We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely bearable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Barely bearable.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Room floor is not clean, furnitures are old, bathroom too. Fortunately, there's no rats found under the linens as some other reviewers has commented. Air-con is freezing cold at night but the blankets are small. No balcony and the window leads to a very dirty outdoor corridor overseeing a small swimming pool. Hotel staffs are lacked of friendly smiles too. Walking distance to the beach. Food on barbeque night supposed to be splendid with all the seafood but unfortunately, all were served cold. Other choices of dining in are very limited as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memphia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Memphia77,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you've had with us. As a service provider, it has been our goal to provide our guests with the comfort and pleasure that they deserve. The cleanliness and staffing issues you've noted will surely be highlighted in improving our overall quality. We do hope that your previous visit will not be the last, and we assure you that your next visit here will be a far better improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    60
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
26
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Room: Floor mat was not clean, contained blood stain and the floor contained shredded papers. Hangers were broken. Room was not sound proof, can hear people knocking doors at night.

Food: Taste average but less choices.

Swimming pool and sauna: Good. Towel was provided at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Chai123,

First of all thank you for your leaving us your feedback of our service on TripAdvisor. We duly apologize for the inconveniences that happened during your stay with us. We took note of your comments and be assured that we are working to improve on our delivery of service and this includes an offering of top notch amenities and facilities. Again we would like to apologize, and we hope that your next encounter in the future will be a far better improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked and given 2-superior interconnecting-rooms on high floor facing pool from 22nd-26th Dec 2013.
My family and I were very happy staying in this hotel as all staff starting from doorman, front desk receptionists even right to the chambermaids were very friendly, pleasant and helpful to us. We travelled to many countries and stayed in many hotels but never had the warmest welcome and stay like how we felt in Coral Bay. Superbly attentive GM Mr Raghu and his team of excellent staff like Mr Rasoul, Mr Ayub and the others made our holiday thoroughly memorable. These people never stopped giving us suggestions on activities to do & places to get good bargains & meals and also took very good care of us, even invited us to their Christmas party and the trip to hornbill feeding farm and also provided us with transfer back to the jetty, all compliments from this fantastic team.
Your kindest service and care to all your guests went over and beyond our expectation. We will never hesitate to recommend your hotel and excellent service to our friends and relatives. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor non-facing pool room if you prefer quieter environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntanNoraini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear IntanNoraini,

Thank you for your time writing us this review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that we've succeeded in making your stay with us a very special one. Your comments on our colleagues especially on Mr. Raghu, Rasoul, and Ayub will definitely be channeled down to each one of them. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back here again at Coral Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, malaysia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I booked this hotel, after getting the telephone numbers from the internet. When I called up and told them I need a room, and booked the room. I told them that before 5 pm I will be at the hotel. anyway the check in time is 1530. I reached the hotel at 13.20 . I told them that I made a booking and early. Normally I thought that, My wife and me will be told to sit at the lobby till 1530., but to my surprise the staff by the name of Ayu allowed me to go in to the room atter me paid the payments for 3 nights.
Deposit around US 30.00 is also collected from us.. (refundable) . So the registration was done in a fast manner, I did not wait long, it is about 10 to 15 minutes . The attitude in handling my case is very good. I should ,be very thankful to them . Pick my bags -- to the room in the 2nd floor facing the sea. . the room is very spacious for a 3 star ratings. But the T.V is an old type. equipped with a few channels
We went to the coffee house to order food as we were hungry. One plate of fried noodles one plate of fried rice and a bottle of mineral water. the waiter by the Miss Amalina serves with a big smile on the face. It cost below U,.S 7.00. The food is O.K. to eat.
In the night the 2 bulbs were not functioning. so I rang up the receptionist and told her that the bulbs are not functioning, in about 10 minutes the tecnician came and changed the bulbs. Very fast.
The next day -- breakfast time. Wow the whole hotel customers are there to have their bellys full. As usual bread - one type that is the white one. , fried noodles, rice, corn flakes, salad, and fruits. for the price we paid and breakfast we get is very good. It is very much better than many hotels in Europe, or even the Tune hotels. Drinks, orange juice, coffee or tea.. Or you have all together as it is buffet. The next time I will stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel during Chinese New Year. Check in was fast. We were given a room with a view of the sea. It was nice that you can sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset. However, the rooms were a bit tired and the pool was rather small to accommodate all the guests. It is quite near to a few eateries and within walking distance of the lively Pasir Bogak Beach. The breakfast served was pretty basic and nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisalam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulim, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I has been stay at coral bay resort for 3days 2night. The location of the hotel vy nc. 4rm hotel 2 go 2 beach is walking distance. Just 5minit. 4rm hotel 2 town just 10mnt. They oso gt their own teksi stand. Easy 4 us 2 get taxi 2 go anywer. Room r vy clean n beautiful. The staff of coral bay resort is vy friendly n their service r vy gud n i am loving it vy much. At theif loby got games 4 the guest 2 reliase their tension n bored. Fud is vy delicios n gt each day variety of fud. They oso gt indoor n outdoor activity. I reali enjoy tis holiday at coral bay resort. Tis time i cm wt my future husband n sure next time will cm wt my family. To wo else want cm 2 pangkor, i suggest coral bay is the best. U cn hv a wonderful day wt ur family here. Lastly tq to the staff n management for gv a gud service. Keep it up. C u next time guys...

Room Tip: Higher floor of hotel is less noisy. Room r large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank selvacrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First things first: it's NOT a resort - you have to leave to get to the grubby beach. On arrival the surly staff on reception only seemed interested in taking money (it caters mostly for Chinese and as westerners we never felt welcomed), but we've travelled a bit and never judge a book etc.... However, that crucial moment on opening the door to the 2 bedroom 'apartment' ( and I use the term loosely) I thought we'd done something wrong and been sent to a detention centre. The decor was very poor, the cheapest, migraine- inducing lights possible, holes punched into doors, air con from the 1970's that sounded like a truck coming through the room at night and zero attempt at suggesting any comparison with the very clever photography on their website. The pool is fine, not particularly safe for young children- oh and there was a mysterious list of daily 'activities' for the kids, but we never once saw anyone doing anything active! at all. so, Who is to blame? Us for 'blind' booking? For not doing enough research? The hotel owners for not understanding customer care? The managers for being rude ( the only friendly faces and genuine smiles were from the Indian staff who took time to speak (no change there) and THIS EXAMPLE SUMS UP THE PETTINESS OF CORAL BAY RESORT- on the second morning I had a bad migraine (the lights?) and the manager on duty flatly refused my wife to bring two pieces of toast from the breakfast area to our room!!! two pieces of toast! Of course she told them to stop being ridiculous and brought me the toast. And ah the breakfasts.... Poor quality and very very little choice; the same every morning...we had our two young daughters with us who seemed to sensel how miserable we were getting. Anyways, what did we do? We let them know how we felt but of course nothing would alter our experience, so we checked out and found the FABULOUS SANDY BEACH RESORT about 2 minutes walk away. Now this is what we expected. Pangkor is lovely, it has a rough and rowdy feel in town, quite bleak in parts, needs a good clean up on some of the beaches, but I love it's heart and its charm. I certainly would come back to Pangkor, but never to coral bay resort. In the end I'm sure someone has something positive to say about this place, but the basic level of customer service isn't really that different wherever you travel in the world and this place needs a serious overhaul. Oh and no wifi unless you are STANDING RIGHT NEXT TO THE RECEPTIONIST- which isn't very convenient if you're in your pyjamas.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piccolinamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
2.6 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Property: Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Address: Lot 34 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing