We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1926 Heritage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had 8 nights, it's an old hotel but clean and very comfortable, staff friendly, good breakfast, great position to walk to shopping centres, good local food close, quite happy to stay here and would go back again.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the pool which we found great and was quiet but some noise from rooms above so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny261666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I booked 2 rooms during 10 May 2014 for 5 of us. One room with one queen size bed is RM148.40 (included breakfast) and add on 1 mattress (RM45 included breakfast), in total we spend RM341.80 which is acceptable price for us. The breakfast is good where they will keep on refill the food. The overall facillities and furnitures are in good conditions. However, must be careful of mosquito in the rooms. Tips, turn on the electric mosquito repellent in the room for whole day even when you're going out. Overall, we are quite satisfied with the one night stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chee Wen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was comfy, the breakfast also nice, easy parking...but not walking distance, you need taxi or bus to move around Georgetown because of the distance between attraction places is far.

Advice: just rent a car. easy for you to go everywhere. And must try Local food...Penang are famous for food heaven. Definitely will come here again!!!..hehe

Room Tip: Room with facing pool, nice room got balcony to chill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anazhenbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during our recent visit to Penang. Turned out to be a great location as it's near Gurney Dr, the foodie's paradise, tourist attractions like the Thai sleeping Buddha temple & Burmese temple as well as others, a couple of food courts/coffee shops just around the corner offering great varieties of food to choose from.

There's also a nasi kandar across the road offering tasty roti canai in the morning. Nothing beats roti canai & teh tarik to start the day.

Lots of families stay here as it offers great value. There were however a couple of maintenance issues requiring attention - the door lock on one of the rooms didn't work properly & the floor boards squeaks in another room. The free wifi keeps dropping out.

This place is very busy so book early.

Tip - pool side rooms can get a little noisy during the day, but these rooms are also more convenient with car parking right outside.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed at 1926 Heritage Hotel for eight nights in March of 2014.

The positive aspects of the hotel are as follows. The room we were in was a nice size and was clean. The best aspect of the hotel was the swimming pool. We made use of it every day. It was really nice to be able to cool off from the heat!

The negative aspects of the hotel are as follows. The hotel is showing signs of its age and could use a little love. You can see that it was once a really beautiful hotel and could be again. Be prepared for a little wear and tear and you won't be disappointed. If you would like your room cleaned you may want to tell reception even if you've put the sign on the door. They were quite slow with regards to cleaning (we came back a few times in the late afternoon to find that our room was not made up even though we'd been out for most of the day). Also the area around the pool could use some attention. A lot of the lounge chairs are broken so if you want to spend a day at the pool be sure to find a chair that is not broken.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Worst hotel that I ever stayed! With the price that I paid, its totally crap!!!

Checked in the hotel at 2pm something; went out for dinner at 8pm plus. Came back an hour later with total shock. Missing DSLR, camera bag with camera flash light inside, ipad and iphone5.

The management could not give explanation how my belongings all gone within an hour. Claiming that no one walked near to my room! Total crap! My room was at first floor, and management claimed that unlikely for people to climb up to my room as the room below has fenced up. And yet, the management could not provide reasonable explanation.

This is indeed the worst experience that I have encountered. I had stayed in even low-ranked hotel but this was my first experience for missing belongings in THE hotel!!!

I have experienced great loss because of this! Hence, I request a reasonable and acceptable explanation. Reimbursement on similar value losses is expected. I will not tolerate with any crap explanation from the management.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daphn3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The building was built for English workers travelling out to Penang and has a nice feel to it with little courtyards out the back. Our family room had three double beds and a courtyard. The rooms are tired and could be cleaner but no real complaints. A little noisy but reasonable location and nice swimming pool so a reasonable place to stay with a nice vibe...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerrryCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 87 in George Town
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burmahtel Hotel
Burmahtel Hotel
#55 of 87 in George Town
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#59 of 87 in George Town
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Rock Hotel
Red Rock Hotel
#73 of 87 in George Town
90 reviews
1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Address: 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £25 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing