We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Sarkies Corner

Sarkies Corner
Ranked #76 of 894 Restaurants in George Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the E&O for a week and eat at both Sarkies and Sarkies Corner and we're left disappointed by both experiences.

Sarkies... It's a busy all you can eat buffet which has a canteen atmosphere populated by clientele who seem to be motivated by quantity not quality.

Sarkies Corner has a land interior but a nice sea front terrace enjoy this because the food left is disappointed bland and uninspiring.

This quality of hotel should do a lot better

Helpful?
Thank Moores111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    122
    55
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return to yesteryear”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Been a few years since I last stayed at the E&O and ate at Sarkies Corner. With the opening of the Victory Arcade (tower block) the main F&B outlet is Sarkies, an all-day buffet restaurant located there. Sarkies Corner has become an a-la-carte cafe and that suits me fine. Its nice, quiet and retains the charm of yesteryear. Who needs more buffets? Sit on the patio and enjoy a view of the sea as you have your meal of enjoy a nice cup of coffee. Its very breezy and cool despite being outdoors. The service is still tip top and staff are very polite and helpful. Food was acceptable but then most people come to the E&O for the atmosphere than for the food. On a less pleasant note, the interior of the cafe does feel like a ghost town as the place is dark and only a few tables by the window occupied.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melvin_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Dinner by the Sea”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We love dinner by the water edge & this meal & Sarkies in the E & O Hotel a few evenings ago was really lovely.
We were early & were given a great table where we could see everything that was happening on the harbour as well as benefit from the cooling evening breeze that differentiates Penang from many other places.
Service was superb & our food was delicious .
As the area filled up there was no reduction in the service quality & we continued to be treated as if we were Royalty ( we are not ).
Watching cruise ships enter port & seeing the many small sail & motor powered boats glide across the water just added another experience for us both to enjoy.
Pricing was very reasonable & we look forward to coming back again in the future.
Highly recommended
Sarkies is part of the refurbishment of the E & O Hotel & has been restored beautifully.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carringtonfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fresh salads and prawns complement cooked Asian dishes and an enormous selection of exotic deserts will ensure that you enjoy your dinner. Children are well catered for too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4thtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fresh food and a delectable spread”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had our international buffet dinner here and it was our first time coming since they renovated. It has now been moved to the new wing of E&O Hotel. The popular items there are the sashimi which is extremely fresh and also the roast duck. Of course, it also features Char Koay Teow and Laksa to highlight our Penang delicacies - but I must admit the ones we get at the hawkers stalls are slightly better. Another popular favourite is the grill station where fresh seafood and meat are grilled and served piping hot. Even though it is slightly more pricey, (they do have some promotions with certain credit cards) it is worth coming if you are having a celebration or would like to splurge on a good meal - because there is a wide variety of food to choose from and it's delicious!!! There is also a choice of outdoor seating for those who want to get some fresh air and you'll be greeted with a lovely night view of the coast of Penang. It's also a lovely place to take a walk after a heavy meal just to enjoy the breeze and to

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamoca84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarkies Corner also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Sarkies Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing