We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed heritage hotel”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well-appointed heritage hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Yeng Keng hotel in Georgetown, Penang for 3 days and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is housed in a beautifully restored old home reminiscent of the bygone days; the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated; the bathrooms are spotless. The location is perfect for exploring all of Georgetown on foot and bus stops are located just down the street to explore more distant areas like the beach or the hilltop cable car. The staff are very friendly and helpful. In the evening if you are tired after all the walking, you can just relax on the patio with a drink and be served a delicious dinner. The breakfast spread is also very good. Overall, a great place to stay when in Penang.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    225
    38
    5
    2
See reviews for
139
402
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Love the experience of staying in a heritage house. Service is personal and 5-star. Staying here is like living in a wealthy Asian household where the staff is always around to attend your needs. The hotel grounds and bedroom was elegant and sparkling clean. When I had guests come to visit and we sat down at reception, cold drinks were served (free) without us even asking for them. Staff was cleaning the hotel constantly. The receptionist Yeoh was like a long lost cousin - she was personable, friendly and so helpful. Lovely experience and would definitely stay here again. Location was great too in a narrow street with trishaws going past and old shophouses selling traditional medicines and everyday wares. One tip: if you have an unlocked phone, a block down the street is a little shop that sells everything from batteries to pencils and toys. Ask the lady for a sim card (MYR 26). You need identification to register up to 10 sim cards. It comes loaded with alot of minutes and will save you $$$ making local and regional calls. If you have a cold (or not) it's worth stepping into the traditional medicine shop a few feet away to watch them draw up herbs for their customers.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly first - their promotional rates was the same as the best hotel rates online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Yeng Keng exceeded our expectations. Although our room was small the pool area directly outside was wonderful. The staff, especially Yeo, were keen to make our stay phenomenal. Breakfast was limited in choice but the new breakfast area should see things improved here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank back2bali_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waskaganish, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

On a previous trip, I stayed at one of the prestige hotels on Gurney Drive; had I known better, I would have definitely have stayed at the Yeng Keng Hotel. I can not say enough nice things about the staff: they were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with- probably the most personable hotel staff I have met in my travels. This is a boutique hotel with only 20 rooms; the rooms may be small to some but the decor more than makes up for it. I considered cancelling a week in Kuala Lumpur, and would have if my hotel there wasn't already paid for, just to stay in this hotel and in Penang for the extra week. This is a gem of an hotel, beautifully renovated and next to the heart of historical George town.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small side, the regular suites are fine for a solo traveller or a very
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happybarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It seems that fate led us to this delightful hotel. We were staying at Ryokan, a hostel/hotel on a parellel street. After staying one night with the ridulous noise levels we decided to search for other accomodation. Yeng Keng was our treat on this trip. First, the staff were some of the most helpful we've had. The recptionist, Yeoh, right away arranged our bags and whipped out a map to show us nearby cusines that we may like to try - very detailed and catered. The room was definately the highlight with an old world east meets west vibrancy. My favourite aspect was the deep royal blue feature wall and high ceilings. The room had a king bed, air con, separate bathroom (decent sized shower), safe, bar fridge, plasma wall-mounted TV and...a ceiling fan (best thing ever for sleeping if you don't like the chill of the air con)!
The architure and furnishings of the rest of the building had a lot of character, chandeliers, chinese day beds, wicker chairs/furntiture and even a tree growing out of the floor in the back lobby.
There is also a pool, internet access, breakfast included and a bar/cafe/resturant.
I would highly highly reccomend this venue

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room on the seconf story!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bushbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I booked this hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at 9am after an overnight flight from Australia; knowing that check in was at 2pm we were just expecting to be able to drop our bags. We were greeted with cool drinks and our two rooms were made available to us straight away which was heaven! Similarly our check out time was extended at no extra charge to match our flights out of Penang. This type of personalised service is what makes the Yeng Keng so special.
The hotel is beautiful, comfortable and clean but it is the attitude of all the staff that really stands out.
The breakfasts are also exceptional with lots of wonderful Malaysian treats. I would encourage everyone to be adventurous and try all the treasures wrapped in banana leaves. Breakfasts here were a real highlight for us!
The location is very good in the centre of the old town and it's lovely to come back to a pool after a hot day sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maccyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We found the hotel to be top class from the friendly welcoming start (apple juice whilst we signed in), to the exceptionally clean, well presented rooms, the excellent central location (all of Georgetowns sites in easy walking distance), the relaxing outside bar and terrace, the well kept swimming pool, the smiling, helpful staff and the beautiful building.

Definitely the place to stay if you visit Georgetown.

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing