We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive, poor service.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Green Seafood Restaurant

Ocean Green Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very expensive, poor service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Tiny portions of prawns in a horrid thick batter, which we had not asked for. No one understood English, so we were forced to eat it. The locals all seemed to have enormous portions. Felt ripped off. Was the most expensive meal we had in SE Asia and by far the worst. Don't go!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    56
    36
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
234 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“wide choice of seafood platters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

All fish are fresh abit highly priced. Scenery is relaxing. Service can be better.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Decent seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

When in Penang, one has to go to a seafood restaurant. We were taken to this restaurant by the beachfront on a weekday night around 8 pm. The approach was quite pretty, but you couldn't really see the sea out there in the darkness of the night. Getting a table was not a problem even though the place was quite well-patronised. Food was decent, nothing to rave about, and not exorbitant either as some touristy seafood places can be. Amongst other things, we had a whole steamed fish Thai-style which was enjoyable, and the final bill came up to just under US$50 for our table of 5, not expensive for a seafood meal. The fresh coconut that I had was stale, and they changed it without demurring when I asked to replace it.

It is quite a pleasant dining experience sitting out there in the open tentage near the beachfront. What I found particularly charming was the small old world hotel that it is attached to where the washrooms are (ladies would not relish the squatting style toilets there) giving one a peek into the Penang of old.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilacfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terranora, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, away from the bustle.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I was a bit apprehensive, but went along following a recommendation from a local resident. I am glad that I did. The food was terrific and the location spot on! The prices were more than reasonable considering it was a sit down restaurant. Will go back again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenbrae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average seafood place with good atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I remember when i was a kid, the food here definitely tasted better. But not anymore. It's just average but the prices keep going up. Not to say it doesn't taste good but it's nothing special for the price you pay. There are also some pretty exotic seafood you can have here but these are really for those who have more money than they know what to do with.

Still, it's a nice place to have a dinner with your family as it's beside the beach and the place is tucked away from the bustling streets and car horns of Penang. Atmosphere is what you pay for here. Service is quite good with most of the staff quite attentive and helpful (and fast).
I would score this average if not for the atmosphere and service. Definitely better than Bali Hai down the other street.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek0978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Green Seafood Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Ocean Green Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing