We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puteri Bayu Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort(Pangkor)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
Horizon Inn(Pangkor)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyana Villa(Pangkor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
4
22
35
24
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
22
35
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea breezefew stepsvolleyballsteamboatrm8futbolwatersports
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2008

This "resort" has all of the ingedients to make it a great place to stay, however, maintenance was very poor. A few examples: landscaping was full of weeds, bathroom was dirty with questionable plumbing, wonderful looking water slide was out of order (permanently?) and there was an overall feeling of shoddiness. The room was a little dark and could have been cleaner, but overall comfortable and spacious (Garden Chalet). The beach was really nice and we enjoyed the shade trees and calm waters for our young kids.

Staff was friendly.

Breakfast was horride: cheap chicken nuggets, cheap sausages, one type of fruit and if you were lucky scrambled eggs. It was presented in an very unappetizing manner. The fresh roti however was excellent. Still it was a poor way to start the day. We opted not to eat there at any other time as a result so I can only comment on breakfast.

This place could be great with some major and lots of minor maintenance and a better breakfast. I wouldn't stay there again until I here things have changed but if you end up there it's just OK.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EricJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We recently went in December 2007. Thank God, little rain, in spite of flooding elsewhere in Malaysia.

The hotel is generally OK, but do inspect the rooms before moving in. There is an insect screen attached to the bathroom window externally, but some of the screens are ill-fitting, leaving a gap for unwanted guests. The twin bed room we booked had a lot of mosquitoes entering in because of this, plus a leaking pipe generating mildew in the toilet. The layout made things crampy.

So we asked and the adjoining room, with a double bed was much better - screen in place, roomier etc. The family unit, with a queen and a single was even better - but way pricier - so it's for the kids! But beware, no reading lamps...

In retrospect, this hotel was a good choice as there were many (5? not counting hotel eateries) restaurants within walking distance. Although Telok Nipah has a nicer beach, there was only one food establishment of restaurant standard. Also, it's a short walk to Pasir Bogak beach, whereas for the other hotels here, you had to walk a road about 100m to the beach.
I liked the hornbills coming in close to feed.

A round island trip is recommended and for M$70 for 5 people, we had a chatty taxi-cum-guide (if possible, make sure he speaks the same language(s) as you do) who showed us some interesting sites.

As for the beach itself, I would rate this lower than Redang and Tioman on the east coast.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
12
Reviewed 17 July 2006

At 11:30am there was a very loud noise coming from the water pump just about 5 feet away from the chalet that my family were staying. When we asked the front office when will this noise end, she said in 30 minutes's time. However, we couldn't bear the noise as we needed to get some naps before checking out for our long journey to Penang. Due to lack of sleep, we requested to extend check-out time at 2pm. The front desk told us that from 12:30pm onwards we will be charged RM50 until 2pm, and one day charge (RM250) until 6pm. Not only we couldn't get peace in the resort, eventhough we paid a high rate for it; we were given such strict conditions and unfriendly treatment.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews