We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Adequate”
Review of Cozy Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cozy Home Inn
Ranked #127 of 174 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Even at the very minimal level advertised (and Cozy Home makes no inflated claims about luxury)this hotel just met the minimum standard. By far the best thing was the owner and staff, who were always cheerful and helpful. The New World food court supplies good, cheap, food only 200m away (go left from hotel door and left again down Lorong Alley into Jalan Hutton).

Other than that: The location (food court excepted) was poor. Just too far up Jalan Argyll.

The room had ants - both exploring the room and passing through to others. Repeated sprayings were needed to remove them.

The wi-fi is exceptionally poor (0.3mbps is average, with an inconsistent signal at best). Not helped by the (domestic) router being located 9ft above the ground between the floors, so resets are an event!

The bed was very hard, with a standard blanket issued on a queen sized bed. It was also not particularly stable, with bed boards collapsing at one point. There is no other furniture except for the (1990's) TV on a shelf. In spite of this, the room seemed very cramped.

In spite of an electric shower, the shower water barely got above luke warm for the whole stay, and I had to jury rig a clip to hold it in place.

The air-con seemed to have a mind of its own - it would sometimes obey the remote, but not always.

My over-riding impression at the Cozy Home was the noise. The hotel is clearly remodelled from a small number of flats. This was done poorly, leaving water pipes exposed and audible, thin walls, and other issues. The karaoke bar 2 doors down was clearly audible to 1 or 2am, even though we had a room on the wall furthest from the bar.

Would avoid if possible in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have fridges. Rooms ending with 4 or 5 are furthest from the karaoke bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGreenstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

This should be a first choice for budget travelers who like a clean room that is quiet and close to all the sights. They even let me check in early after a long train ride. The front desk are very helpful. Great air con and bath...comfy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The carpet is a little dingy-looking but other than that, the place was good. Our room was clean, and the hotel is close enough to everything in Georgetown that you can walk. My only complaint is that the bar in the neighbourhood, is loud and gave me trouble sleeping. The noise didn't bother my husband, however.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green_Is_Good_4769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The staff was really helpful, not much space though in the room and your not gonna get probably that much for your money as in Thailand. Located almost in the heart of Georgetown so everything is near by. The room had a TV and wifi connection and not to mention AC which is quite essential in that climate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElRudolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

near to most of places of the George Town and the service is very kind and good. Rooms are clean and quiet, but no table in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriquelioeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Not situated at the greatest of locations. Nevertheless, it isn't so bad on foot either ;10 mins walk to Chulia Street (where the delicious food are), 18mins walk to Komtar (shopping malls), and 15 mins from Upp. Penang road (where the night spots are).

The WIFI coverage was brilliant and the room cleanliness was above average (small but decent). My friend and i did not have problems with the smell, nor loud noises at night. Most importantly, it is not a dodgy/sleezy place to lodge in as far as i'm concern.

In all, I personally feel that the owner of the hotel (the man who spots a goatee) and his staff are top-notch friendly. They answered every questions we have and never failed to input even more recommendations and advise.

Sweet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here for one night upon our arrival from Kuala Lumpur. We didn't arrive until 11:30pm as our train from KL was 3 hours delayed. Upon arrival the owner greeted us. He was very friendly. Showed us to our room which was up a couple of flights of stairs. The room was very clean and tidy. We had a family room which consisted of a queen bed and two singles. The room was small however was perfect for $25AUD, there was a tv and a small bathroom which was neat. Would stay here again if we were on a low budget as the room was lovely. I've stayed in worse for a higher price. The owner was great. Hotel is down a little back street with a couple of pubs and a 24 hour food place just up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Tianshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 87 in George Town
845 reviews
1.6 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Home Inn

Address: 205 Jalan Argyll, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Cozy Home Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Home Inn is a new guest house in the historic city of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage city.Located conveniently near the George Town World Heritage zone, banks, money changers, local Chinese/Indian/Malay food, bus interchange, supermarket and Upper Penang Road night avenues, it provides no frills but cozy and affordable lodging which will meet your basic accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cozy Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Home Hotel Georgetown
Cozy Home Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing