We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of this, a little bit of that.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Ranked #18 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of this, a little bit of that.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Nothing can go wrong, really. It was my first B&B experience and I'm glad i started off with MTP. Wei, the hostess was extremely accommodating, she helped us to discover the beautiful side of Penang!

We took the family suite (2 bedrooms and 2 shower), one of the room was surprisingly spacious! I find it a little bit eerie but bearable. The room has enough space for Yoga or light workout to burn away the Penang food :p. For Muslims family, enough room to Solat ber-jemaah for 5! Bed-sheet was clean, and comfy, almost like a 4-5 star hotel. Everything else in the mini bar was complimentary - traditional Malaysian junk food. The place reminds me of my childhood, it has the 'rumah nenek, kampung' smell (in a good way) but with a touch of modern interior, which is mostly from IKEA.

The only thing concerns is the floor that is made out of wood. We had our neighbor from the ground floor complaining about the noises... so we tiptoed through the night, hoping we wont make any more stumping noises.

Breakfast were personalized, be prepared to wake up and have a friendly uncle to greet you at the front porch, and 'mangkuk tingkat' breakfast served on your table! Varieties of local food and cakes. Uncle was nice enough to offer our cold coffee in exchange for a hot one.

Thank you Mango Tree Place and Wei, for making it a wonderful stay in Penang :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faznur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    82
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
127
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Wei and the other staffs were great, always attentive and friendly to us! Love the deco and the traditional breakfast. Will definitely reccomend to friends and clients.

It's the place i will love to stay over and over again.

Cheers
John Chin & MAYA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Mango Tree Place was a great introduction to Penang for a first time tourist. The modern and interesting touches coupled with the traditional structures encompasses what Penang had to offer. We stayed in the courtyard suite and it was way beyond comfortable. Large and clean bed, nicely done-up room and a small little courtyard with a swing for days when you just want to chill with a book. Wei was a fantastic hostess; friendly, accommodating and a wealth of information. Breakfast every morning was a delicious sampling of the local cuisine.
The location of Mango Tree Place is also second to none. 15mins from the famous Gurney Drive food centre and just a walk out to the famous Tau Sar Piah shops and a late night food centre. The old town with it's many cultural and scenic sites is also just 15-20mins away.
A repeat stay is definite on the next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LingLS_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We love everything about Mango Tree Place...the cozy feel, the rooms and most of all the people behind it. I'm travelling with an extended family of 7, and we were able to fit into the family suite comfortablely. It is conveniently located within the city with easy access to many good eating place...so many that we were spoiled for choices. Every morning we were treated to a wide spread of local delights specially prepared by Wei & Team.
We all agree that we are definitely coming back for more of Penang and definitely Mango Tree.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sYeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Mango Tree Place is something which is totally unexepcted right smack in the hustle and bustle of Georgetown. Despite being in centre of Georgetown, it is in a quiet, peaceful location and you can even hear a cock crow in the morning! A country side feeling in the city!

Mango Tree Place' accomodation comprises of a row of individual old shophouses converted into hotel rooms. Reception is housed in another unit and dining is also in a different house. That itself gives this place a unique character.

The room's decor and most importantly, the cleanliness of the room sets the tone for a wonderful stay. Wei, a bubbly and cheerful lady came out to greet us upon our arrival by car and did a super fast check in for us. She is really accomodating and fantastic. We had our laundry personally handled by her as we had to leave early. Thanks Wei for making our stay so pleasant.

Breakfast is simple and comprises local fare which is sufficient to start the day. The dining room is tastefully decorated and has a nice charm as it uses the entire ground floor of the house. The reception, dining room, our bedroom are done in comtemporary art fashion. A perfect blend of old and new.

I visit Penang many times a year and each time I stay in different hotels as no 2 hotels are ever the same in Penang. When it comes to the personal touch, this hotel has no competition (from my experiences staying in Penang).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug32_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Thumbs up to Wei who had made our stay an amazing one. The room was spacious, homely and clean. We had parking available just in front of our unit, which was very convenient. We had a 4-month-old baby with us, so she accommodated us with a baby cot (free of charge), and soaking pail, for the soiled napkins and also a small baby bathing tub as the toilet has no bathing tub. Free wifi and DVDs were a plus point as well. She also had brochures of popular places to see and eat in Penang. The breakfast was scrumptious, sinfully delicious and totally unexpected. My family were utterly impressed with the hotel and its staff (and we r not a easy lot to please), and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chingjern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Wei goes out of her way to make your stay amazing. Very helpful with brochures, and maps, and info on where to go, and good eating places. My wife and I loved Penang, especially georgetown, or as its referred to, the old town. Wei dropped us into the city between 10am and 11am everyday which was very convenient. We both loved the room so much, very high ceilings, beautiful art deco decor, a great shower, Astro Movie Channels, and dvd, with option to borrow in house movies at reception for free. The breakfast daily was very nice, with fresh fruit, and pancakes, and heaps. The location is very nice, just outside of the main town, but very close to a number of food places. Our flight was at 7.40pm, Wei extended our check out time to 6pm which blew us away. Had time to relax, shower, and arrive fresh at the airport. The Old guy just outside over the road who makes banana pancakes is a must. Don't be offended when he tells you to come back in an hour though. He's very popular. We also at the noodles from the guy next to him, who operates at night. Very nice. All in all we had a great time, and the Mango Tree Place was fantastic. Very good wifi internet in the rooms, and a PC outside in the lobby area. It was always boiling hot outside, but the rooms were beautifully cool with A/C and Fans. Check in was very quick.

Room Tip: We hired a cab for 3 hours at 90 ringits, he took us to the fruit farm, the butterfly farm, and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason N Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mango Tree Place - Hideaway
Mango Tree Place - Hideaway
#5 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ren i Tang
Ren i Tang
#3 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934

Property: Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Address: No 29 Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a quiet area of town just outside the hustle and bustle of the center.Mango Tree Place in Georgetown,Malaysia provides guests with the perfect getaway spot to really relax and enjoy your vacation. This 3 star Boutique Bed & Breakfast is just a 10 minute walk to a wide array of restaurants, shops and cafes so finding something to do is easier than ever. Guests of the Mango Tree Place will enjoy an intimate setting with the friendly staff who are more than willing to lend you a helping hand and give you insider tips on all the historic sights of Georgetown. So, get ready to explore this UNESCO World Heritage city. Great location and surroundings, professional staff and useful facilities make this Georgetown Boutique B&B an unbeatable place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Place Hotel Georgetown
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing