We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oriental Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in George Town
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Muntri Mews(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waldorf Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Yeng Keng Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Nam Keng Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
4
8
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
8
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The food is just above average but the service is great. We've eaten there twice now and it is relatively cheap. The man who served us was very friendly and helpful. I'd go again if in George Town, its ideal for a quick and affordable bit to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I normally had my morning coffee at the Oriental Guest House and without any doubt the services offered are no less than a 5-star hotel. An extremely clean environment and attended by a very polite, friendly and professional host Mr Ken. Keep it up !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We've eaten here several times but never stayed in the guesthouse. So this is only a cafe review. This is a good solid choice for breakfast or lunch, For either meal I particularly like the croissant with tuna and melted cheese. More conventional western breakfasts are pretty good, too. Lunchwise, I've also had some tasty fried rice at the W&O.The gentleman who works here is charming, welcoming and informative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have been here at Oriental Guest House 3 weeks now and no plans to leave yet. This Guest House for the budget traveller certainly ticks all the boxes. It is a lovely century old building with high ceilings, period features and dark wooden floors. The rooms are clean and basic with a window, ceiling fan and light ... with high ceilings like these, who needs air-conditioning. The single shower and 2 toilets are good and clean. The food downstairs served in the Western Oriental Cafe (W&O Cafe) is excellent and very reasonably priced with a huge assortment of western and oriental cuisine ... their mixed fruit pancake with ice-cream is divine! The location is excellent - a quiet street and you're surrounded by lovely old terrace buildings. You're also only a few minutes' walk from Komtar (main bus terminal), huge shopping centres and malls, LFS and First Avenue cinema complexes, day and night markets etc etc. To complete this feeling, the music playing in the W&O Cafe is from the 1950s and 60s with many also from the 20s and 30s ...and the trishaws peddle past your guest house day and night with their tiny old bells chiming ... making you feel you've stepped back in time. The cafe has free wifi and there's also wifi in the rooms. Finally, the sweet man that runs the guest house and cafe during the day (Ken) is truly a one in a million - a true Malay gentleman who can't do enough for you. He's very helpful with any queries about George Town, tours, bus info etc. In fact, he's one of the main reasons we've stayed in George Town for so long. The service here is second to none and I can't see us leaving any time soon. If you're looking to spend time in Penang, why not step back in time and stay in this guest house in George Town. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't forget to eat at the cafe downstairs (W&O Cafe) - large choice menu, very good food and very reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

W&O (western and Oriental cafe) is part of 75 lodge and star.
we had a tripple fan room for 50 rm a night.
Very basic. Three single beds and 1 fan in a big room. The rooms on the first floor seems better. Shared bathrooms. Bathrooms are clean. 2 toilets and 1 shower on 4 a 5 rooms.
The rooms are basic but clean. Bed is comfy enough. Quit at night, no street noise.
The restaurant is just ok for a quick snack or coffee but we ate all meals in town.
Everything in old georgetown is nearby so the location is ok.
Wifi in the restaurant is free (also wifi in the room). Computers you can use for 4 rm an hour in the restaurant. Staff is friendly. The man who runs it in daytime can tell you a lot of penang and georgetown. He knows all the places and how to reach them. Very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews