We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yeng Keng Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Mews(George Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nam Keng Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waldorf Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    Merchant Hotel(George Town)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (830)
    Filter reviews
    830 results
    Traveller rating
    548
    234
    39
    7
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    548
    234
    39
    7
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewschulia streetchulia suitegarden suitesmall hotelsmall poolwithin walking distancecall to prayerboutique hotelrestored chinesesitting roomceiling fanbreakfast was includedpublic areaschicken pielittle indiaexploring georgetownnasi lemak
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    639 - 644 of 830 reviews
    Reviewed 16 July 2011

    I booked this hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at 9am after an overnight flight from Australia; knowing that check in was at 2pm we were just expecting to be able to drop our bags. We were greeted with cool drinks and our two rooms were made available to us straight away which was heaven! Similarly our check out time was extended at no extra charge to match our flights out of Penang. This type of personalised service is what makes the Yeng Keng so special.
    The hotel is beautiful, comfortable and clean but it is the attitude of all the staff that really stands out.
    The breakfasts are also exceptional with lots of wonderful Malaysian treats. I would encourage everyone to be adventurous and try all the treasures wrapped in banana leaves. Breakfasts here were a real highlight for us!
    The location is very good in the centre of the old town and it's lovely to come back to a pool after a hot day sightseeing.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Maccyoz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 July 2011

    We found the hotel to be top class from the friendly welcoming start (apple juice whilst we signed in), to the exceptionally clean, well presented rooms, the excellent central location (all of Georgetowns sites in easy walking distance), the relaxing outside bar and terrace, the well kept swimming pool, the smiling, helpful staff and the beautiful building.

    Definitely the place to stay if you visit Georgetown.

    Room Tip: Book early!!
    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HKTron
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 July 2011

    It is a small hotel in the heart of Geoergetown. The staff were extremely friendly and could not have done more for us. We were geeted with a cold orange juice on arrival and when leaving the hotel for shopping were offered a bottle of cold water. Just a couple of simple gestures.

    Room Tip: The courtyard room was very quiet and overlooks the swimmingpool.
    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Culloden4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 July 2011

    We loved The Yeng Keng - right in the heart of George Town - it offers fabulous rooms, great prices and lovely staff. Staying here you get a real feel for the history of George Town - something a more conventional hotel lacks. Our room was impeccably clean and well appointed, the small swimming pool to the rear of the hotel is a welcome relief after a day of walking and the breakfasts were a treat - especially the roti chanai and local fruits. We would definitely recommend a stay at The Yeng Keng and can't wait to go back ourselves.

    Room Tip: Pay the extra money for one of the suites.
    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Xen_Paul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 June 2011

    A fantastic hotel - right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Georgetown, but miraculously a quiet haven - great courtyard for breakfast and drinks, lovely pool and very quiet. We stayed in a Mansion Double room. Due to it being a converted house the room was small but we knew it would be before booking, so this was not a problem for us. But really well furbished. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a real change from the monotony of high rise large hotels. It has real character and looks great too!

    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Smithies_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews