We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Clove Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clove Hall
Ranked #8 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was nice to stay in Clove Hall which was a pleasant surprise. This heritage house turned hotel full of charm and character, with beautiful and old style tasteful furniture . The owners were very helpful and friendly and tried their best to serve their guests. The staff gave very good and personal service. Felt like home .... just take a dip when it's hot

Although going to the centre of Georgetown is more than walking distance, calling a taxi is convenient and inexpensive.

Room Tip: I stayed in Cardamon suite, with a balcony. It was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphnecym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
199
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Clove Hall is a beautifully renovated 2 storey house on the fringes of colonial George Town. With 6 suites it is a delightfully small jewel of a place.

Our suite (Saffron) was large, comfortable and well-equipped. Bathrooms are minimalist; ours featured a wonderful rain shower with oodles of hot water and good amenities. Mosquito-netted bed, day bed and balcony completed the picture.

Ground floor is open, light and airy and features lovely objet d'art. An excellent breakfast (fresh fruit, fruit juices, selection of western and local dishes, tea/coffee) is served each day and can be taken outdoors if you wish.

Gardens are restful and colourful with a lovely pool ready for your use when you stagger back from exploring the island. George the dog is always on squirrel patrol and will happily keep you company should you need his services.

The building, the suites, the gardens and the pool are a delight but what really makes this place special is the people. The owners (Jo and Jim Lim) make you feel like a house guest in their lovely property. They are ably supported by a wonderful staff who radiate concern for your welfare and simply can't do enough to make your stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved everything about this place! The rooms, the building, the grounds, the staff and the service. It was wonderful to have a pool to cool down in after walking humid Penang during the day. The home cooked breakfast every morning on the grounds was a delight. We even had them organise a massage therapist to give us massages on site. We walked easily to Georgetown a few times and when we were feeling lazy we would take a taxi for a minimal cost. There are a lot of restaurants close by and it was actually nice being in a quieter area!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gginspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Lovely service and the staff go out of their way to make families welcome and this was important to us as travelling with our 10 month old for the first time. The clove room was lovely- big, spacious, 4 poster bed, lovely bathroom with a huge bath. Very good for families but also very romantic for couples!! Thank you for looking after us!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lavin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can not urge you more highly to travel to Penang, simply to stay at Clove Hall. It is so beautiful - the garden, the rooms, the furniture, the pool - a fantastic location in an intriguing city. Stepping off the 'super hotel chain route' is for those of us who want to 'touch and experience' something rare - an insight into how a city ticks. Clove Hall allows this but does so with such elegance and simple grandeur that staying here is a wonderful privilege as you are being extended a chance to stay in a fine and beautiful home, surrounded by style and history.

Thank you so much to Jim and Jo and Lee and all the staff whose genuine kindness and love for what they are doing made our stay so truly memorable. I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Every room is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salbal2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The boutique guesthouse is run by Jim and Jo, both very sweet and caring people. It’s a great historic place, beautifully restored en well decorated. Because the house has only a few apartments, the owners have all the time for you. In addition to Jim and Jo, the rest of the staff also is very attentive, welcoming and engaging. Everyone gives you the feeling to be at home, and every morning starts with a delicious breakfast. The location is perfect, with lots of nice restaurants and shops nearby, but in a very quiet place so you do not suffer from traffic. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clove Hall has been lovingly restored and could be an attraction in itself. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we looked forward to the delicious breakfast every morning. We travelled with our 10 month old, and the staff were very accommodating with our requests. Our little family had a lovely 4 night stay there, and would most definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nastigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#7 of 84 in George Town
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hall

Property: Clove Hall
Address: 11 Jalan Clove Hall, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clove Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned,restored black and white Edwardian Anglo-Malay bungalow. On the site of a former plantation and set in half an acre of tropical garden with a swimming pool. This house offers classy colonial bed and breakfast,with just six suites.Located in a quiet residential street but well within walking distance to Georgetown. Clove Hall offers a unique experience, privacy, personalised service and modern comforts.Car and driver can be arranged for transfers. Tours can also be arranged. Many restaurants serving local food are within ten minutes walk of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clove Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clove Hall Hotel Georgetown
Clove Hall Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing