We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch location, charming quarters, lovely staff”
Review of Straits Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straits Collection
Ranked #115 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We went to Georgetown in February 2013 and could not have picked a better location, at a quiet spot along a central artery of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. These are old Chinese shop houses, so do not expect slick and modern, however they are full of charm, and happy colours. Ours was spotless, airy and comfortable. From here we walked down the street to China House for the best lattes in Malaysia, a never ending array of delicious desserts and equally delectable dishes. Back in our little shop house, the water pressure was strong, plenty of hot water, internet was speedy, and there was plenty of natural light. Good value and a sweet experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in Penang. Wonderful town with plenty of good food and warm locals. The Straits Collection was recommended to me by a friend who is a local. Therefore I had no qualms about booking this property. Location wise we had no complaints because it was in the middle of Georgetown. With the price that we paid, we were expecting close to a luxury boutique property but there were wooden panels covering the door from the ceiling which looked like they were just put there temporarily to block out the noise from the streets. The front door was in its original state (you could see the street outside in between the panels) which meant that the noise from the street outside was crystal clear. Also for light sleepers, do be aware that the property is very close to a mosque so the daily morning calls to prayers can be very loud. The wiring work was shoddy, they were firstly not concealed, secondly they looked as if they were done in a hurry and we could even see the router dangling from the wires. The toilets were also not thoroughly cleaned, they smelt of urine. Amenities were not replenished on a daily basis. Towels were not changed even though we soiled one and placed them on the floor. Though we will be back to Penang, we will definitely not be staying at The Straits Collection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bleudauphin2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent a night in Penang, initially wanted to lookout for street food in Penang! Found this old charm and we had a wonderful pleasant stay for the weekend! Staff was very Friendly and we received Complimentary Welcome Drink at China House! Its totally a different experience. To those who appreciate old antiquity, this place is highly recommended! I am looking forward to have a night at Bon Ton in Langkawi!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiedaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Georgetown is a wonderful place. A beautiful old colonial town, with lots of British and Chinese influences. And lots of colorful two storage houses. We loved it, especially the Chinese kongsis and their temples. And the street markets and the food courts and the places of worship (buddhist, islamic and hindu). We loved about all of it. But were to stay?? They've got Shangri-La's (which we love), and O&E and much more, but just stay here! In the middle of the old town! What do you want more than to get out of bed in the morning and walk into the old town, before the tourist get in, who invade only after ten thirty. They've got four houses, beautiful renovated. We stayed in number 95, a property for four. Great for a family. Beautiful ground floor, with living room, kitchen, patio and toilet. And a beautiful first floor with bathroom, two bedrooms (one with a king bed and one with two single beds) and a patio. All having air conditioning and ventilators. On first glance you think you're going to have a problem with the mosquitoes, but there are mosquito nets and there's really no problem with them. It's just perfect and the best place to stay when you really want to experience Georgetown, its inhabitants, food and culture. But when you just want to go to the beach and live a luxury live, go somewhere else. For example the Holiday Inn or the Hard Rock Hotel, about 30 minutes out of town. But don't pretend you visited Georgetown!

Room Tip: Number 95 is very good for a party of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for my partner's birthday and the very kind staff helped make it a special day. The property itself is wonderfully unique with lovely furnishing.We also ate at the nearby sister China House for a meal, which was fantastic. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Whilst most reviews are full of praise for this establishment.We took one look and then left.We were left disillusioned by arriving at what seemed a derelict building.Then having to walk up and down the street to find someone who knew about the place.Once we did,and were taken to what I can only describe as an old barn door secured by a cheap brass padlock.We were shown inside.Whilst the room appeared the same as the photographes.The furnishings were not up to what we expected for a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank dotpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We did book No 95 but when we arrived we were put in 91 Armenian St. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the bathroom is very large with 2 showers. The stairs are very steep which makes carrying luggage up very difficult.The main bedroom is at the front of the building and with the shutters the room can not be made completely dark, It can also be quite noisy with a lot of dogs in the street, scooters going past and the 2 nearby Mosques' dawn call to prayer. The second bedroom on the other hand is at the back with no outside windows.
There is tea making facilities and a fridge but no cooking facilities but with the abundance of cheap food nearby this was not a problem.
It is very conveniently located for the old part of town and is about a 10min walk to the Ferry Terminal to Butterworth where there is a major bus terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Coffee Atelier
Coffee Atelier
#8 of 87 in George Town
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 87 in George Town
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 87 in George Town
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 87 in George Town
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straits Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits Collection

Address: 89-95 Armeniam Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Hotel Class:3 star — Straits Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retail, restaurants and residences in antique Chinese shophouses located in the core zone of UNESCO Heritage Georgetown, Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Straits Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straits Collection Hotel Georgetown
Straits Collection Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing