We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy char kueh teow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sarkies Corner

Sarkies Corner
Ranked #61 of 879 Restaurants in George Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy char kueh teow!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at E&O and popped into Sarkies Corner for supper after returning from late night shopping. The food was fresh, tasty and service was faultless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConejaPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    122
    52
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Sarkies Buffet new restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

So first, this is not Sarkies' Corner but the new addition to Eastern and Oriental Hotel Penang, called Sarkies!!
Somebody will have to explain to me why the manager thought is was a good idea to call their new restaurant the same name than the other one, that later being still opened!! Very confusing...
So when you go there, please make sure to ask for the new buffet restaurant in the new wing (the other one being a cafe in the old wing).
As I cannot find the new Sarkies restaurant on trip advisor yet, I have no choice but to post it in Sarkies' corner. Sorry for that...

So, review of the new Sarkies:
This is a buffet restaurant.

Good points:
- Very good value for money.
- Great food variety and quality (freshly cooked seafood, sushi, eastern and western food, italian pastas and asian noodles stations, grill station, salad bar). Nice selection of meat, fish, chinese food. Some western and some Malaysian dishes (such as fish redang). You will need to try the Penang version of Char Kway Teow (a bit spicy though if you are not used to asian food). The most difficult is choosing what you are going to eat as everything looks so delicious!
- Beautiful desert selection with mini tarts, macarons, ice creams and all sorts of cakes (some local deserts too).
- Great setting and good feeling.

Not so good:
- The service was a bit slow and not very attentive (needed to call a few times to get a fork for our daughter, waited 5mins to be seated when there were a few tables available). But this was not a big issue as being a buffet style restaurant you are getting your own food...

I definitely recommend this restaurant if you are planning to visit the historic center of Penang.
As we had booked an hotel on Batu Ferringhi's beach, we had lunch there and visited the historic center in the afternoon. We had a great lunch and the historic center is only 5 minutes walking distance... which is good and help digestion!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SgSling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eat till you Drop”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A beautiful top star restaurant with wonderful service. The food was superb with lots to chose from.

Sweets were wonderful too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shezke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Walking around Georgetown and came upon the hotel. 8 people , five non-buffet people had to be talked into trying the buffet. The 5 came out raving about the service, the great selection of hot and cold foods, especially the curry fish head, the assortment of desserts. Even ice kachang was part of the dessert line up. Definitely will be back in a few weeks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank itchycucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good night.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great service, food, and music.... Spending the nights there with friends enhanced our holiday and we look forward to returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank size16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarkies Corner also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Sarkies Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing