We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Yeng Keng hotel last week. We had a family room. The hotel was beautiful, the service amazing, especially Yeoh who was very helpful. The only thing that was a bit hard for us was that the family room was very small, just one room with a king size bed, single bed and baby cot, so we had to settle our two kids to sleep and then sit in the dark... it would have been good if there was another area we could use. The room faced the small courtyard but it rained a lot so the courtyard furniture was all wet, we couldn't use it.
The pool was smallish but very nice, we were there every afternoon, a great way to escape the heat. The kids loved it too.
The breakfast was good, western and Malaysian options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agapantha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The first impression of Yeng Keng was a positive one. We arrived at dusk, and the hotel was well lit up, looked pretty and stood out in this neighborhood of old houses. Outside the hawker stalls were setting up for the night's business.

Staff - the bell boy gave us a big smile (which is always a good sign), turned down my offer to help and, with one piece of luggage under each arm, briskly climbed up the stair to our room on the first floor. The reception person on duty when we checked in, though pleasant, appeared to be rather perfunctory. I asked for a local map and the response was negative. However, after a pause, on her own volition she produced a map of the hotel's immediate vicinity. On the next day I myself actually found maps of the island on a stand not far from the reception desk.

Room - Our room was spacious and well equipped with tea making facilities, air-con, flat screen TV etc. The bathroom was of modern design.

Cleanliness - housekeeping staff did a good job in this regard.

Pool - there was a pool on the ground floor and it looked inviting. The water looked sparkling clean. We did not use as we were too busy doing sightseeing.

Location - perfect for exploring Georgetown as it was right in the middle of the historical area. In this modern age, it is rare to see buildings of the British colonial era still upstanding. The hotel is under 15 minutes' walk to the jetty where you can catch a ferry to Butterworth. As well buses with the Jetty sign frequently passed in front of the hotel. Close to the jetty on the Butterworth side, you can catch a train or a coach to other Malaysian cities. We caught a luxury coach to Ipoh (about 160 Km away) for the princely sum of 20 ringgit one way per person. The shopping mall Komtar is about 20 minutes' walk down Jalan Penang. It was under renovation when we visited so there were quite a few empty shops; but the advantage was that a lot of the merchandise was on sale in the department store. We bought quite a few items of clothings such as shorts, polos etc at unbelievable prices.

Transport - we mostly walked as we enjoyed admiring the architecture. On occasions we caught a cab which were plentiful and cheap, but you must agree on a price with the driver first. If in doubt, ask the hotel staff to book the cab for you. The hotel uses a certain cab company and would advise you of the price beforehand.

Eat / Drink - breakfast was included in our tariff and consisted of Western and Malaysian food. Of particular interest were the local fruits and the Malaysian sweets. One thing we did enjoy was to sit and have a chat in the front courtyard or the front verandah with a drink in hand prior to going out to dinner. To find somewhere to eat could not be easier. Hawker stalls serving local Malaysian specialities were right outside the hotel. At the front door, turn left and walk under 10 minutes and you are in Little India where a full array of Indian cuisine is on display, turn right about the same distance is the Red Garden, a large Malaysian food court.

We love Malaysia and will go back to Yeng Keng when we hit Penang again!

Room Tip: Garden Suite - really a larger room on a quiet corner on the first floor so it is away from the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FreddoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for the long Mayday holiday with a large group of other Harley fans. The Manager Jacky and staff couldnot have done any more for us. The quality of the hotels and amenities are top notch and from its history an amazing place to stay. The Cafe was fantastic. Thankyou to all at Yeng Keng

Room Tip: This is perfectly located in the centre of the old town. Us the cafe while you are there as the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just came back from a trip to Penang, where we stayed with friends at the Yeng Keng Hotel in Georgetown. It is a stylish hotel, built in the middle of the historical quarter. It is very nicely decorated and has kept the charm of its historical background. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and also very nicely decorated. Every thing, inclusive of amenities , are well thought of for your comfort. There is a very nice cafe bar restaurant, serving all sort of delicious local dishes. Ask the chef for his recommendations, you will not be disappointed. And don't forget to try the bombe Alaska: succulent desert!. But above all, what makes this hotel very special is the kindness, the all time attention of the staff and it's expert GM Jacky. Well done guys! You made our stay an enchantment ...Will come back!

Room Tip: Suites are extra beautiful and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff were very welcoming when we arrived here and checked into Chulia Suite 201 for four of our six nights in Georgetown. The suite consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room, compact but immaculate. The bathroom had plenty of toiletries and there are T.V.'s and air conditioners in each room. The bed was quite hard but the pillows soft; the latter which seemed typical for our whole trip in Malaysia.The whole property is beautifully restored and has lots of places to relax with plenty of reading material around. Just beware of the mosquitoes as it is very open.

Breakfast here is fairly basic and four of them was enough for us. You need to get in early as the food is cooked and then left to go cold on the counter - cold spring rolls anyone? The kitchen will produce fried eggs or omelettes on request as part of the tariff but be prepared to wait awhile. Orange juice is of the carton variety. The one highlight was the nonya sweets - these were delicious plus having the daily papers to read.

We had laundry done here towards the end of our stay; put in by noon and delivered back the following evening. The clothes were not dry, slightly damp so we had to drape around the room to dry off which was disappointing.

As mentioned previously the staff are very personable and can give you advice on buses etc for getting around. Chulia Street is very busy, a constant stream of transit buses, cars and motorbikes all day and into the night. We ran our air con to drown it out at night for sleeping.

Cheap dining options are abundant nearby and there are street stalls set up every night. Avoid Mikes Place around the corner which is full of westerners eating pseudo western food. (a spag bol drowned in chilli sauce and herbs with traces of parmesan!)

Expect to pay RM48 from the airport.

Room Tip: Whilst the suites at the front of the hotel give you a bit more space, these are noisy because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chulia St was were we wanted to be - it represents the heart of 'old' Georgetown. It was a happy meeting of location and accommodation. Where to start? As always, our visit was 'made' by the quality of the hotel staff, who were always obliging, always friendly, always helpful. We took the suite (whose name escapes me), and found ourselves with two smallish rooms and a bathroom; the only real problem from the room size was where to keep opened cases, although the sitting room helped with that. Everything which one would expect to find in a 'modern' hotel was in these rooms, and the quality of all these 'things' was very high. The restoration of this hotel has been superb - far superior to that of so many other so-called 'boutique' hotels; finding room for a swimming pool was a work of genius.

If there are any negatives, one is that the hotel is directly across the road from a mosque, and the Muzzein calls the faithful to prayer five times a day over a very good sound system; and the other is that while there are only two storeys to the hotel, there is no elevator. The positives are so numerous that I feel guilty about pointing those matters out, especially when we stopped noticing the call to prayer and when we enjoyed so much the hotel and the area it is in. We returned to it a week after our first stay and were greeted with rapture......

As to location, after 8pm Chulia St and its surrounds come to life: there is very good, and very inexpensive, 'street food', bars aplenty, and one can just watch the Eastern world go by

Room Tip: Rooms are small - the hotel publishes a schema on its website. Many of the smaller rooms, however, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Yeng Keng is a well kept hotel in a heritage building. The owner did a great job of preserving the traditional elements but renovating just enough to make sure water is running well in the bathroom and wi-fi is functioning as expected. So, what you get is a unique experience of historical Georgetown with modern comfort.
The staff, especially Yo (hope I get the name right) at reception, were very helpful and friendly.
There is a small pool, which we didn't use. The hotel is located on a lively street in the historical district. The breakfast served in the hotel cafe included both hot and cold choices, not very extravagant but more than enough for a nice start of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nijat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel allows guests another reason to love Penang, Malaysia. Once an Anglo-Indian bungalow residence in the 1800s, was restored and now one of the best-restored properties in George Town.Elegant and stylish, our 19 rooms and suites guarantee comfort and exclusivity. Each one features vintage furniture and wooden panel floors. Everything—from pillows and linens to wall art down to the carpet—are tastefully picked and organized. Most of these rooms also come with patios that offer views of charming Chulia Street. There’s also a swimming pool, a function room and a courtyard where you can hold events like weddings, parties, and other social functions. Lastly, there’s a limousine service and tour desk if you want to further explore the country. The boutique hotel is located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of George Town—a city known for its pre-war architecture, fascinating culture, authentic restaurants, and religious structures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing