We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“run down”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

me and my friend got caught up by an agent at Lumut Ferry Station and offered a 10% discount for this place...
we have been rather disappointed by the shabby look of the place which one day may have seen better times ...
carpet cleaning at the poolsite on the weekend..
poor service for breakfast ...

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank asian_traveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    61
    29
    21
See reviews for
86
27
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2007

last holiday me and my family visited Pangkor Island, we stayed at Coral Bay Resort.the loddy looked lavished,like a five star hotel, later after chekin in v were taken to our apartments, v had to pass the swimming pool to get to our apartments,the life was small, only few of us could get in.as v got of the life there was a very bad smell ,as v walked towards our room,the smell of birds [--] was there,eventough the opening was covered,the smell was still there, whn v enter our room,it was nice looking,with a hall,dining area,a small kitchen ,a small walk way whrere one can dry the clothes,there were 3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms. in one of the room,the aircon was open,it really did not look nice,the toilets were ok,not so clean,but usable.there was alot of dust on the table and chairs.the bedsheets were not very clean (not white),it is advisable to bring along your own small light bedsheet.even the pillow case were not clean,luckly we brought extra bedsheets to cover the beds. the service given was good.just the rooms were not that clean. food wise,there are lots of restaurant around pangkor,go around and eat, you night enjoy the food in the restaurants.

  • Liked — the souveniour shop
  • Disliked — the corridor
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2007

My friends and i had planned to go to pangkor at the last minute, we had four days to plan it. one of them that was kind of leading the group had booked us a two bed room apartment at coral bay resort. He said that he had stayed there before and that it wasnt that bad, that it was ok. i checked tripadvisor and i read the two reviews and that made me a little afraid. so i told the him about the reviews but he said that he already paid for it and that it wasnt that bad.
we bought transnasional bus tickets from puduraya kl to lumut, one way costs rm18.70 so to and fro cost us rm 37.40. he told the group that the ferry tickets would only cost rm2. when we got the a lady apporched us and told us to buy the tickets that cost rm10. she hasselesed us when we did not want to buy them. my friend was adament that they only cost rm2. so we walked towards the jeti when another lady apporched us and offered rm8 per person, we walked away from her. then she came rushing up to us and offered 10 tickets to and fro for rm 70. we could see that the ferry was leaving and we wanted to get to pangkor so we took them. when we arrived teh 10 of us took a taxi to coral bay resort it cost rm10. we checked in and i was surpirsed when informed that i had to give rm 100 as a security deposit luckily i had enough money on me. we then went to our room the interesting was that the balcony had the "backs" of the 3 air cons, i dont know the proper word for it, in the apartment. so it was really warm and over the next two days we hung all our laundry there and everything was crisp within hours. by the time we settled in it was 2pm and we were starving, so we decided to have lunch. my friend had said there were stalls by the beach, then only i realised the reasons why the room was so cheap, rm480 for two nights was because this was not a beach front hotel, we had to take a short walk to the beach. the beach was quite sad looking. it was clean, there was not rubbish everywhere and the ocean wasnt dirty looking but it overall was not the beautiful beach i imagined it to be. and there was a food stall in sight, we talked to some ppl and were told that we had to go to town to have lunch as the stalls only oped after 6pm.
so we went back to town had lunch and bought biscuits and lots of water then we went back to the hotel, dumped our stuff and headed for the beach. for dinner we ate at a restaurant nearby the hotel as the stalls on the beacj were still notopen. dinner was quite nice and cheap, for 10pax it only cost rm65 including chinese tea as drinks, we had about 4refills of tea and two or three huge bowls of rice.
we decided to go snorkelling but only 8 of us would be snorkelling and two would just be taking the boat tour. it cost rm10 each for the boat tour and extra rm5 for snorkelling gear. we wnet from 9 to about 12noon. we didnt bother with lunch and decided to go for an island tour. it cost rm 80 for the whole van which could have taken 10 ppl but only 8 wanted to go so it was rm7.50 each. the taxi driver took us around the island pointe dout beaches and cheap hotels, he dropped us off at two temples and a factory that sold the islands fish and seafood products also the dutch fort. also we had asked to be stopped at the town to restock before heading back to the hotel.
we decided to have dinner at this hotel's restaurant called seaview, which was by the beach. earlier that morning, they had placed some fruits out for the hornbills to eat, i was very surprised that there were hornbills in pangkor, i had thought they were only in sarawak. so we decided to have dinner there. i owner sort of a local legend, he was a famous malaysian badminton player came out and talked to us being teens, he actually gave us a jarge latter of friend squid which was scrumptious and alos a plate of watermelon so that was fun. on our thrid and last day, hy frineds went kayaking, it cost them rm 10 each for an hour, two per kayak.
we checked out the hotel at 1pm we had asked for extended check out, it would normally be 12noon. we had lunch on the mainland and took the bus home.
the bs ride back to kl was horrible. i took 5 hours when it was only supposed to be 4 hours. in about 1 and a half hours into the trip the busdrivers stopped at a small town and changed drivers. both of them talked very loudly to each other and woke the whole bus up and when he started driving he still continued to have loud conversations keeping everybody up. realising he was behind schedule he stops at this abonded rest stop for our break. the toilets were horrible, in the ladies a tree had fallen through it. in the mens there were no doors and was extremley smelly and dirty. we complanied to him. later on, one of my friends asked hwther there would be another stop because we didnt dare us the bathrooms on the earlier stop. the bus driver said that he would be making only one stop. but a few hours later to our surpirse he stopped, i guess he figured that since he was already late, he might as well stop for awhile. so that was the trip to pangkor. i dont think we'll be going back there. unless its to pangkor laut resort which i hear is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadyNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2007

I stayed at the coral bay resort at pangkor for 2 nights. I was there with 6 friends and we stayed at the penthouse 3 rooms. The label penthouse conjures an image of a room on the top floor with great and well-mantained facilities, as portrayed in the website. We were disappointed to find out the appearance of the rooms and facilities vary greatly from that portrayed in the website. The lobby looks great but do not be deceived. Once you moved beyond the lobby, you would find that the building has not been mantained and to our horror, all penthouses are located on the ground floor with no scenery. In fact, what they call the penthouse looks more like a chalet to us.

More horrors: the mattresses had holes; the pole in the cupboard for hangers dropped when my boyfriend tried to hang his clothes; the water heater was not working properly, at times we could get warm water but only after waiting for a long while; and worst still, the sink was not stable. A few times, i almost fell while brushing my teeth and resting my hand on the sink as the sink moved along with my hand movement!

It was NOT worth my money. I will never return to the resort.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

All I can say is don't go there. The sauna had cigarette butts lying everywhere, no toilet seat, no toilet paper and it was dirty with paint flaking off the walls. You have to pay per hour to use the gym and sauna which are not well maintained. There were only four deck chairs round the pool which was small. The hotel had full occupancy when we were there and the facilities were unable to cope with this number of people. The buffet breakfast was dismal and there was a sign displayed saying only to take enough food as necessary (fair comment) however this was followed by "a charge of 10+ringett will be charged to your account for every 100grams of food left on your plate!!!." The corridoors and public areas were dirty, run down and smelly. There were stains on the carpets. The hotel is right next to a busy road and rooms overlooking it get a view of tons of rubbish. The hotel offers massage and reflexelogy - sounds good - except they have one deck chair in a corner of the main foyer - this is where you get your massage!!! Forget it!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
2.6 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
64 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Property: Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Address: Lot 34 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing