We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended!!”
Review of Teluk Dalam Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teluk Dalam Resort
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
subang jaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recommended!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I went there during Christmas holiday last year..I strongly recommend this place because of its privacy. After spending one whole day on the beach and snorkelling sight seeing,of course we need a rest, then...we can have it there. We can also bring big luggages because we dont have to carry those luggages ourselves..the staff will arrange it. The beach is not for swimming because it is muddy but there's no big problem since we can get a taxi and go to other part of the island. The most important thing is we can have a calm and relaxing time after experiencing this and that activities...that's what we count for a holiday trip,right?

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asu1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    11
    12
    19
See reviews for
26
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I stayed there during 6-8 February and they obviously realised from my card that I was from UK so did a card fraud and charged me twice. Now they don’t even respond so it will be a long process of recovering my money.

Beach was not clean and the reception staff quite unhelpful but worst of all, they do card fraud so beware and avoid at all costs.
Last year I went to Damai Luat which are close by and much better.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoot_eruk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We had just come back from a 3 Days 2 Night holiday at Teluk Dalam Resort. All you have to do once you were in Lumut there is to find the registration counter at the jetty and just bought the return transfer ferry tickets whish is at RM 19.00 for Adult and RM 13.00 for children. The journey from Lumut takes about 15 - 20 minutes. Do not worry about your luggage since it will be tagged and it will be send right to your doorstep. My parents especially luv the chalet (2 Bedrooms) that we are staying in. It is very cozy. They especially like the 'Kelarai' , it is actually a weave dried leaves which is used to cover the ceiling of the chalet plus also the wooden flooring which makes the chalet cool even the weather is hot outside. We are family of 8 and it is very comfortable having 2 bedrooms and 2 restrooms in one chalet. We have been to the pool and i have to agreed with the past reviews that the pool is unkept. I would also love to see that the bar at the pool being opened so that the guest can have some nibbles or drinks while they are at the pool. As for the dining, we find it cheap here rather than to compare to the 4 star rating hotel/ resort. Breakfast is only priced at RM 20.00nett and dinner is only at RM 30.00nett. We have tried the breakfast and we find the varieties is reasonable ranging from local to the western. Last but not least, Do not be surprised if the person you met in the Ferry turns up to be the owner of the Resorts.

  • Liked — Very Cozy and The Kampung Style
  • Disliked — The Beach
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Conquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Normally I wouldn't review a hotel online unless the hotel couldn't live up to its basic advertising or expectations.

This hotel has been listed on many websites as a 4 star hotel. There is a lot which needs to be done to get it up to that standard.

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, 2 nights. Firstly, the ferry that shuttles from Lumut to Pangkor is approximately 2 hours. We missed the ferry by merely 2 minutes and had to learn the hard way. Luckily, there was the public ferry which leaves almost every half hour to the Pangkor town (where we had to pay RM 20 for a taxi to the hotel).

Our booking was for a Bungalow with 2 rooms, a living area and a kitchenette. Here are the things we found:

The Minus:-

1) Hotel room phone does not work.
2) Request for toilet paper took more than 2 hours to arrive.
3) Breakfast was limited in choice, not very fresh and flies all over. Don't touch the cheese, it was sweating and flies were stuck to them.
4) A-la-carte menu are charged a 4-star hotel price (approx RM 22++ for fried rice), not too appealing for what we received.
5) The bar / lounge area was not stocked with liquor, no one seemed to work there?
6) Rooms were old and timber worn out. Upgrade is sorely needed. Throughout the day and night, we could hear loud sounds of water leaking atop the roof (either tap or water heater) but couldn't figure where/how.
7) Our safe could not open, we asked front desk to send for housekeeping around 10pm. Waited, waited, waited.. no one turned up. All our valuables were in there. Next morning, asked a staff who happened to drop off the paper, he assisted to get housekeeping (thank goodness, and thanks to him we had our belongings back!)
8) Tiles broken around the pool and walkways.
9) Far from town. Costs RM15 to Teluk Nipah (one way) and RM 20 to town (1 way). Very expensive as it's a short trip.
10) Their private beach was absolutely a turn-off. A lot of twigs, pastic bags and even a small PVC handbag. Please clean it up! It's the main attraction to a beach resort and it's sad to see it at such a state of neglect.

The Plus:-
1) There's very good mobile phone reception. A mobile towel is located in front of the bungalows. Not too sure if this is seen as positive or negative since telco towers are considered by some to emit unhealthy rays.
2) Free wi-fi internet (strongest at lobby), tried with using my smartphone. They have a PC at lobby for use, chargeable by hour.
3) Front desk staff are always friendly (even if they don't manage to get housekeeping to deliver).
4) Other staff (not all though) are a little lost in their own world.
5) Old but lovely pool. Hopefully they'll repair some of the broken tiles and covers to the pool area. The pool bar is empty, unused and dirty.... if it were open, would have been lovely.
6) If you're lucky, you'll see their Hornbill. Pretty thing.

My recommendation: Stay in Teluk Nipah or somewhere else. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Liked — Secluded, has it's own beach although it's dirty.
  • Disliked — Horrible service, run down rooms.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janicetan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petaling jaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

The room was dirty. The bathroom was so dirty and I did not enjoy my stay there. I will never go there again. There were alot of mosquitoes and flies in the room. The roof of the chalet was leaking and when it started to rain at night, the water started dripping on the bed. We did not sleep well. It is poorly managed.

  • Liked — swimming pool
  • Disliked — all other things
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharmb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Went to teluk dalam with my fiance.checked the hotel website before booking.Learned my lesson through the hard way(before i discovered trip advisor)..never trust hotel websites!! looked very nice & posh from the website so decided to stay there as the rest of the resorts were fully booked. on our arrival day, we had to wait more than an hour for our rooms to be ready! the welcome drink was coffee in a brownly stained white cup & soucer. The coffee was cold! the hotel knew we were arriving early as we were taking the 8.15am ferry from lumut. when we arrived, the reception staff was not friendly, sounded & looked very irritated. i had to remind him several times to check if our rooms were ready..

the room.
we stayed in the deluxe garden chalet. the room was a total turn off! the [--] were stained!the pillows were lumpy! the lamps were without the cover & one was not funtioning. the curtains were not fixed properly to the windows..

the food

since we took the package inclusive of all meals, we had our breakfast, lunch & dinner there..the food there was horrible!breakfast was bad..once the dish finishes, they don't replenish even after requesting..lunch & dinner was almost the same dishes every other day...me & my fiance had the only good meal on the island at teluk nipah shops along the beach.

the pool

there was a pipe running through the pool outside..it's very small..there were lots of children jumping in with t'shirts..

the beach
beach is not clean!very muddy!

conclusion
i had the worse stay there!will never return there. it's a very nice property but the management sucks big time. wish some other management will buy over it & do a facelit for the resorts..

after reading this,

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hemanalini81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enahakim, owner of Teluk Dalam Resort and management manager at Teluk Dalam Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2008
i will be there (Teluk Dalam Resort) on the end of this november. hopely you'll already upgrate n taking seriously about the customers complain...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Being a Malaysian, I am indeed sadden by the state of the hotel and its service. The place has potential. It has it own beach and bay so privacy is great but the hotel is just poorly managed and did not take advantage of these assets. Number of problems with this hotel. We stayed during the school holidays which is not recommended as the price is usually jacked up so high it is highway robbery for what you get. This trip unfortunately was no different. The price we paid and what we got was not worth it at all. we paid around USD 110/120 per night for two person with breakfast and they charge us another USD 12 for an extra mattress and pillow for my son.

Some of the bad stuff

The chalet was sea facing and was ok but amenities were poor, when we checked in there was no towels or toilet paper. We had to call 3 times to get it delivered.

The breakfast buffet is one of the most horrible I can remember. The quality and variety is minimal at best and reminds me of very cheap camp food. More like 2 stars.

The garden and surrounding area is badly taken care. All the plants looked half dead and the lawns seems like they have not been mowed for months. Some of the walk way tiles were left broken and not repaired.

The beach is strewn with rubbish either thrown by visitors or washed in from mainland. No matter, it is not acceptable to have this kind of rubbish in a good resort.

The swimming pool was okay except they allowed many swimmers to swim fully clothed and therefore the whole pool became more like a giant washing machine and the water became murky.

Generally this hotel could do so much better. I feel it just need proper management and a management who cares and feel proud of the place and have attention to detail instead of providing just the minimum and passing this off as a resort.

I would be happy to pay USD 50 per night for this hotel but to charge anything more for this sort of return would simply be highway robbery.

  • Liked — Location, beach, private chalets
  • Disliked — Food, unkept garden, rubbish at beach side, poor management, dirty pool
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YongFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
2.6 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
0.3 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teluk Dalam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teluk Dalam Resort

Property: Teluk Dalam Resort
Address: Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
Hotel Class:3 star — Teluk Dalam Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Teluk Dalam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teluk Dalam Hotel Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing