feel comfortable. She worried a bit about me finding food, i don't think she is used to getting female solo travelers :-) The guesthouse is situated in a chinese fishingvillage, away from the beaches, but i personally really enjoyed getting away from backpackers and tourists for a few days. Joyce gave me a tour of the chinese village.There is a second, malay fishing village, interesting to see how different the style of housing and the way of living is between malay and chinese. one road runs around the island with local people racing on their motorcycles at full speed. there is a Dutch fort, some beachresorts with mostly malay families swimming (i was there during the week, i guess the tourists from the city come during the weekends) and lots of jungle with tropical birds and the occasional monkey coming out of it to steal from the garbage heap.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joycePangkor, Owner at Pangkor Guesthouse SPK, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I usually take care more for solo traveler and those guests who have different diet from normal.
For solo traveler, you will not feel alone if you choose to stay with me in my guesthouse.
For those who cannot take certain food, you got to let me know, so that I can guide you to hunt for the food that suit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Joyce, the owner of the place, took care of everything she could to make our stay as pleasant as possible while visiting Pangkor.
Her guesthouse is, currently, the only one in SPK and nevertheless the best option in the island if you want to avoid the touristic zones.

We felt absolutely welcomed by all the staff in the guesthouse.
The room was more than adequate and we couldn't find any single issue. It was, simply put, great.

We really hope the place will keep the charm it transpires nowadays. The ambiance was great and people gentle to us.
This guesthouse is definitely a place to stay if you want to have a cozy trip to Pangkor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFQueralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed for one night and enjoyed it.
The room is small, clean and neat. Nothing to complain for just RM80 a night.
Very good location, just 5 mins walk from nearest jetty. Near to coffee shops and local restaurants.
During our stay, a little girl (neighbor of SPK guesthouse) offered to be our tour guide. She is only 8 or 10 years old. She brought us to feed wild boar, short leisure walk in the fisherman village, visited an old abandoned local cinema and told us funny stories!

Rented a motorbike for RM25 for one day. It took us less than 2 hours to round the island. Don't recall seeing a traffic light. So, the ride was seamless. Most of the riders in this island are very polite, no honking or harassing.

If you are an avid comic lovers. This will be a wonderful spot for you. Joyce has a nice and cozy library on 1st floor. Mostly are chinese comic books. Good place to rest, read and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was wonderful! Joyce is the most fabulous host, organising a bike and giving us a brilliant map. She also showed us around the village which we wouldn't have been able to do otherwise. Great street food, we were advised where to go.
Clean decent room, aircon and quiet. Speedy wifi.
This place is not near the beach but worth visiting to stay in a Chinese Malay community. If you het off the ferry at the SPK stop, its a 2 min walk. Unfortunatly jetty was closed for us on 28th Jan so we had to get off at the town and get a taxi.
Book directly through Joyce for better rate : 017-5074728

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Various
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

First off. This guesthouse will suit those looking for a real authentic Malay/Chinese experience. It's what we were looking for and we were glad we found it here. The guesthouse is nice and new. Joyce is a great host. She happily showed us all around the community and once she realised we love local food there was no end to the new foods we got to try. Some of the best food we had in Malaysia was in this little village. Also for those wanting to go to the beach and are worried about staying here - we still wnet to the beach every day from here. its not that far and the culture here is worth the extra 10 minutes. We stayed here for nearly a week and wish was longer. Still one of the highlights of our 6 months in Asia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.2 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.7 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Guesthouse SPK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Guesthouse SPK

Property: Pangkor Guesthouse SPK
Address: 22 Jalan Tepi Laut Sungai Pinang Kecil | SPK village, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pangkor Guesthouse SPK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
near to SPK pier or jetty, centre of local fishing village. with local food surrounding at whole day. Free fish feeding and other wild life watching for our guests, other activities and transportation can be arranged. free map and guide from local hosts. eco-design and eco-tourismn is encauraged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Pangkor Guesthouse SPK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing