We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the middle of Georgetown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penaga

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of Georgetown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights over the weekend in Hotel Penaga. The hotel looks like an old shophouse from the outside but rooms are nicely furbished with modern facilities like jet sprays, rain-tree showers and Jacuzzi. Hotel is located at the heart of the city with plenty of amenities nearby. Only thing to note is the paper thin walls and ceilings - i can hear pounding going on upstairs at 3am... would be good if they can soundproof the walls.

Breakfast is disappointing, just go out of the hotel and you will be spoiled for choices with great food.

Overall this is one of the better hotels in Georgetown and recommended to all.

PS. the pool looks nothing like the photos.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Cindy
E-Commerce Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    262
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
144
305
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallorca Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Staff very friendly, atmosphere good. Nicely furnished but not practical...nowhere for toiletries and wardrobe not long enough for a dress. A little far to walk to the Heritage area when it is hot and humid. Advertised an elevator but the Hutton room with balcony was in another part and numerous steps to climb......what one would expect in a backpackers hostel! Pool is along the restaurant window...not ideal...and only two loungers. Enjoyed our stay but will not be back.

Room Tip: Confirm you do not have 26 steps of two flights of stairs to get to your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. For your information, to access to Hutton Deluxe Room, you can actually have an option to use the lif or staircase which lead you to the room. The lif is located just in front of the hotel reception counter.
We are looking forward to see you again in the next future.
Best regards
Cindy
E-Commerce Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel stay was pretty good on the whole, the pool was a great bonus after a hot morning's adventures. We tried to check in early but the room wasn't ready for a few more hours which was understandable. Staff offered to keep our bags which was helpful. The room we stayed in faced the inner courtyard so we only heard a little bit of traffic noise. Nearly everyday we'd find one mosquito in the room even when we didn't open the balcony door, so it seems that the cleaners open up the rooms while they clean. Breakfast was incredibly average. There were a few Western and Asian dishes on offer, but nothing to rave home about. The chef broke my poached egg so the yolk was leaking onto the piece of bread it was placed on. Breakfast was included with our stay but after the first morning, we decided to venture elsewhere. For around 15-30RM/AUD $5-10(for both of us) we found good breakfast spots in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As for the other issues, the management will look into it seriously.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The location is good. The room was located at the 2nd floor. It will be good if there are curtains to cover the lights when we were sleeping.
Near to some of the nice cafes.
Will visit again when we go.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Penaga was amazing. It's not your normal cookie cutter hotel! booking.com on which we booked our stay had messed up our booking, I called the hotel several times to assist and was delighted that when i arrived, they had upgrade us to one of the Transfer Suites!

Beautifully furnished with period re-creations and unique art, the Transfer Suite caused us to pause and ponder whether we would actually leave our room or spend our days just soaking in the ambience.

When the doors to the Suite open, you walk up a flight of stairs and suddenly the living room opens up in front of you. Lacquered wooden flooring cushion your feet and contemporary art lined the wall.

When you step out of the street-facing verandah, you are immediately transported back into the middle of Georgetown with the hustle and bustle of the streets just below you. It really felt like i was living in an old shophouse, though more luxuriously outfitted. The coffee machine was a nice addition to the normal fare of instant coffees and teas.

The four poster bed dominated the bedroom area of the suite and yet it didn't feel too big as the high ceilings balanced everything out. A small door leads you to a back balcony (my smoking area as all the rooms are non-smoking) over looking the gardens.

The jacuzzi bath was a treat and the bathroom was large and well laid out.

Attention to detail is amazing. Recreations of old Chinese lacquered cabinets take the place of standard hotel wardrobes. The round brass light switches. And that amazing floor!

We decided to take a gander at the Penaga Spa, the only complaint the other half had was that they didn't massage her face or head at the end ;). The spa service was good, me, i would have preferred a stronger masseuse, but at the end of the day, it was a very relaxing experience.

The hotel bar, from my untrained, unsophisticated eyes, looks like a very believable Colonial era watering hole. There is a touch of class there. Luckily i wasn't in my grubby shorts (not that they won't serve you or anything). All it needed were a couple of Colonial planters lounging around with their sundowners :).

There is a level of authenticity to Penaga, it transports you back to a different era, and yet they still managed to balance out modern day needs (fast wifi in the rooms and in all public areas, lap pool, library.. did i say fast wifi yet?). I am tired of cookie cutter hotel rooms you find in the chain hotels and for the experience of staying at such beautiful rooms at Penaga, I think the price is more than worth it.

To say that everything was amazing, wouldn't be fair to other people who read this review. I found the lighting a bit dim and the air-conditioning could have been a bit more powerful with the high ceilings and large open spaces (takes a few hours to get the room to a nice temperature). I can live with the street noise, the bedroom is far enough away from the front and the service from the staff was excellent.

I was actually debating on whether to opt for breakfast, but as it was included, it became a moot point. Their local breakfast fare was not bad (if they are serving kuey teow that morning give it a go!) but as others have written, more skewed towards a European palate: less spicy, but still tasty. I still liked their kuey teow though :)

Location wise, a few minutes walk and you are in the heart of Heritage Penang. Penang Road is two minutes away, Chowrasta Market is close by. We even walked all the way to Love Lane for some amazing steaks at Steak Frittes (Must try! Superb!). As Penang is all about walking, you don't have to take a cab to get to your destination then start exploring. At Penaga, you just walk out of the door...

Having said all that, it was without surprise then that I found the hotel is owned by one of the most renowned architects in the country, Hijjas Kasturi and his eco-friendly wife Angela. Sir, it is a beautiful place, you should open a similar styled establishment in Kuala Lumpur.

If you do plan to go to Penang, and you really want to experience a bit of authentic surrounds, give the chain hotels with the repetitive decor and plastic everything a miss, do give Penaga Hotel a go.

On another note, the other half is already planning our next trip to Penang and Penaga Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afifamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As for the other issues, the management will look into it seriously.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall
- Building is pretty on the outside and nicely maintained, location is pretty central
- Swimming pool is strangely located just beside the restaurant so there's no privacy
- Our reservation comes with free welcome drink and a free gift but they gave us neither even after we reminded them
Room
- Stayed in Transfer Suite 2, will suggest anyone who is a light sleeper to avoid this room or any rooms facing the main road, it is really noisy with constant traffic at all times!
- Room has mosquitoes so please close the door asap
- Bathtub doesn't drain properly and (not sure how it happened) it drains directly onto the bathroom floor
- No TV in the room, only in the living room which is strange too
Staff
- Most of them are not helpful even when asking for directions to nearest food places
- One of the staff insisted on sending us off to the airport 30 mins earlier and asked us about 3 times if we would like to take the cab which is already parked outside the hotel, in fact he looked disappointed when I said I'm in no hurry!

All in all not recommended for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Do not choose room where Transfer Suite 2 faces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place should have everything going for it but it is just one big disaster starting with the location - you walk out in to what seems like an unpleasant district. The accommodation itself is dated and old and it took a while to get the room to a reasonable temperature. The room on arrival was infested with mosquitoes. For the price, I'd expect a much more comfortable stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyopinionLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing