We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a obviously a 5* priced property”
Review of Straits Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straits Collection
Ranked #115 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a obviously a 5* priced property”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in Penang. Wonderful town with plenty of good food and warm locals. The Straits Collection was recommended to me by a friend who is a local. Therefore I had no qualms about booking this property. Location wise we had no complaints because it was in the middle of Georgetown. With the price that we paid, we were expecting close to a luxury boutique property but there were wooden panels covering the door from the ceiling which looked like they were just put there temporarily to block out the noise from the streets. The front door was in its original state (you could see the street outside in between the panels) which meant that the noise from the street outside was crystal clear. Also for light sleepers, do be aware that the property is very close to a mosque so the daily morning calls to prayers can be very loud. The wiring work was shoddy, they were firstly not concealed, secondly they looked as if they were done in a hurry and we could even see the router dangling from the wires. The toilets were also not thoroughly cleaned, they smelt of urine. Amenities were not replenished on a daily basis. Towels were not changed even though we soiled one and placed them on the floor. Though we will be back to Penang, we will definitely not be staying at The Straits Collection.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bleudauphin2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent a night in Penang, initially wanted to lookout for street food in Penang! Found this old charm and we had a wonderful pleasant stay for the weekend! Staff was very Friendly and we received Complimentary Welcome Drink at China House! Its totally a different experience. To those who appreciate old antiquity, this place is highly recommended! I am looking forward to have a night at Bon Ton in Langkawi!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Georgetown is a wonderful place. A beautiful old colonial town, with lots of British and Chinese influences. And lots of colorful two storage houses. We loved it, especially the Chinese kongsis and their temples. And the street markets and the food courts and the places of worship (buddhist, islamic and hindu). We loved about all of it. But were to stay?? They've got Shangri-La's (which we love), and O&E and much more, but just stay here! In the middle of the old town! What do you want more than to get out of bed in the morning and walk into the old town, before the tourist get in, who invade only after ten thirty. They've got four houses, beautiful renovated. We stayed in number 95, a property for four. Great for a family. Beautiful ground floor, with living room, kitchen, patio and toilet. And a beautiful first floor with bathroom, two bedrooms (one with a king bed and one with two single beds) and a patio. All having air conditioning and ventilators. On first glance you think you're going to have a problem with the mosquitoes, but there are mosquito nets and there's really no problem with them. It's just perfect and the best place to stay when you really want to experience Georgetown, its inhabitants, food and culture. But when you just want to go to the beach and live a luxury live, go somewhere else. For example the Holiday Inn or the Hard Rock Hotel, about 30 minutes out of town. But don't pretend you visited Georgetown!

Room Tip: Number 95 is very good for a party of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for my partner's birthday and the very kind staff helped make it a special day. The property itself is wonderfully unique with lovely furnishing.We also ate at the nearby sister China House for a meal, which was fantastic. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Whilst most reviews are full of praise for this establishment.We took one look and then left.We were left disillusioned by arriving at what seemed a derelict building.Then having to walk up and down the street to find someone who knew about the place.Once we did,and were taken to what I can only describe as an old barn door secured by a cheap brass padlock.We were shown inside.Whilst the room appeared the same as the photographes.The furnishings were not up to what we expected for a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank dotpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We did book No 95 but when we arrived we were put in 91 Armenian St. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the bathroom is very large with 2 showers. The stairs are very steep which makes carrying luggage up very difficult.The main bedroom is at the front of the building and with the shutters the room can not be made completely dark, It can also be quite noisy with a lot of dogs in the street, scooters going past and the 2 nearby Mosques' dawn call to prayer. The second bedroom on the other hand is at the back with no outside windows.
There is tea making facilities and a fridge but no cooking facilities but with the abundance of cheap food nearby this was not a problem.
It is very conveniently located for the old part of town and is about a 10min walk to the Ferry Terminal to Butterworth where there is a major bus terminal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is in its way one of the best hotels in the world. Sensitively but boldly restored traditional shophouses, which create a feeling of having your own private place to come back to. The Meditarranean fusion restaurant is excellent too and makes a nice change from all the street food you feel obliged to sample, all the thick curries and noodles and broths. Beds are huge and comfortable, colours are brilliant, and staff are lovely.

Room Tip: Both sites are good, though I felt a bit more part of the action at the main Stewart Lane site than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#15 of 84 in George Town
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#19 of 84 in George Town
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coffee Atelier
Coffee Atelier
#14 of 84 in George Town
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clove Hall
Clove Hall
#8 of 170 in George Town
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straits Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits Collection

Property: Straits Collection
Address: 89-95 Armeniam Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Hotel Class:3 star — Straits Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retail, restaurants and residences in antique Chinese shophouses located in the core zone of UNESCO Heritage Georgetown, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Straits Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straits Collection Hotel Georgetown
Straits Collection Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing