We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of the Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palanquinn Heritage Suites
Ranked #57 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Sounds of the Street”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Despite its curious name of "Pulau Tikus", which translates as "Rat Island", Pulau Tikus is actually a small suburb of George Town. It is neither an island nor is it infested with rats. Instead it is actually named after a small rocky islet located off the north-east coast of Penang.

Pulau Tikus has in the past been home to small Siamese and Burmese communities, and this can be seen in the road names which reflect places located in those two countries. Subsequently it has also been home to the Eurasian community and has always been considered a high end residential area by Penangites.

Bangkok Lane is one of the nicer roads in Pulau Tikus, consisting of two rows of 41 townhouses of similar design. Built in 1928, by Cheah Leong Keah, these pretty pre-war houses are still in remarkably good shape and still owned by the Cheah family.

The Palanquinn Heritage Suites occupy some of these old townhouse, while others are lived in/ rented by locals. The office is in one the townhouse in the middle of the street, we just walked in and luckily they had a suite available.

The suite we took was the Terrace Suite at no.39, which is basically on the ground floor of one of the second townhouse on the right at the start of Bangkok Lane, right near the hub-bub of the adjacent Burmah Road, which is one of the main thoroughfares in George Town. Other suites available include the Loft Suite which is on top of the Terrace Suite. There are 2 mezzanine suites at no.20, Bangkok Lane and the Dwell suites at no.17.

The Terrace Suite has its own outdoor veranda, where you can sit and watch the going-ons on the street and the mee goreng (fried noodles) stall at the kopitiam (chinese coffee shop) opposite the road. If you drive, you can park on the street side bays, which is a bit difficult during the day due to the busy daytime activities. The roadside council attendant will place a ticket on your windshield for you to pay for the use of the bay; just pass the ticket to the management of Palanquinn who will settle the parking tickets for you. At night, parking is easy, as there are hardly any cars.

The terrace suite is large, with air-cond, fan, double bed, lcd television, dresser and other period appropriate furniture. Other reviews have mentioned on the hard floors, well it is an old pre-war house. The walk-in bathroom is huge, and does not have any doors separating it from the bedroom area. Ceilings are high, as expected in these pre-wars buildings.

If you want the experience of living in an authentic pre-war house in an authentic penang street, you cannot go far wrong staying in these suites. If you need the mod-cons and do not want to be awakened by sounds of the street in the early morning, check into your run-of-the mill big chain hotels instead. For me, give me the authenticity over the hotels anytime!

Room Tip: Terrace suite does not have bathroom doors, so suitable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

If you are bored with branded hotels and looking for the distinctively different, try this welcoming and well-managed Heritage Hotel, just off Jalan Burmah and near hosts of eating places, a market and interesting organic shops. Remember you are stepping back in time, and although you will have one of the quietist airconditioning units I have experienced, the hard surfaces of walls and floors and absence of soundproofing like double-glazing don't offer much relief from the noise of passing motorbikes. Nonetheless, management offers much useful information on arrival so you can become an instantly well-oriented traveller. And when you return from your peripatetic stroll in the hot Penang sun, you can have a shower in the immaculately clean bathroom installed - with awnings and curtains - on. the open air balcony above the street. Not many hotel brands have outdoor balcony bathooms:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SungeiSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

First we have to complement the outstanding courtesy and help offered by Jennifer and her colleagues; they were so helpful even in changing our original booking times and arranging some changes in flights. Couldn't have done it without them.
I must admit we were a little disappointed with our room, although it was very simply functional.
Having lived in Penang generation ago we created higher expectations and thought the Palanquinn could fulfill these. Anyway we had a chat about this and offered some suggestions.
But our hosts made the difference and for this we thank them.
The street has been made into a one way and thus attracts a lot of traffic which goes late and starts early.
With very little work and cost this boutique hotel can really move up a notch.

Room Tip: I think travellers have to really set out what they want and read these reviews. It looks like the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narromine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our experience at Palanquinn was just lovely. We were in one of the Mezzanine rooms which was spacious and quiet compared to most other parts of Penang. The hosts, Jennifer and another helpful young lady, went out of their way to find good vegetarian eating places for my partner and I, and we did find an amazing one - Evergreen, just around the corner.
The street is charming and a short walk to the open air hawker markets where we had the best Tom Yam in the whole of Malaysia.
There was a great selection of DVDs which was great as we tried to avoid the afternoon heat, so it was perfect to chill in the room before heading out again. And breakfast was delicious! I loved the sweet tea most of all. Definitely would return, and recommend this place as somewhere authentic to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORENBURG
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

First of all, if you'r in doubt about the type of accommodation to take in Palanquinn - the answer is simple - book the Loft Suite.

It's nice to have particularly whole heritage house for you stay. Great living room, nice colonial style bedroom with excellent bed and pillows. Impressive open-style bathroom, which is comfortable even if it is raining outside. All rooms are air conditioned with a nice antiquary furniture in a very good condition. Sleeping quality seems to be ok, as we did not get a problem sleeping until 11am, because bedroom windows are facing inner yard.

I have to say a special word about balcony – it's very convenient, we have beautiful time having a breakfast in the morning there.

You have an own entrance hall with a nice cobbled walk which led to it through the grass and a little garden.

Palanquinn personnel is great – very helpful and friendly. Jennifer has given us full instructions about must-visit places to eat, provide with complimentary maps, supply with information about transportation.

Airport transfer by Palanquinn was cheap and comfortable.

It was a great experience to stay in such kind of accommodation.


ANTON SBORETS

ORENBURG, RUSSIA

Room Tip: Don't think too much - take the Loft Suite. You'l got the whole heritage house for you accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTON s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at the Loft Suite for 2 nights. It was located upstairs, with a separate bedroom, bathroom, living room and balcony. We especially enjoyed the living room, with the huge daybed and pretty coloured windows opening into the balcony. The bathroom was huge and open-air, looking down to the street.

I found the street noise bearable and had no problems sleeping in. It was enjoyable listening to traffic, people talking in the street and clanging woks from the coffee shop 5 houses away.

Parking is available on the street but it is difficult to get a lot during the day as there is a famous mee goreng (fried noodles) stall at the corner coffee shop. I did not have any problems at night though.

During my stay I did not meet Kelvin or Jeremy, but I spoke to them on the phone and they were very helpful and knowledgeable. Overall an excellent alternative to the usual modern hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at the Loft Suite for 4 nights.

It was the smell of the suite, that brought back memories of more than 30 years ago when I last visited my late grandma in Penang. These are old buildings, but they are renovated, clean and well maintained.

We have access to hotel convenience of air-conditioning, WIFI, satellite TV, etc in addition to a computer (no printer). Unlike a hotel or B&B, we have the entire place to ourselves. After settling down, it feels like a home away from home. Except we do not have a kitchen. But there is no need for a kitchen when delicious cooked food is readily available literally at our doorsteps. Jennifer is fantastic, she gave us lots of tips on where to eat and visit.

I must also add that Bangkok Lane was busy when we were there and the noise from the street permeated the living room. But it is not the kind of noise that annoy me; humans talking, traffic, the clashing of wok with spatula from the mee goreng stall. Like the birds chirping in the morning that woke me, the noise actually reminds me that I am back in Penang,

Special thanks to Uncle Chuan for the lift to the Snake Temple & airport.

Josh
Perth, Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh_Perth_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Havara Place
Havara Place
#61 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dwell by Palanquinn
Dwell by Palanquinn
#70 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
RG Heritage Boutique
RG Heritage Boutique
#131 of 169 in George Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gurney Suite Georgetown
Gurney Suite Georgetown
#51 of 106 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twelve Inn Boutique Homestay
Twelve Inn Boutique Homestay
#77 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palanquinn Heritage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Property: Palanquinn Heritage Suites
Address: 20 Lorong Bangkok, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palanquinn Heritage Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palanquinn is a captivating boutique Bed & Breakfast, comprising two lovely and private heritage suites, located on Bangkok Lane on the island of Penang, Malaysia. Our property is among the collection of colonial pre-war townhouses dating back to the 1920s, where two beautiful rows of heritage houses line this street, immortalized in time.At Palanquinn Heritage Suites, experience for yourself the legacy of its rich heritage and the intimacy of a comfortable and personalized milieu during your sojourn in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palanquinn Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanquinn Heritage Suites Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing