We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting awfully close to its "sell-by" date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #40 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A very comfortable hotel with clean rooms. However it is currently in need of some renovation work. Walls in the corridors and rooms are dented and scratched, covered with Tune Hotel posters advertising their "14 locations", which are now, I think, up to 43--showing you how long its been since even a minor "changing of the posters" has been done! Hotel is extremely noisy, both from the outside and the inside. Don't think anything much could be done about either without installing double-glazed windows for the outside noise and some kind of room and corridor noise abatement on the inside (I could clearly hear each and every thing that my neighbors in the adjoining room next door said!) both of which would probably raise the tariff to a point which might outweigh their advantage. Fairly easy walking distance to the heritage zone (~15 minutes) and Komtar (~10 minutes) and several nice restaurants in the other direction. There is a 7/11 on ground floor with unpleasant surly staff (what one comes to expect from 7/11 these days) in great contrast to Tune's most helpful, friendly and efficient staff. There is a very good, fairly new and modern outdoor (but covered) New World Park food court two doors away. Realize the hotel's limitations, enjoy all the money you are saving, and enjoy!

Room Tip: Hold your breath with hope and ask for a corner room with windows. Much superior and (I was told) us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi There,

Sorry about the noise. If we could help ease them by perhaps relocating you to higher floors, please be sure to mention it to the front desk in future. We love the compliments about the front desk. The team goes above and beyond in delivering the best of Tune hospitality all the time.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you at a Tune property soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Tune Hotel Georgetown. The room is equipped with comfortable bed and the location of the hotel is great. But there still have rooms of improvement on the cleanliness, and run down furniture.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OngLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang from 22/8/2014 to 24/8/2014. The pros are :
1. Great location, with a 7-11 at the ground floor of the hotel and a Starbucks and other food outlets at the next building.
2. Rooms equipped with comfortable bed, bath room equipped with hot water shower and hair dryer.
3. There is a water dispenser unit at the lobby. You can actually save some money on buying mineral waters.
However, there are several cons :
1. Limited parking spaces at the hotel premises, i.e. less than 20 bays.
2. Rain water could seep through the windows during rainy days.
3. If you stay at the rooms with window facing the main road, you will occasionally heard the sound of the Pedestrian Traffic Light.
4. No TV inside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NathanYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It is always amazing whenever I checked into Tunes hotel in downtown Penang. Firstly, I am very pleased that this is the only hotel I've stayed so far that have installed both a ceiling fan and a split unit air cond in their rooms. I've stayed in different rooms on different floors once very month since March, 2014, and every time, the air cond and the ceiling fan worked perfectly. The room is instantly cooled down and I always have a good night's sleep.

Even with the low rate, compared to most hotels in Penang, Tunes Hotel provides one of the most comfortable beds and beddings. The shower has the strongest water pressure and the heating system is easily controllable.

For hotel guests, there is a Starbucks just a few walking steps away, which offers 20% off for a mug of macchiato if you produce your booking invoice. To enjoy great Penang fare, just walk pass the back of Starbucks to the end of the New World Park square, you will find most of the local foods.

It has always been a pleasure staying in Tunes Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with windows if you find it suffocating in a room without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Better to book the room online to get cheaper price for room.

The parking will cost you 6myr per entry. The carpark will be quite cramp at night so get back early.

Starbucks, kopitian and nasi kandar in walking distance.

A recommended if u are on budget trips.

Lobby at 3rd floor, use the lift. :p

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Hahn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us and for the review. Indeed, our location is great and our room rates are a bargain if you book early in advance. We are happy to find that you had a good stay.

Thank you for tuning in, we hope to see you again at a Tune property.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

THE CONS

#1.

If you are a light sleeper - DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! I stayed in the tune hotel for 16 nights, during hungry ghost festival. Of all the times NOT to stay at this hotel, this is the time to not stay there. Just a few blocks from the hotel there was a massive karaoke stage set up and I could hear chinese karaoke songs being sung by singers (out of tune by the way) all the way on the 8th floor until midnight!! I already had changed rooms from the other side of the hotel on my second night as well, because on the other side of the hotel there was a dog which barked from 2am until 6 am EVERY MORNING and I could hear it clearly even through my ear plugs!

Also, because this hotel is fairly cheap, people can afford to arrive by the BUS LOAD. And they did. One night there was a party of about 60 people who checked in and they were extremely loud. They were running in the hallways, they were yelling to each other from room to room with their doors open. They were hanging out in the hallways talking loudly to each other. It was a NIGHTMARE. But, when I called the front desk and asked the Tune Hotel staff to come upstairs and speak to that group, he did - and the noise was cut down by about 80%. I appreciated that a lot and was able to go to sleep after he took care of the group noise.

#2

For the WIFI, they forced me to come to the lobby after 10 days because they said they only do WIFI in blocks of 10 days. This is really irritating. They should really revise this rule. No other hotel I've stayed in has this silly rule.

#3

My shower door leaked. So EVERY TIME I took a shower water would leak all over my bathroom floor. This was very inconvenient, plus the bathroom is SO SMALL... it's not really safe to have a slippery floor.

#4

There were either BLOOD STAINS or mangosteen fruit stains on my sheets TWICE! SO GROSS! I cant believe they keep using those sheets for hotel guests. Either BLEACH THEM or throw those sheets away. You are running a hotel, not a HOSTEL.

#5

the cleaning of the room floors wasnt that clean. My feet felt sticky every night and there was dust in the corners of the room and several other parts of the room. The cleaning people need to do a more thorough job for sure. The rooms are incredibly SMALL. So there is no excuse for unclean, dusty rooms. They should be spotless for the size that they are.

#6

The rooms are quite small. I would never recommend two people staying in Tune Hotel rooms unless it's the family room, which is more spacious. If you are a couple, get the family room. Do not stay in the normal rooms. You will never have space to put two people's bags in that room.


THE PROS

#1.

The staff were very nice and understanding about me wanting to change rooms. They were very helpful as well about it.

#2.

There are massage chairs at the lobby for really cheap RM 3 - 20 for various durations. It's very convenient after a long day at work and you just need a quick body massage.

#3

There is a delicious prawn mee and otak otak restaurant very close by and there are two other restaurants nearby, a wan tan mee place and a seafood restaurant right next door that serve great chinese food.

#4

Pretty easy to get taxis there. There is a taxi booth at the ground floor with a friendly guy waiting to serve you.

#5

The location is close to many attractions in Georgetown

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 827 side of the hotel. Thats a quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TheLydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi There,

Sorry we failed on some of our standards and clearly you weren't satisfied during your recent stay.
Our hotel promises clean rooms at competitive rates and what you have recently experienced is purely isolated.

We take note all the constructive comments and action will be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com the next time you come by and I will ensure you leave us with a pleasant experience.

Thank you for tuning in.
Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at the Quad Room which is a connecting double bed room inclusive of air conditioner. It was quiet clean, I like the design of the hotel. Parking space is limited but there are spaces nearby across the road.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor because it is quite noisy with the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeerSyahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 88 in George Town
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#30 of 88 in George Town
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 88 in George Town
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 88 in George Town
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#32 of 88 in George Town
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#56 of 88 in George Town
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing