We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great little hotel - with historical charm and great service”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This was a great little hotel - with historical charm and great service”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We loved The Yeng Keng - right in the heart of George Town - it offers fabulous rooms, great prices and lovely staff. Staying here you get a real feel for the history of George Town - something a more conventional hotel lacks. Our room was impeccably clean and well appointed, the small swimming pool to the rear of the hotel is a welcome relief after a day of walking and the breakfasts were a treat - especially the roti chanai and local fruits. We would definitely recommend a stay at The Yeng Keng and can't wait to go back ourselves.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xen_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    225
    38
    5
    2
See reviews for
139
403
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A fantastic hotel - right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Georgetown, but miraculously a quiet haven - great courtyard for breakfast and drinks, lovely pool and very quiet. We stayed in a Mansion Double room. Due to it being a converted house the room was small but we knew it would be before booking, so this was not a problem for us. But really well furbished. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a real change from the monotony of high rise large hotels. It has real character and looks great too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in June 2011. When we arrived we had an initial problem with our credit card. Our fault not the hotels. Whilst we sorted it out we were given complementary drinks and told "just come back down when when you get a chance". That set the tone. The staff are excellent. There when you need them and do not hastle you at all. Happy to arrange tours but never pushy. The room was fantastic too. We had the chulia suite. Very comfortable and exceptionally well furnished. This place could charge far more that it does and I would still book in. Chulia St itself is busy and largely full of backpacker places, but as soon as you step into the court yard you could be miles away from the hustle and bustle. Sitting by the pool you hear nothing of the street life. Seriously I cannot fault this hotel. Finally on our last day we were having a late afternoon swim and one of the receptionists came out and said as it was our honeymoon the staff had bought us a little cake!! I think we mentioned to one of the bar staff on the first night we had just got married- we certainly were not looking for freebies. Seriously impressed. And I am hard to impress!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian_dulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELSON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. We are a young family (aged 3 & 6 yrs) and it was perfect for us. There is a good size pool which our kids loved (I am confused by other's reports of the pool being to small. It was 4 ft deep and maybe 12m long). The staff were very nice, friendly, accommodating, and pleasant. They were kind to our children and made our stay very enjoyable.
The hotel is brand new. It is an old Chinese mansion in the middle of Chinatown which has been extensively renovated. It is great to see a slice of history being preserved. We stayed in one of the Chulia Suites. It was fantastic for us. We made little beds in the lounge for the children at night (one of the sofa & one on the floor - but a cot was available. We're from NZ, so our kids are pretty hardy and didn't complain about that!). There were two tv's (one in the lounge and one in the bedroom). It had a beautiful bathroom (all new). There was a fan and air con in both the lounge & bedroom. The rooms were very clean, and more than we were expecting. Free Wi-fi in the bedroom. A small bar fridge with complimentary water. The only negative thing was it was probably the hardest bed I've ever slept on and I have a very bad back and enjoy a hard bed! Also, we had a room at the front and the mosque across the street would start up with its prayer sessions at ungodly hours.....but for us, it just added to the experience of being in a Muslim country, and wasn't really a problem, the kids copped most of the noise and slept through it OK.
Tour guide: The hotel booked us a tour with Jalil - the taxi driver who lives across the street. He was friendly, smiling, and nice to the children. We highly recommend him as a way of seeing the sites of Penang. He doesn't drive a flash car, but I never felt unsafe with his driving and he was able to tell us about his life living in Penang and his family, and the history of Penang which we found very interesting. It cost 100 ringits for 4 hrs and 25R every hour afterwards and we always tipped him as his charges were not high. We did two tours with him, one to Penang Hill & the Kek Lok Si temple (that was enough for our kids) and the second day he took us to the Butterfly Farm and the Tropical Fruit Farm, and also gave us a quick tour of Chinatown and Fort Cornwallis. He'll take you anywhere you want to go and is helpful trying to figure that out, if you're not sure.
The hotel is walking distance to the sea front and Fort Cornwallis, in the middle of Chinatown and the historic district and 3 blocks walk to the shopping mall. Sure, the hotel isn't 5 Star, but I can see why it has the number one rating.
Stay here if you want to experience Georgetown. If you want to lie on a beach or swim in a mammoth pool, or if you're looking for something cheap - go somewhere else. If you want to appreciate the culture of Penang and experience why Georgetown is a World Heritage Site, then this is the place to come. Thank you to the team at Yeng Keng. You guys were great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Family_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

You know when you are staying somewhere special when other tourists stop to take photos of your hotel!
Breakfast in the courtyard, and a beer in the evening were really very lovely and so was relaxing by the pool in the afternoon after a busy day of sightseeing and actvities.

The staff were always very helpful and willing to help. We had a small drama when the visa payment was processed twice by mistake, but this problem was quickly resolved and the money refunded with no fuss.

There are different types-sizes of rooms available to suit different budgets so if you aren't happy with a small room, book a suite!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We chose this place mainly due to its proximity to the many street food carts and other markets in the old part of town - and it proved to be perfect. Just minutes walk to so much, and importantly close to get back to by foot, to escape the heat and into the air conditioned rooms. The hotel is restful and remarkably quiet inside (even in the open air common areas) for being so near a busy street. I highy recommend the Chennai Suite, with its extra room and beautiful classic decor. Not sure if all their beds are that firm, but ours was - which suited). Helpful and welcoming staff, front desk that seemed to be in attendance 24/7, free internet, pool, nice breakfast area and well appointed (and daily serviced rooms), nothing was a problem; extra water etc...we'll certainly be back.
One tip: if you do the Penang Hill tram trip (which I'd also recommend, for the new tram itself and the views down to town and across to the mainland from 700m up), try to go early to avoid very long and slow queues.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonesAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Beautifully restored house turned into a hotel. Stayed there for three nights. The rooms are small but with beautiful, simple, wood furniture, and very comfortable.
The staff is v friendly, and the best part is having breakfast under the veranda. The Malay kueh are the best part of it!
It can be quite noisy and the pool is only for you to dip your toes (and a bit more) but it is on Chulia street, ie close to many of the best food stalls- think Nasi Kandar, old-style desserts,,,, and walking distance to the Blue mansion, some of the museums....

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back,maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryelledem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing