We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not in 2014 standards. More like 1995 standards. Everything is old. Wifi is weak. Air conditioner is cold tho. It works for a budget holiday but not at published prices. Maybe it's island but that does not mean that in a captive market you can take customers for granted!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank PHamsrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    58
    60
    28
    21
See reviews for
85
26
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is one the best resort of the island. clean and calm :)
Staff are quite friendly and polite. There is a pool in the central area of the resort which make it a good choice for families who are visiting the island with their kids.
The resort itself is located near one of the beach resorts and it is less than five minutes walk to the beach where you can enjoy a lot of adventure including "giant bubba" that we tried and is strongly recommended.
The only negative aspect is WiFi connection that is quite slow, especially if you have plans to watch some videos in youtube.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mingela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly I would like to say that on first impressions we were a small bit underwhelmed going on 3-4star standards from Europe!
However our stay was wonderful, we had to call the reception to get assistance on our first night and they were very accommodating, friendly and prompt on addressing our concerns. Each morning we were greeted with big smiles and salutations from ALL the staff.

The team in the restaurant were more than accommodating, they offered us options outside if the set menu in order to vary our breakfast options over he duration of our stay!

Their were 3 highlights for me.
1. A young gentleman on the door who smiled every morning and evening and greeted us so warmly every time we passed through the hotel, so sorry I don't remember your name

2. When my partner was sick, both Mr Ragout (the GM) and their wonderful concierge brought me to the pharmacy, when I only asked the location of the pharmacy! No stress, no hassle, they were so kind and wonderful.

3. Mr Ragout, went out of his way to make our stay Exceptional! No matter how crazy our request, he managed to arrange it for us! Wonderful asset to the company and a very fair manager with his staff.

We would definitely go back! As for the comments about Rats in the hotel... I think that's a lot of fibs!

Location v good, 2 mins to the beach.
Room perfectly adequate and clean!

Thank you Coral Bay for making our vacation one to remember!



  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fawn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urayasu, Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staffs of the hotel were very nice, but wi-fi connecting condition was very bad.
I could not connect even at robby space.

I changed the room twice because of noisiness.and wi-fi connecting condition.

.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank you3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear you3,

Thank you for spending your time writing us this review on TripAdvisor. Our deepest apologies on the inconvenience that occurs during your stay here with us. Be assured that your valued remarks are being taken seriously in our process to improve our service and facilities. Once again we appreciate your honest feedback and we hope that we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here one night with family. Room was comfortable for us where we only took one room for us. Location wise, its convenient to travel around and its just walking distance to the beach, the famous restaurant (my fav homemade "tauhu") and also pretty easy to hire a car/bike.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Pugnes,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks of us. We are pleased to know that we've managed to provide you with the comfort that each of our guests deserve. We do hope that we have the chance to welcome you and your family back here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend with friends. We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment and the space have definitely served our purpose. The master bedroom has a huge bed, looks like a super king and the second room with a queen size bed. The apartment is equipped with kitchenette and living room.
Location wise it's merely 5 minutes walk from the beach.

Rent a motorbike if you're planning to spend the weekend in Pangkor island, it only takes a day to discover the entire island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Shasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Shasha A,

Thank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. It has been our pleasure to serve you and your friends during your stay here with us. We do hope that our staffs have been able to assist you throughout your holiday. We look forward to your next visit here at Coral Bay Pangkor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Room floor is not clean, furnitures are old, bathroom too. Fortunately, there's no rats found under the linens as some other reviewers has commented. Air-con is freezing cold at night but the blankets are small. No balcony and the window leads to a very dirty outdoor corridor overseeing a small swimming pool. Hotel staffs are lacked of friendly smiles too. Walking distance to the beach. Food on barbeque night supposed to be splendid with all the seafood but unfortunately, all were served cold. Other choices of dining in are very limited as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memphia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminlai, Public Relations Manager at Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Dear Memphia77,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you've had with us. As a service provider, it has been our goal to provide our guests with the comfort and pleasure that they deserve. The cleanliness and staffing issues you've noted will surely be highlighted in improving our overall quality. We do hope that your previous visit will not be the last, and we assure you that your next visit here will be a far better improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
2.6 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Property: Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Address: Lot 34 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing