We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yeng Keng Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spices Hotel(George Town)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
553
237
41
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
237
41
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschulia streetchulia suitegarden suitesmall hotelsmall poolwithin walking distancecall to prayerboutique hotelrestored chinesesitting roomceiling fanbreakfast was includedpublic areaschicken pielittle indiaexploring georgetownnasi lemak
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We read all the other reviews, and the place seemed good. We were only going to be in Penang a night, and really, the basic thing we were looking for was clean. But Yeng Keng was simply a gem, an old style colonial bldg. right in the middle of everything. Paying a few extra bucks was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: AC was great
Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good points:
- beautifully restored and charming chinese building
- very central location
- good breakfast
- good service

Minuses:
- very small rooms

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellers_March2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family was here for a family reunion and vacation. There were altogether 13 of us. The staff was more than friendly. Every one of them, from manager to the housekeepers, was always ready to offer their help, with a smile, if I may add.

Location was superb as all the great and delicious local delights are within walking distance.

Kudos to the restaurant staff too. The chef made our stay especially memorable when he graciously accepted our humble request of making prawn noodle for breakfast on our day of departure.

First class hospitality, friendly staff, yummy food, comfortable accommodation and great location. Will definitely stay here if we are ever back in Penang.

Thank you, Jackie, Winnie Aziz, Chef Tan and many other staff whom I can't recall your names.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasongsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just check in today and am very impressed with the overall layout and design. From a depleted mansion to a very well designed hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahleongsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We felt at home at the Yeng Keng. The hotel is set in a beautifully restored chinese building on Chulia Street which is within the UNESCO world heritage part of George Town. It is definitely one of the nicer hotels that have recently sprung-up in what was normally the backpacker area. You may find better, bigger and more modern hotels in other parts of town but the Yeng Keng does have its own charm and is good value.

We rented a standard room because we did not want to blow the budget by too much. The standard room is not huge but we found it was adequate for a couple. The hotel has a medium size pool which is ideal to cool down after walking around town.

We give the thumbs up to the Yeng Keng cafe. The breakfast was included in our hotel rate and we really enjoyed it. The breakfast is buffet style from which you can get you usual western goodies like eggs, bacon, toats etc...but my favourite was their selection of asian goodies including some nonya sweets and roti chanai.

Other good things; free wifi access and umbrellas! If you need to do some laundry you can get it done at 5MR/kg at a store across the street from the hotel.

Hope you found thus useful and enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: For a bit more privacy ask for a room that is not located at the reception (though it is very quiet).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews